We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. Firstly, it's in one of the great resort towns in the world. The town's scenery and hospitality sector are second to none. And the people of Banff are first class. In another posting, I'll write about the wonderful restaurants. But, today, I'm sorry to say, I must report on one of the most horrifying experiences I've ever had around the world with a hotel. The rooms were poorly maintained and unkept. I had to be moved twice. The bathroom in the second room was filled with hair. Even the evening housekeeper was shocked. The wi-fi didn't work. There was a stench in both rooms that made the experience even worse. The hotel looks tired. The room furniture is old and seemingly in disrepair. The hotel front desk employees with rare exception were unhelpful. Saying "Sorry" (insert Canadian accent), does not clean the room. Each day there was a problem: lack of towels left. Carpets were not clean. Glasses in the bathroom not washed. There was always some kind of noise either outside or in the corridors. The maids used their speaker phones to communicate at 8 and 9am! There are far better choices. I learned that too late. When I'm back next year for the conference, I will not stay at Inns of Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    186
    116
    74
See reviews for
176
257
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Inns of banff reminds me of a brothel or a hostel. The standard room is cheap but inside looks like an old, dilapidated room. The carpet has a whiff of cigarette smoke. No ventilation in the bathroom and no air conditioner. Many ppl stay there to get drunk and have a party. U can hear the other people's noises throughout the night. It was a horrible experience. Service was good as I complained of their standard room so I got a superior room which the superior room would look like a regular hotel 's standard room. No ventilation and no air conditioning in the room as well. Very hallow walls. Can hear almost everything. Old water pipes. Can hear the noise through the water pipes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Rooms were very poor in maintenance, chips in walls, dirty, transition from carpeting to lino was missing cover and small nails were protruding.
sinks cracked, wall behind toilet all bubbled out to drywall, black in bathroom grout, balcony railings are rough and jagged with paint off so this has been like this for some time.
3 of us staying so asked for extra towels, cups etc. Young man who brought them up was very pleasant, Large bathtubs are a bonus.
We were very tired coming in and the front desk attitude appeared to be that they did not care whether you stayed or not, and looked down at us as we were on a budget.
If we were not so tired we would have gone to another hotel, however felt it would be too much trouble for 1 night
Would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had only reserved a basic room but thought it wouldn't be a problem for just 2 nights since we'd be gone most of the time skiing. The room was horrible!! The room was dirty, furniture was very old and beat-up and there was blood stains on the pillows, and the sheets were worn. We called down to the front desk right away because there was no way we were staying in that room. They offered to upgrade us for a charge and we agreed. When we finally got into the next room ( took a long time for them to organize it) , we pulled back the covers right away and again there was stains that looked like blood on the sheets. The carpets obviously hadn't been vacuumed and none of the surfaces wiped. They sent a very helpful young man up ( Rafael ) who changed the sheets and offered to vacuum, etc. Since it was late, we just got the sheets changed, thinking housekeeping would do the rest the next day. Wrong! When we got back late afternoon, they had left dirty cleaning rags in the tub, counter tops weren't wiped, nothing vacuumed, cups and glasses not replaced, etc. The manager did come up and was good about dealing with it but it was a lot of hassle!

Room Tip: Don't book the basic rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in a King suite overlooking the mountains. The room was a perfect size. We absolutely loved the outdoor hot pool. The staff were very friendly. Jamie on the front desk was there to help us with our check in.
Great location and quiet. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Inns of Banff and were put in the Swiss part. The hotel walls are paper thin so could hear constant walking upstairs, a busload of tourists arriving at 11pm and people arriving at 3am. It was the worst 'sleep' I have ever had in a hotel. On the plus side, the outdoor heated pool was lovely despite being old, as the views are magnificent. If you are travelling with small children I recommend asking for the quietest room- otherwise no one will get any sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.