We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spring Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was good, staff/service was awesome. There were some issues with maid service, forgetting soap one day, coffee the next but was quickly fixed by staff. Hairdryer in bathroom was scary, made terrible noise and fan section at back was falling off!

We stayed in superior room with mountain view recommend the extra $$ for great view. No AC in room so don't recommend in summer months, was hot in May.

Room Tip: most reviews for similar accommodations in area for same price have the same pos/neg reviews recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    198
    168
    102
    69
See reviews for
165
225
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The inns of banff needs major updating. I was there for business and couldn't get onto the Internet - the hotel staff weren't very helpful and just told me to wait because it comes and goes. I eventually went to Starbucks for wifi. I also found the cleanliness to need improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philpstoun, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pros:
If you are just looking for a clean place to sleep, then I would rate the room we stayed in as A+. We upgraded from the Village to the Superior with limited view. They have a great hot pool in the B building. Friendly helpful staff.

Cons:
Had we paid full price we would have been disappointed. The rooms look nothing like what they show on the webpage. Our room had scuff marks on the wall, the room looked very dated. The whole building was dated, needing a good coat of paint, and some restoring TLC. Room had kettle with short init, which they replaced. Make sure you have a bottle openner/corkscrew, otherwise you will have to call the desk and hope they send you what you ask for.

So, clean place to sleep, but do not expect to see what they show in their webpage. Those photos must be when it first openned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Likely won't stay here again but if I had to I would. Very warm rooms (the fan in the closet was a warning), old carpeting, cracked sinks & toilet, poor quantity and accessibility of electrical outlets, makeup on "clean" towels, poor design for balcony security. The beds are fairly thin foam but amazingly, I had some pretty good sleeps. The TV was a newer flat screen.

You can get a $5 coupon (in-house pub or restaurant) each day you refuse housekeeping - nice touch.

There are 4 sections to the facility and it is rather confusing if you want to go from one to the other - mostly a mind thing because of the steep incline between them (hey, it's a mountain resort)

Located near the town exit, a nice stroll to downtown is about 20 minutes or so.

Room Tip: "D" section backs onto the mountain - ask for a mountain side room in section "D"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Let's get it out first, Banff is not a budget travel location, particularly the limited lodging drives the prices up like no where else. In that frame-set, the Inns of Banff represent a good value.

The rooms themselves are basic motel quality: clean but not spic&span, sheet are white but not snow white. In short, don't expect more than just average to pass the night and you will be happy here. Finding your room can be a chore in the beginning as it looks like a maze in there: up and down the stairs with plenty of switchbacks. Also the halls tends to leaks, a lots but thankfully our room was spared. Sound-proofing is almost non-existent so parents, please keep your children in check.

One of the best thing about the room is that is it quite spacious and it has very good SOAP. It is actually so good that we hunted down the shop that sells it (Rockies Mountain) an bought enough to last us a year. I means this is a 4* level amenities here, ah and the pool which is also nice to relax after a day of hiking but can be crowded at times.

The inn also give you free bus tickets that are good for your stays and we used them quite a lot as the inn is at the entrance of the town. We love the bus, very easy and only 2 lines, can't get lost in Banff.

If you are looking for a romantic stay, please run to the Rimrock or the Fairmont rightnow. If you are looking for a basic accommodation and spend your days in the perfect nature of Banff, the Inns of Banff can be your cup of tea. It was surely ours for a few days.

Room Tip: Get a higher room, it is a bit quieter but if you have heavy luggage, staying closer to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good price for what it was. Rooms could use updating and the shower tap was touchy. Hotel was clean, staff was fairly friendly. Restaurant staff was awesome, but the hot pool on the roof...WOW! Magnificent view, makes it easy to disregard any negative issues.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.