We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I Know Why It's on the Way OUT of Town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Now I Know Why It's on the Way OUT of Town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Likely won't stay here again but if I had to I would. Very warm rooms (the fan in the closet was a warning), old carpeting, cracked sinks & toilet, poor quantity and accessibility of electrical outlets, makeup on "clean" towels, poor design for balcony security. The beds are fairly thin foam but amazingly, I had some pretty good sleeps. The TV was a newer flat screen.

You can get a $5 coupon (in-house pub or restaurant) each day you refuse housekeeping - nice touch.

There are 4 sections to the facility and it is rather confusing if you want to go from one to the other - mostly a mind thing because of the steep incline between them (hey, it's a mountain resort)

Located near the town exit, a nice stroll to downtown is about 20 minutes or so.

Room Tip: "D" section backs onto the mountain - ask for a mountain side room in section "D"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    189
    117
    75
See reviews for
176
259
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Let's get it out first, Banff is not a budget travel location, particularly the limited lodging drives the prices up like no where else. In that frame-set, the Inns of Banff represent a good value.

The rooms themselves are basic motel quality: clean but not spic&span, sheet are white but not snow white. In short, don't expect more than just average to pass the night and you will be happy here. Finding your room can be a chore in the beginning as it looks like a maze in there: up and down the stairs with plenty of switchbacks. Also the halls tends to leaks, a lots but thankfully our room was spared. Sound-proofing is almost non-existent so parents, please keep your children in check.

One of the best thing about the room is that is it quite spacious and it has very good SOAP. It is actually so good that we hunted down the shop that sells it (Rockies Mountain) an bought enough to last us a year. I means this is a 4* level amenities here, ah and the pool which is also nice to relax after a day of hiking but can be crowded at times.

The inn also give you free bus tickets that are good for your stays and we used them quite a lot as the inn is at the entrance of the town. We love the bus, very easy and only 2 lines, can't get lost in Banff.

If you are looking for a romantic stay, please run to the Rimrock or the Fairmont rightnow. If you are looking for a basic accommodation and spend your days in the perfect nature of Banff, the Inns of Banff can be your cup of tea. It was surely ours for a few days.

Room Tip: Get a higher room, it is a bit quieter but if you have heavy luggage, staying closer to the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Good price for what it was. Rooms could use updating and the shower tap was touchy. Hotel was clean, staff was fairly friendly. Restaurant staff was awesome, but the hot pool on the roof...WOW! Magnificent view, makes it easy to disregard any negative issues.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want to stay in Banff and have a great deal (no luxuries), but a clean, well appointed hotel (average rooms) with beautiful views, this is the right place for you. It also has a nice restaurant and their breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My 1-day stay at Inns of Banff was great! My room was very clean and had a balcony with an awesome view of the Rockies. The outdoor hot tub was also excellent and had a unbelievable view. Staff were friendly and even gave me directions around the hotel and helped me clean up a spill I had in the hallway. I didn't try any of the restaurants at Inns of Banff, but The bar looks great and has good food as well as a pool table and foosball. The hotel is is easy to get to; the first hotel on the road in town and relatively close to downtown. My only minor complaint is that the inn can get a bit tricky to navigate through, but the hallways can be memorized if you only need to go back and forth between your room and the lobby/hot tub/pool. Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Inns of Banff is located at the quiet end of Banff avenue so it's about 20 minutes walk to the downtown area. However there are good restaurants just a few minutes away plus you get FREE bus tickets that let you use the Roam bus service that takes you right up to the Sulphur Mountain gondola and hot springs. You also get free parking, free wifi and a voucher book for discounts from many outlets in the town. IOB is probably also the least expensive hotel in Banff and it has it's own bar, restaurant, indoor pool and outdoor hot tub so overall it's great value for money.
For this price you have to accept that the rooms are TravelLodge quality, but they are clean and comfy, many have a fridge, some even have a microwave. Larger rooms have several bedrooms which is great for families. The ski bus and public bus stops outside and there is a liquor store right over the road too!!
The Swiss Village rooms are also part of IOB although just separated from the main building and are the cheapest option. These rooms are a little smaller than the IOB rooms but still OK.
As it is at the cheaper end of things then it does attract a younger element but the hotel has an 11pm to 8am quiet time policy that I found was respected.
I've stayed at IOB a few times and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your response.

As you suggest, we are a short walk from downtown and our hotel does provide complimentary Roam bus passes for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.