We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would return again without hesitation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We would return again without hesitation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having had the opportunity to experience several hotels in Banff for winter holidays, we have always found the Inns of Banff to be very welcoming, clean and tidy. Staying there on 3 out of 5 occasions, its met both budget and expectations as we were looking for a clean, friendly hotel and on 2 occasions have been fortunate enough to have a room upgrade upon arrival. Staff are always friendly and the pub onsite welcoming with well priced, good quality meals. The outdoor Hot pool has fantastic views and staff come across as if nothing is ever too much trouble. On the rare occasion when we have experienced a problem it has been resolved upon our return later that day. This year they have introduced a 'Green' voucher which gives discount in the hotel bars and restaurants should you not require you room to be serviced every day - this is a great idea. Finally, although the hotel is a short walk from town for the evenings, you are the first pick-up and drop-off for the ski-bus transfers and the roam-a-bus for getting about Banff Town. We would certainly look to return for future holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter. But to be fair on all 3 stays we have never had a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    198
    168
    102
    69
See reviews for
165
225
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for the March long weekend. The hotel is located on the far end of town at the end of Banff avenue but they have ample covered parking and the rooms are well equipped. The staff was courteous and prompt in their service. However the downside is the noise that kept me up all night after a long day of hiking. I could hear people walking late night in the corridors but more than that weird mechanical sounds kept coming at regular intervals. In spite of the good food, the hot pool and the shuttle service, I will think twice before I chose to come back.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer ab
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We didnt expect a 5 star hotel, but this place was pretty bad. If you end up in the swiss village you will have a BAD time. The least soundproof hotel we have stayed at , you could hear EVERYTHING ALL NIGHT LONG, even just people coming and going down the halls sound carried like crazy. Hotel room itself was dirty , doesn't seem like they vacuum or dust , pieces were missing out of flooring in bathroom, crumbs on the coffee tray etc. Beds were very hard and small. Dated/smelly / no elevator. Atleast the linens seemed clean .The rooftop hottub was the best part but they have a security gaurd sitting there , can't even bring a bottle of water in! They also had a security camera mounted as well as another security gaurd looking down from above occasionally, they must have had problems in the past. The indoor pool was cold and floor was gross / dirty. Staff were courteus. Parking is an issue if you dont fit underground. Wont be back. Spend the extra $20 and go elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A long standing hotel in very busy Banff. Great value, good service nice location. If you want a four star resort then spend the money and stay uptown, this place is moderately priced, and yes it is a very large older property with a great variety of rooms to suit everyone. The restaurants are great, the rooftop pool is a nice treat with the indoor pool for families. Great place...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife pick this on on Expedia and it turned out to be a bit of a dud...KABOOM..Yes the place is cheap but if all you are going to do is sleep then this is your place ..
Let me say if you stay in any of these rooms make sure your on the top floor away from any staircase or you book at the end of the hall way. Unfortunately we ended up staying on the first floor of the Swiss Village and right next to the thunderous staircase.. This hotel could really use a face lift .
We tried to get into the bear den restaurant on site but it was'nt quite open at the time so we mozzied down the street (Thank GOD) .. after dinner almost 10pm we decided to give the Bears den another go for a pint of beer before we retreated to our semi Luxurious room.. and low and behold the restaurant she was close..(nice touch for those who want a late night drink or to watch a game while there partners or thired friends sleep) CLOSED @ 10pm...
Any way the best thing this place has going for it is the roof top Hot pool with an amazing view of the mountains.. very worth while.... the beds are comfy and the rooms are warm so if your on a budget or just a place to leave your stuff then this is for you..
Not my cup of tea sorry, I work to hard to be disturbed when i want to sleep..

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors and away from staicases ..rooms not the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Swiss Village rooms are one of several accommodation options at the Inns of Banff. As this guest has pointed out, Swiss Village is the most affordable option but still provides guests with access to all the hotel amenities including the magnificent outdoor hot pool. The main building rooms offer a different experience, many with great views of Cascade Mountain. The hotel also features recently renovated 3 and 4 bedroom condos with full kitchens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited here for the first time. We arrived at our room, it had a musty smell and the ceiling had flaky paint . The next room we had was slightly better. We did have a nice view. Bathroom needs a revamp, needs new towels and the whole room needs a paint. Not sure if their hoover works properly and it didn't looked like they dusted either. We went down for breakfast. No milk and sugar on the table and when asked if everything was okay, I said the coffee tasted quite strong, the waitress took both mugs of coffee away and she didn't even ask my husband if everything was okay with his, and when he let her know that his was fine, she was very defensive and no apology and didn't offer an alternative. The buffet items were not hot and were over cooked. Service wasn't there. The receptionists were polite, however some of them don't know the times of when things open in the hotel. Our toilet was blocked and overflowed onto tiles and carpet, the handy man did come quickly to sort his out.
Instead of being in the way of the mess we decided to go to the hot tub outside, really needs a good clean, in the shower there was hair left lying and no water fountain to keep you hydrated. The changing room was small.
When we came back to the room, the towels that we put on the floor to soak up the water from the toilet were still there, the housemaid had given us new towels and toilet paper and cleaned our room, but didn't pick up the towels, so we phoned reception, the head housekeeper apologized and I commented it was inexcusable. Give them their due they did clean the floor and the carpet.
In my opinion they need to set some standards and keep them there, I can understand there are lots of people who work there temporarily, however we paid $120.00 for our room and breakfast was not included. The complimentary bus was great, so we didn't have to drive.
We have stayed in many hotels in the world and with Banff being a tourist place, I would have thought the standards would have been higher. When paying the bill the receptionist never asked us how our stay was. Won't be going there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your detailed comments.
You are absolutely correct that the little things are integral in providing quality guest experiences. I will certainly use your review as a coaching guide to tweak some of the service shortfalls.
I am pleased that you did enjoy the wonderful views that our rooms offer and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary bus service that our company provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with a large group and with my family last summer. Front desk people were polite and check in was easy. We had a perfect view from our hotel room of cascade mountain. Rooms were older but clean. They are starting to renovate this hotel soon!! The cleaning staff at the hotel would always stop what they were doing and acknowledge us each time we met in the hallways. I thought that was very classy. The hotel pool in my opinion is the nicest view from a pool in Banff. There is a nice gift shop in this hotel as well that has items a lot less expensive than downtown banff. If you decide to take the banff transit, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and is less than a five minute ride to get downtown. Food was great at the Wildfire Grill at the hotel. I will stay here anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.