We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
-Great Service from front desk to bears den pub
-Out door hot tub with stunning views
-Food was excellent in the pub and we ordered room service. Eggs Benedict which was excellent.
-Large balcony
-Big room
-3 places to eat in the hotel
Cons:
-resort is huge and it's hard to get from place to place
-bathroom was old and not the cleanest
- parking is limited. If you arrive back at hotel after 10p.m. be prepared to have your patience tested

Overall, we as a couple enjoyed our stay and would be back for the right price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the great service in the Bears Den Pub and hopefully you were there on a Friday night to enjoy the live entertainment as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    200
    171
    104
    71
See reviews for
167
229
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We usually stay in the Banff area several times a year and this had to be the most disappointing experience of any!

We brought my sister and her husband with us to Banff for their first ever visit and, due to their food allergies, it was important to have a full kitchen to prepare our meals. Being that it was the holidays, places with a full kitchen were at a premium. We'd stayed at the Inns of Banff the previous year in a 3 bedroom condo that was satisfactory (even though my husband's ring went missing!) so we thought we'd try them again. We booked in for 3 nights at the beginning of January in the "Deluxe" 2 bedroom cabin...however, there is nothing deluxe about it but the name!

Service was severely lacking from check in and onward during our stay. Shortly after we'd arrived we were preparing to make our supper that needed to go in the oven and there was no baking dish or cookie sheet. There were also no dish cloths so we called the front desk (had to call twice) and waited for well over 2 hours for someone to finally show up and inform us that they didn't have a baking pan of any kind for us. I asked if he could at least get us some aluminum foil...seemed to be an inconvenience. He handed me some kitchen linens, including a tea towel with burn holes in it! I inquired why it took so long for them to tell us this and was told that our problem was not as important as someone else's on the property! Way to make us feel welcome...and we were very hungry by this point!

Soon after that we discovered that the TV remote didn't work...another call to the front desk. A young man came by a while later to tell us that he didn't have another remote and that they had known about the problem for a while! My brother-in-law took it upon himself to try to fix it, spent 10 minutes on the internet, found the necessary codes and had the remote re-programmed quite simply...something that should have already been looked after before we arrived.

The accommodations were not the cleanest...several dirty dishes & utensils (shouldn't housekeeping be checking the dishes are clean when someones checks out??) dirty oven, greasy streaks on the walls of kitchen and spray marks on dining area wall, something smudged on bathroom wall...dusty around carpet at walls and heat registers...even found hairs at base of the toilet...ugh. When we returned to the hotel from our outing late the next day we realized that housekeeping had not shown up...no fresh coffee supplied, garbage had not been emptied and no fresh towels. Yet another phone call to the front desk. We didn't need the fresh towels, but definitely needed coffee for the morning!

Also of note...kitchen only had a small 4 cup coffee maker for a full-size kitchen. For 4 adult coffee drinkers this was very inconvenient.

My husband and I left feeling embarrassed that we had brought our family to this hotel.

I did send an email to the Manager shortly after we returned home and he offered us a pat apology and a "reduced rate if we should stay with them again"...nope, not happening.

Room Tip: One of the furthest hotels from the main area of Banff...about a 15-20 min walk to downtown or you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for our sons hockey tournament. The staff was quite accommodating with having a few hockey teams staying there for the weekend.....having said that, I will not be staying there again. The rooms were VERY unclean, especially the bathrooms. Our toilet overflowed on the first day and the young fellow that came to clean it up used a mop that was absolutely filthy!!!! We finally called maintenance again and asked them to just leave the plunger in our room as the toilet plugged everytime!!! Not my idea of a holiday. The carpets were in need aok a deep cleaning as well. Perhaps it's time for the hotel to do some upgrades!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here months ago and didn't enjoy my stay. It was hard to find my room! The room was big but in need of cleaning. Positive things on Inns of Banff: good location with many restaurants around, the price and also the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were first put in the expansion to the hotel, which is very old and rundown and you need to cross a parking lot to get to the proper hotel with the restaurant and hot tubs. We were allowed to switch to the main hotel, but had to pay 20% / night more for the "upgrade". The hot tub is out doors and decently sized compared to most of the hotels in Banff, but there is a guard at the door who won't let you bring anything including water bottles near the tub. There are also many young children at this hotel, so I would not recommend going here unless you enjoy the noise. The restaurant is also more expensive than if you bought breakfast right on the ski hill. The hotel is also designed like a maze, it is hard to find your room / the lobby / the hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We think the hotel location is excellent, a quiet location and a short walk to downtown. Swiss Village rooms are in a separate building and are priced to accommodate those looking for budget accommodation. Rooms in the main Inns of Banff buildings are slightly more expensive but also offer a more convenient location to the many hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Inns of Banff on a recent trip to the area on the advice of a friend. Soon to be 'former' friend, as it turns out. This place is very dated and generally looks shabby and run down. The rooms are clean, but their tired and aging decor and threadbare carpets gives them a grubby, unkempt feel. The whole place is in serious need of a good overhaul. I noticed lots of visitors from the UK and Australia staying at the hotel and felt quite embarrassed at the thought of them judging Canada by this level of accommodation. It does have a rooftop hot tub though, and how many hotels in Banff can boast that.....?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a pretty big hotel. It is like finding your way around a maze. I could not find my room and also ran into a few others who could not find theirs. A very nice staff member saw us all struggling and helped us all find where we are going.
It is a bit older but is pretty clean and comfortable and the rooms are really big!
The guy who helped me find my room was telling me they are planning a huge mulit million dollar reno.
We used the outdoor hot tub. It was really quite big. Really nice and realxing after a long day of snowboarding!
The only downfall was when we decided we would like to stay another night they upped the price by 50$ would have been much better customer service had they kept the price we had in the first place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.