We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't like it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I didn't like it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here months ago and didn't enjoy my stay. It was hard to find my room! The room was big but in need of cleaning. Positive things on Inns of Banff: good location with many restaurants around, the price and also the very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    204
    178
    108
    74
See reviews for
171
241
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were first put in the expansion to the hotel, which is very old and rundown and you need to cross a parking lot to get to the proper hotel with the restaurant and hot tubs. We were allowed to switch to the main hotel, but had to pay 20% / night more for the "upgrade". The hot tub is out doors and decently sized compared to most of the hotels in Banff, but there is a guard at the door who won't let you bring anything including water bottles near the tub. There are also many young children at this hotel, so I would not recommend going here unless you enjoy the noise. The restaurant is also more expensive than if you bought breakfast right on the ski hill. The hotel is also designed like a maze, it is hard to find your room / the lobby / the hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We think the hotel location is excellent, a quiet location and a short walk to downtown. Swiss Village rooms are in a separate building and are priced to accommodate those looking for budget accommodation. Rooms in the main Inns of Banff buildings are slightly more expensive but also offer a more convenient location to the many hotel amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Inns of Banff on a recent trip to the area on the advice of a friend. Soon to be 'former' friend, as it turns out. This place is very dated and generally looks shabby and run down. The rooms are clean, but their tired and aging decor and threadbare carpets gives them a grubby, unkempt feel. The whole place is in serious need of a good overhaul. I noticed lots of visitors from the UK and Australia staying at the hotel and felt quite embarrassed at the thought of them judging Canada by this level of accommodation. It does have a rooftop hot tub though, and how many hotels in Banff can boast that.....?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a pretty big hotel. It is like finding your way around a maze. I could not find my room and also ran into a few others who could not find theirs. A very nice staff member saw us all struggling and helped us all find where we are going.
It is a bit older but is pretty clean and comfortable and the rooms are really big!
The guy who helped me find my room was telling me they are planning a huge mulit million dollar reno.
We used the outdoor hot tub. It was really quite big. Really nice and realxing after a long day of snowboarding!
The only downfall was when we decided we would like to stay another night they upped the price by 50$ would have been much better customer service had they kept the price we had in the first place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff at the Inns of Banff were very friendly. We asked for more towels, blankets, a kettle. Every request was quickly accommodated. The dishes and floor needed cleaning when we arrived. Again this was done quickly.

Wifi was spotty.

Pools were a bit far and dated but clean.

We liked the 3 bedroom. It had bunks for the kids. 4 tvs. A decently stocked kitchen.

Our concern was noise. It was very noisy. We stayed over Ausy Day. Not sure if that was the main concern. Every time the neighbours used the stairs it was loud. Often waking the kids. The partying Fri and Sat nights kept the adults up and was a problem for us.

Great access to Sunshine. Maybe 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We come to banff every weekend in the winter. This would be an emergency only hotel, if I ever had to stay here again. Besides the drunks hanging out in the walkway at 6:30 yelling and swearing, and the mouldy tiles in the bathroom can't think of a reason to ever come back here. To say its in desperate need of a facelift would be an understatement. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Swiss Village building of the Inns of Banff. Inside our room, was a stained toilet which ran non stop, every corner where the walls met the floor was encrusted in filth, and the room itself was not exactly built to keep noise from other rooms out, if you get my drift. Definitely not what we were expecting from a hotel in Banff, Alberta which is known for its resort like getaways. The service at the front desk was good, the staff was friendly and knew what they were doing which impressed me. This hotel has a roof top hot tub, which is actually quite spacious. The problems we had with it were it did not have adequate change rooms and no storage to put your personal belongings while in the tub. Since it is in the B Building of the hotel, guests who are not staying in that building will have to walk outside to access the tub, then if you don't want to change in the tiny washroom, you will freeze when you have to walk back to your room in your soaking wet swim trunks! They also do not provide ski equipment storage, yet do not allow you to take them to your room either! It just did not seem like a place where you could get away from it all. We will definitely look elsewhere from now on!

Room Tip: Look around at other options before selecting this hotel. We didn't pay a high price, but defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
The Swiss Village building is the budget accommodation at the property. Rooms in the main buildings are much closer to the amenities and have upgraded appointments including 40 inch flat screen televisions.
In addition, there is storage space for belongings at the outdoor hot pool and abundant complimentary ski storage in both the main buildings and right beside Swiss Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.