We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'd like to start off by saying we travelled off-season, and paid $74/night (this was on the high end of our budget), so this might have been why we were thrilled.
The rooftop pool is equilivant to the "hot springs" in the rest of the town (aka - not actually hot springs, but just heated water in the pool). What a lovely surprise, and what a lovely view!! It was April, but we put on our swimsuits, and hopped in.
Our room was huge, the view was nice, and the staff was great. We didn't want to check out! However, if you're paying $300 for a king bed room with a view, consider bargin hunting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    204
    176
    108
    73
See reviews for
171
239
25
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster Park, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at Inns of Banff for anniversary.

This is not a brand new shiny hotel. If that is what you are after then pay 300.00 a night and go to an expensive hotel, don't complain about a decently priced older hotel.

Our room was clean and spacious. It had 2 queen beds which we moved together, a large flat screen tv (husband only complained no PVR lol), balcony view was lovely and the deepest bathtub ever! Even beat my clawfoot at home. If I could come up with a complaint about the room it would be that the bathroom door would have been better swinging out than in (tight space in there) and the bedspreads were ugly (but who cares). We had a bottle of wine waiting for us so they looked better later ;)

Husband loooooved the bed...kept telling me it was nicer than the new mattress we bought 2 weeks ago....

The staff was friendly and we weren`t picky so we only really needed them to direct us to Tim`s or schedule a wakeup call.

In our case, the price was truly fantastic as we had a groupon. We paid 175.00 CDN for 2 nights and used our green coupons (if you don`t require maid service you put a sign on your door and get green coupons for restaurant - we used toward the room as it was mid week and restaurant wasn`t open as they were not busy enough) for 10.00 off the final bill - $165.00 for 2 nights!

We did not use the regular pool so I can`t comment on that but I will say that we spent as much time as possible in the outdoor hot pool. If we were at the hotel and awake, we were in it and it was awesome!

Would recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Upgrade to mountain view - it`s worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review and comments on the beds. We have recently converted all of our mattresses to plush pillow tops. As you suggest the hotel hot pool with panoramic views is a wonderful way to finish the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel worked well for us. Nice to have the balcony and a covered parking spot. The beds were fine and we had a small fridge and coffee pot. The hotel was very quiet, was there on a weekday. It was a cold 20min walk to downtown but we did it. Cost about 7$ for a cab ride back. Had the bus pass but it only goes by once an hour. We enjoyed to outdoor hottub!It's in the B building. For the deal we got I have no complaints, except the music students playing "doh-ray-me" over and over in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You are correct, the large outdoor hotpool in "B" Building is great and has fantastic views of Cascade mountain. All of our guests are welcome to use the complimentary Roam Bus service which runs every 40 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here after 10 days of moving around, so had experienced quite a lot, and this place was distinctly average. Had read that someone needed to ask for their complimentary ROAM pass - we did too. The person we spoke to on checking in was polite, but not completely fluent in English. The room is big and clean, but a little run down (and one of the pictures had been hung upside down which DROVE ME MAD!)

It was so quiet when we were there that the bars were closed at night so we couldn't use our complimentary $5 voucher for waiving room service. A good scheme if the building's restaurant is open, a little disappointing when it's closed.

One benefit is taht you can use the fitness facilitie at Rocky Mountain Ridge because they are run by the same company. Again - I had to ask.

Room Tip: Paying extra for the mountain view isn't really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Roy & Chris England

The suite we stayed in had excellent facilities. The suite was very spacious,clean and had excellent views of the Rockies. Room service was very good and efficient. Swimming pool and jacuzzi were great amenities. The hot tub on the third floor was huge with fantastic views all around of the Rockies. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we cannot fault the hotel in any way. The free roaming bus pass was excellent as you could use it all day to visit Sulphur Mountain (Banff Gondola) & Tunnel Mountain. A super visit and we will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When in Banff this is one of our favourite places to stay. Staff is great and it is good value for the dollar. Yes it's a bit dated, but its still kinda funky. Hot tub is great for a family and they allow pets in the upper building.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Inns of Banff is a good choice for an economical stay in Banff. Some of the decor is a bit dated and worn but staff are great and you can usually get a good price for a room. I've stayed here a few times and I always have a quiet and restful time. It is located at the far end of Banff Avenue so some might be put off from the longer walk to town centre. They do provide you with a free transit pass if you ask. They have an indoor pool and hot tub and a larger outdoor hot tub with waterfall. Nice if the weather is damp or cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;