We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Sun Peaks, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Was booked into one of their king room with a view and what a view. Huge balcony and awesome view. New finishes to the suites are the bedding and the new plasma screen TV's. Very quiet stay. Room was clean, hot shower. Everything I needed.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a view room in the Inns
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    208
    181
    114
    74
See reviews for
174
249
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good: outdoor hot tub on the third floor that is the size of a pool, our room had a small balcony with a mountain view, the beds and pillows were comfy. price was good.

Bad: half of the lights in our room were burnt out

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of hotel was good. We were put in the building to the side of main building. Our room was on the lower floor and it was quite dark and dingy, the furnture looked very old and well worn.The skirtings were hanging of the wall as if repairs had been done and they forgot to put them back.Overall I would have to say it wasn't up to scratch and was in good need of a revamp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel caters mainly for Japanese coach parties who arrive in theevening and then depart very early the morning. This means everyone get to hear them in the bathroom(sound insulation is very poor) slamming their doors and talking to each other early in the morning.

This is a shame as otherwise it's a nice hotel with very comfortable beds and a lovely large outdoor hot tub.

Breakfast looked to be a very limited choice so we walked down the road to the Caribou Lodge where there was a much better selection.

Ask for a free pass for the ROAM bus service - they don't volunteer it but it is available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Japanese coach tours patronize almost every hotel in Banff and this segment accounts for a very small percentage of our total customer base. Bus traffic in the winter is mostly limited to Ski Buses which pick up guests right at our front door to transport them to the ski hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour through canada. Our room was large with two double beds. The bathroom was the usual with hairdryer and shampoo etc. We had breakfast on one of the mornings which was ok, the staff could not have been less interested in serving us so we helped ourselves, just had a continental! One word of warning the hotel is a good 20 minute walk into Banff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
The hotel does offer complimentary Roam bus passes for all guests. The bus stops directly across the street from the hotel as well as numerous locations throughout the town. Guests can avoid parking concerns and ride for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location, price and roof top hot tub were good but we were quite disappointed the hotel is being let go. The ceiling and carpets were full of water stains and the bathroom is well overdue for a basic upgrade. The toilet was running all night and there is no AC so it was very stuffy and musty. Staff were friendly and despite the hotel showing it's wear the rooms still felt clean. The website images of rooms and indoor pool look much better than what we experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We have completed the installation of brand new carpet in all of our hallways and have already upgraded the TVs to flat screens including 40 inch units in our Inns of Banff rooms. We are currently upgrading our hallway lighting. In early December we are replacing all of our mattresses and have additional upgrades scheduled for the spring of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englishmanfrom london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

i decided to book a hotel slightly out of town and chose inns of banff. having researched rooms we went for a superior room. The overall stay was excellent,staff were friendly and efficient(one exception wild fire restaurant,which will be dealt with in restaurant review).
the hotel looks dated but our room was very clean and afforded an excellent view of the mountains.
i do recommend any body who has mobility problems or not fit should ask to be housed in block A as there are 2 crosswalks with neither having a ramp with the added problem of 2 steps on either side. those with cars can drive and park under each block but if you choose to walk around yourself you will have to combat quite a sharp rise up to blocks B and C.
this hotel sports a great outdoor hotpool ,a sauna and indoor pool.

Room Tip: as above choose a superior room and try block A unless you have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the amazing views from our large outdoor hotpool. Although we are a short walk from the downtown core, our guests have complimentary access to the Roam Bus which stops right across the street from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.