We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stagette!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Stagette!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My girls rented the villa (three rooms) for my stagette and we had a great time!
The only thing this hotel is missing is that you can not bring a drink to the shared outdoor hottub. But it was good to have a break anyway! Its a bit far away from town- you need to take a cab to down town, but good price and clean room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    208
    181
    114
    74
See reviews for
174
249
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in a 3 queen bed suite this past weekend. The price was just right, and the three beds were perfect. The hot tub was nice with lots of scenery, and the staff were very friendly. One problem was our room smelled like weed when we got to it, and the people upstairs kept throwing their cigarette butts onto our balcony. Another problem was the 19" crt tv that was in our room. 19" is a bit too small in the era of flat screens. The hotel is generally nice but it needs some upgrading, afterall, it is 2012.

Room Tip: Get a room on level 3 for easy access to the hot pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here last week while in town for a conference. We stayed in the Rimrock resort last time and found the room to be comparable in newness. Reason we switched hotels was because we have a 1 year old and I did not want to pack her in the car everytime we wanted to go out which you need to do at the Rimrock as its up on a huge hill with no sidewalks for strollers. It was a 10-15 minute walk to downtown with sidewalks and you can get there going through the residential areas and is a nice walk. Hotel has three places to eat which was nice and the Keg is one block away and across the road is a liquer store at the Voyaguer hotel. Rooftop hot tub outdoors with great mountain view was the highlight. Busy on friday night. They even have a bouncer there and camera. During the weekday and during the daytime hours we were the only ones in it and no bouncer. Indoor pool and hot tub are good too but not as hot I'd say 101F while the outdoor hot tub was around 104-105F. No fitness room. Rooms were nice clean and ours had a huge balcony. Free wireless internet which the big fancy hotels charge you for. Rooms got cleaned around 4pm everyday. Biggest thing we noticed was you can hear people in the hallways very clearly. Parking was fine they have indoor and outdoor. There is an arcade and boardgames at the Den pub which is very nice and has a warm fireplace. I would stay here again for sure. Just let them know if you need a quite located room. They seem to keep different types in different areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

OK, this hotel will force you to consider what's most important to you. We booked a hotwire/expedia package which included hotel (3 n), airfare from Toronto and rental car (4 d) for about C$1200 pp. All of the pieces of the package had some challenges: Air Canada's labour problems added a 5-hr layover. The Dollar Rental Car people at Calgary airport claimed my credit card insurance coverage did not apply to packages (an email to the bank confirmed this was not the case and Dollar reluctantly refunded my insurance add-on later). This hotel is at the far end of the Banff Ave. 'strip' and is about a 20-min walk into the main part of town. Our 'upgraded' (+$15/n) 2-queen bed room with bar fridge faced the mountains with a large balcony and was a few steps away from the superb hot tub. The beds were new and the bathroom has been remodelled. Other plusses: free Wifi, free parking and cheap long-distance calls. So far, so good. The general furnishings/public areas are dated/worn and the place really is a maze. Take bread crumbs with you to find your way back to your room. We did not eat in the restaurant after hearing some British guests complain that breakfast was over-priced and 'rubbish'. (Canadians may want to locate the almost-invisible Tim Hortons on the edge of town). Sound-proofing is minimal; all corridor noise will find its way into your room. Bring earplugs. In town, we ate at Chaya's for great informal Asian fare and the Coyote Grill for a special night out which was superb. The Elk & Oarsman (Banff Ave. second floor) was great for catching up on hockey and having a few beers.

Room Tip: Upgraded room is probably worth it (Queen beds; get a room close to the 3/F hot tub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
The hotel is a 15 - 20 minute walk to downtown however, hotel guests receive a free "Roam" bus pass allowing them a great option if they don't want to walk or stress over parking downtown.
Our breakfast prices are very competitive and options include an all inclusive buffet, or menu service.
This guest is correct, we offer complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and local calls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My sister and I came up for a wedding that we were booked to work at. We picked this hotel because of the outside hot tub and inside pool area, for something to relax in while we had a few hours down time. We arrived mid afternoon and our check in was smooth. We received a two queen basic room, since we were only staying the one night, that's all we needed. Found the room no problem, however we quickly got into our bathing suits and headed to the indoor pool. We took about 20 mins trying to find it, because the sings were not clear where to go, and the THREE staff we asked along the way all told us different ways of getting there. We later figured out that the 1st and 3rd were directing us to the outside hot tub. Once we found the pool inside, we enjoyed our time there, being the only ones there. Afterwards we headed up to the outside hot tubs area and found it really nice, peaceful, amazing view and relaxing. This is the only reason I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1.

After spending the rest of the night out working, we came home at about 1 am exhausted, knowing we had to be up at about 630, hoping to get some sleep. It seemed the entire hotel was having a party. There were teenagers/early 20 year olds all over the parking lot/hallways. It was so loud. It died down a bit by about 2am, but then every 10 mins or so we'd hear music, or people running in the halls, or some other noise. By about 4 am, we finally were able to fall asleep, and at 415 am, we heard what sounded like someone getting shot or running straight into our wall, right at the heads of our beds (which was the hallway). At that point we both decided that there was no point in trying to sleep any longer, and showered, checked out and left. I have never been so disappointed in a hotel in my life. This hotel would be fine if it wasn't for the noise, but I will never again go near this place.

Room Tip: Find out if a team/bachelor/lette party is in the hotel, if so, RUN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week-end and had a great time.

We read the reviews before we came and were somewhat unsure about the rooms and the layout of the hotel since there seemed to be complaints about everything being hard to find and that the hotel was dated.

The room was just fine and anyone who could not find there way around to the pools, hot tubs and restaurants needs to give their head a shake as everything is well signed and the longest distance for anything would involve a 5 minute walk.

The outdoor hot tub is huge and has a FANTASTIC view of the mountains!

We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at the Inns of Banff to attend a conference held there. I would not choose to stay there again, especially if traveling for pleasure. The rooms were spacious but poorly sound-proofed so that there was constant disturbance even from people walking up and down the hallways. The property is on the outskirts of downtown and so required a relatively long walk into downtown or travel by car; my colleagues and I didn't mind the walk, but many people might. The view from the windows was terrific - it's Banff, how could the views not be great? But there are many other hotels in a similar price range that would likely be more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the downtown area and as this guest indicates, many people enjoy this scenic walk. The hotel provides complimentary bus passes for those guests who do not want to walk or drive themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.