We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Generally pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed here over Xmas & New Year had a good stay. My room was large & clean & the bed was very comfortable, the only minor issues would be more wardrobe/cupboard/storage needed (which could easily be fitted into the large room) & the heating was noisy & a bit too cool (don't know if all rooms are like this or I was a bit unlucky.) The reception staff are excellent, very helpful & friendly. The staff at the Bear's Den pub (downstairs) are very friendly & the food is very good. Though on the very edge of town the complimentary bus service is regular & reliable. Free ski lockers & safe are provided on request & the outdoor hot-tub is great (there is also an indoor pool & jacuzzi that I didn't use.) Ski buses stop right outside the front door. Overall, I would recommend the hotel - it could do with "sprucing up" but the staff more than make up for this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremely proud of all of our staff and I am glad to hear you found them to be helpful and friendly. I am also delighted to hear you found the complimentary bus pass useful for traveling the short distance to downtown Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    189
    117
    75
See reviews for
176
259
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Despite booking at the busiest time of the year ( New Years), there are certain characteristics to this hotel that can hold true regardless of the date. Simply put, this hotel is outdated and in need of a major renovation. Throughout the hotel, the carpets were filthy and the decor was rank. The mountain facing king suite which we paid $480 for was unforgiving on the senses, the bed uncomfortable. The best thing of the room was the mountain view, and the two sinks and large bathtub, I felt they played it up immensely, trying to sell its 'features'.The sushi joint upstairs was uncleanly.. trays were placed on top of the vents on the floors, and the well weathered carpet did nothing for our appetite.. which needed all the help it could get if we were to actually eat the food once it arrived, which, to put it mildly was uneddible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is serviceable and has parking (not covered). 4 of us headed to banff for a weekend and got a discounted rate using out SUTP coupon and on Sunday the two that didn't want to ski got some free passes to the hot springs that are near town.
It is not near the centre of town - we walked to dinner which was OK since it was only -5 but we cabbed it home as we were exhausted.
The hot tubs at the hotel are nice and big - roof top also so you can admire the view before it gets dark. Because it is open for all guests there's rules about drinks in the hot tub so bring your 'adult' beverages in a coffee cup or travel mug. Some small ish towels are provided and there are lockers for your stuff nearby. I'm not a big fan of hot tubs at hotels but this one was OK. The rooms are OK too, clean but for sure needing updates.
Not bad for $99/night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear you took advantage of our large outdoor hot pool, but please accept my apologies that hotel rules do not permit food or drink of any kind in this area. The hotel does provide complimentary transit tickets for those guests that prefer not to walk to the center of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Wow, has this hotel ever decreased in hotel quality over the years. Our room was not clean. Looked like it hadn't been vaccuumed in a month, bathroom floor tile dirty, hair in the bathtub, carpets mended with duct tape and stained. Yikes! Yes, it's dated, but they should at least upkeep the hotel. The outdoor hot tub had mud on teh deck upon entering the tub- ewww nothing like getting the tub dirty. They are strict on NO open liqour, but not on rinsing off before netering the pool. Hmmmm..not good. We went in at night and the thought of how dirty it may ahve been made me escape early. This is really too bad - I used to love staying here.

Room Tip: cheap, but you pay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival our room was large but dirty! The pillows on the bed had black smudges and hair on them before we even sat down- yuck! We called and they'upgraded' our room without questions. The new room was clean but ragged and worn out like the rest of the hotel. The carpets are dirty and falling apart and the overall ambience of the hotel is dingy! We did not get maid service despite requesting it and our room got dirty very fast with wknter boots, etc. The hotel is a good 20 min walk from downtown. For the same price there are hotels closer and with cleaner and better rooms! Skip this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. The management and staff at the hotel will always try to exceed expectations during a guests stay. I am very sorry that we have failed on this occaision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Large rooms in the main Inn with very comfortable beds and great views. Hotel as a whole is dated but that's why the price is very reasonable. We stayed with our 2 kids and enjoyed both the roof top hot tub and the swimming pool. Great for a cheapie get a way to the mountains. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We went with the second cheapest room with 2 queen beds in the main Inn. Perfect for a family of fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a little old and outdated, so the set up and layout is a little confusing. 3 separate wings, and only connected by walkways with stairs, as each wings elevators can only access the floors of that particular wing.
The rooms themselves are quite big, bathrooms quite small in comparison though.
The hotel is on the main st of banff, but to far to walk at night due to the cold and icy paths. We got a free bus pass from the hotel though during our stay, which was good- but there is only 1 bus every 40 mins.
If you're there for the snow, there's no drying rooms for your wet gear at all, and your boards and skiis must be stored in the underground carpark. You are able to chain them up roughly, but it's still not the best security.
Comfy bed and good heating in the rooms. The outdoor hot tub is big, and you can loo out at the mountains from the pool, but there were MANY KIDS for it to be a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.