We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“our great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We are from Las Vegas, The Inns of Banff is really our first choice thru surveys. The location is very accessible to the Trans-Canada highway off ramp. The room was very clean & the bed was very comfortable. Employees at the front desk and restaurant were very responsive towards our needs and the buffet breakfast was excellent!

We spent six (6) wonderful nights & we would recommend it to anybody planning a trip to Banff.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    196
    171
    103
    72
See reviews for
168
230
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in May of this year for 6 nights while we explored the surrounding area of Banff. The room we were given was in C block and it was HUGE! The hotel itself is showing its age a little but having said that it was perfectly fine for what we wanted. It is on the end of the main street but still only a 10 minute stroll into the town centre. It has an absolutely wonderful outdoor hot tub that is fantastic on a cold wintery night. We come from the tropics in Oz and were lucky enough to get snow on one of the days there. Never used the restaurant but checkin was a breeze and maintenance issues were fixed quickly. There are plenty of more up market establishments in the area but this place suited us just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in B or C block
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed here many times for various reasons from my son's basketball tourneys to quick getaways with my wife. I love the outdoor rooftop hot tubs and the view. It is not downtown so you need a car or take the bus to shop and walk around the main street the food here is okay and is recommended for breakfast. The rooms are standard and basic. The hotel is older and you need to understand you are getting basic accpmafation. But the price is right and deals can always be had if you check online before booking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Although it is a short walk to the downtown core, the hotel offers complimentary bus service. The pickup is right across the street with numerous pickup times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here last week after searching for a hotel in Banff that isn't ridiculously expensive. We initially booked the swiss cottage but decided to upgrade after reading the reviews.
We went for my boyfriends birthday so decided to 'splash out' and go for a 'Superior Mountain View room' . Check in was great, we went to our room and I was so disappointed I wanted to cry. The view was looking at another block and the road...I went straight to reception who told me that it was considered a mountain view room, I asked how the hell it could be as it looks at a building and she luckily sympathised. We were moved a few rooms along and had a nicer view, we were also right next to the hot pool which was a great feature of the hotel.
The hotel is located right in the north of Banff avenue so it is a bit of a trek into the centre but not too far and they do give free bus passes (although the one time we decided to use them the bus didn't show, not the hotels fault though)
It is nice but i do think it is over priced for what it is but I guess that's Banff!?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the front desk. Requesting Mountain View rooms near the outdoor pool should guarantee a room with great views. The city buses are usually very reliable so please accept my apologies that it did not show as expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I booked this hotel through hotels.com. When I checked in the receptionist put me into their sister hotel The Swiss Village. Be careful, if booking online for this hotel. The room we were given was like a dungeon - small, dark, dreary, sparsely furnished and hot! I returned to reception and said it was not suitable and not the hotel we had booked into. The manager promptly changed our room to one in the main hotel. This room was much better, with a balcony and close to the hot pool. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your remarks. I am happy we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic views from our large outdoor pool which looks over Cascade Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was close to the highway exit and not too far from the town center. The facilities were great and we choose a room with a nice view of the mountains, hardly spent any time to enjoy it though! Parking was free and the restaurent breakfast was amazing. Only downside was that the hotel refused to let us check in early and that was weird considering they had rooms available (vacancy sign lit up). We know hotels need time to turn around rooms, but when you have rooms available, it is just bad customer service to turn away guests. Breakfast starts at 7am but the staff opened the restaurent earlier which was great since we had to leave early for a long tour.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I don't even know where to start....The dirtiest hotel in all of Banff. There was hair all over the bathroom, in the bed and stuck to the wall. Also you could see dirt on the walls, the carpet was not vacuumed. We switched rooms and found the second room just as bad. Don't think the hallways have ever been vacuumed of dusted. Please don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. Providing clean and comfortable accomodation at a reasonable price is something that we take very seriously. Please accept our appologies that we were not able to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.