We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inns of Banff Deluxe cottage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inns of Banff Deluxe cottage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The Inns of Banff offers a deluxe cottage with two bedrooms. It is a reasonable accomodation. The inside of the cottage is on the newer side. The main issue we had was the location of the cottage. it is right next to the main road in Banff- like ten steps from the main road in Banff. Although the staff said it was near the road, we did not realize just how close. When in the mountains we like the option to sit outside on nice days. This is not a pleasant location to do that in. Also, we have young children and it was not feasable for them to have any area to play outside. It is just too close to the road. So, depending on what you are looking for, this might be a good fit or it may not.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    196
    171
    103
    72
See reviews for
168
230
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Sorry but this place was horrible. We stayed in the 'swiss village'. The room was dark and dull, with the ceiling tiles hanging off and holes in the curtains. Very tired and run-down. Room did not 'feel' clean or safe. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed in Banff at the "Inns of Banff" for two night's at the start of May 2011. The check-in staff were quick and efficient and had is in our rooms in a very short time.
The rooms were clean and some of the largest I have stayed in, Fully functional complete with TV, Coffee maker and Kettle. Good sized bathroom and plenty of space for storage of luggage and the like. My room had a balcony looking on the street and the mountain. I did feel the hotel is maybe a bit further out of Banff than I have like, however with the car and the local bus its not really a major issue. Ample undercover parking which is free, along with free Wifi.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for 7 nights for a ski trip to Banff. We read some of the negative reviews before leaving and were both a bit dubious, but our worries were completely unfounded. The rooms were massive, with huge comfortable beds, a power shower, organic soap products daily, deep bath tub, daily room service, and the best perk of all - the rooftop Jacuzzi which had views of the mountains. The BEST way to unwind after a hard day on the slopes. We were allocated a room in the main building and I think most of the criticism is about the other building on the premises, but the hotel was well run, comfortable, friendly, and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel looked very nice from the outside, and the staff was friendly and courteous. As we went to our room, it smelled of a musty old library. Our room had ceiling tiles that looked like they were going to fall on us. There was a strange and gross looking white stain on the carpet between the bed and the TV. There was mold along the bathroom counter and the counter top, walls and door in the bathroom looked like they had not been cleaned in a long while. There was bread under the bed, which we found it when a cell phone woke us up at four in the morning. It was not ours; we could not find the one that was ringing. Never been so glad to go home. Oh yeah! And there were cig butts in the hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDSI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Got a cheap deal with Kiwi Travel. Amazing value although the hotel is a little tired everything you needed for your stay. As in the reviews have statedIthe roaming bus is great and all ski buses stop at the hotel. We were new to sking and for the 4 of us we paid 50$ for a return trip to lake Louise and bought passes for the T bar lift no where were the passes published for this lift and was great value for our limited skiing. Booked through Ingrams three days skiing at Nakiskia with tutuions lift passes transport and hire rental which was great value .Our children love Jackson their Instructor and came on leaps and bounds going on the sliver lift with green and blue runs but there was a big difference to runs at Lake Louise. Paid 10$ for a discount card from Inghams which you could get discounts of at shops & restuarants between 10 & 15 %. All in all a fab time wonderful place just even for the scenery strolling around Banff as I was a none skier and not the only one!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

weve stayed at the inns of banff several times before and loved it but the swiss village leaves alot to be desired. we really didnt mind that it was across the parking lot or that the rooms were small but we did mind the musky smell and that my allergies went crazy.even though its a lower price then their usual rooms its not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.