We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, comfortable rooms, rooftop Jacuzzi - ticks all the boxes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inns Of Banff to your Saves list
Inns Of Banff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, comfortable rooms, rooftop Jacuzzi - ticks all the boxes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for 7 nights for a ski trip to Banff. We read some of the negative reviews before leaving and were both a bit dubious, but our worries were completely unfounded. The rooms were massive, with huge comfortable beds, a power shower, organic soap products daily, deep bath tub, daily room service, and the best perk of all - the rooftop Jacuzzi which had views of the mountains. The BEST way to unwind after a hard day on the slopes. We were allocated a room in the main building and I think most of the criticism is about the other building on the premises, but the hotel was well run, comfortable, friendly, and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    208
    182
    115
    74
See reviews for
174
251
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel looked very nice from the outside, and the staff was friendly and courteous. As we went to our room, it smelled of a musty old library. Our room had ceiling tiles that looked like they were going to fall on us. There was a strange and gross looking white stain on the carpet between the bed and the TV. There was mold along the bathroom counter and the counter top, walls and door in the bathroom looked like they had not been cleaned in a long while. There was bread under the bed, which we found it when a cell phone woke us up at four in the morning. It was not ours; we could not find the one that was ringing. Never been so glad to go home. Oh yeah! And there were cig butts in the hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDSI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Got a cheap deal with Kiwi Travel. Amazing value although the hotel is a little tired everything you needed for your stay. As in the reviews have statedIthe roaming bus is great and all ski buses stop at the hotel. We were new to sking and for the 4 of us we paid 50$ for a return trip to lake Louise and bought passes for the T bar lift no where were the passes published for this lift and was great value for our limited skiing. Booked through Ingrams three days skiing at Nakiskia with tutuions lift passes transport and hire rental which was great value .Our children love Jackson their Instructor and came on leaps and bounds going on the sliver lift with green and blue runs but there was a big difference to runs at Lake Louise. Paid 10$ for a discount card from Inghams which you could get discounts of at shops & restuarants between 10 & 15 %. All in all a fab time wonderful place just even for the scenery strolling around Banff as I was a none skier and not the only one!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

weve stayed at the inns of banff several times before and loved it but the swiss village leaves alot to be desired. we really didnt mind that it was across the parking lot or that the rooms were small but we did mind the musky smell and that my allergies went crazy.even though its a lower price then their usual rooms its not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenau Gwent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The service was good and the staff pleasant and friendly.
The room was well appointed with a partial view of the forest/wood where one could observe the deer and the coyote that can be seen occasionally. The twin Queen beds with four pillows on each made for a comfortable nights sleep.The other furnishings were satisfactory (desk with chair, a small table and two chairs, suitable drawer space in a combined unit which housed a good sized TV with sat channels. Tea &Coffee making facilities with adequate supplies. The indoor pool is tired with superficial cleaning daily. Pool and outdoor hot tub rules are not applied i.e glass and alcohol and improper footware (out door shoes used in the pool area). Public areas corridors stairways are not cleaned regularly but the rooms are cleaned daily to a good standard.
If you hire a car parking is very good with easy access to your room. Driveways are cleared of snow and gritted with safety in mind. Weekends can be noisey when the locals get into town. I had to inform reception on two occasions during a 14 day stay (mainly on Friday nights) The problems were dealt within a reasonable time scale.

Room Tip: The double superior room has plenty of space and e
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Inns of Banff! The staff were friendly and accomodating. The location was perfect, our room was squeaky clean and the amenities were great. I loved the outdoor hot tub with superb mountain views and the inside sauna, jacuzzi and pool were great extras.

The restaurant downstairs was decent, the Japanese restaurant above was not great, but convenient.

Our king sized bed was a dream-- with a pillowtop mattress. The bath tubs were great, full sized tubs, deep and lovely! We had a mountain view that was to die for and a nice patio overlooking the main strip heading into Banff.

Across the street was a nice restaurant, Bumpers, serving great Prime Rib Calgary Grade A Beef and the hotel afforded easy access to the slopes as well as the village. We literally had wildlife on our backdoor, with wolves and deer frolicking just behind the hotel, very cool.

I would definately go back and stay at the Inns of Banff again, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building C with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed in the junior suite, bed was COMFORTABLE! Can't say that about most hotels.. Outdoor hottub looked nice, but anytime we wanted to go in it was so packed that we didn't even bother. It is not a roof top hottub as stated it's on the third floor off the side of the hotel. (there is five floors) our room was clean, but dated. Indoor pool is in an inconvenient spot. Have to walk past the main entrance where EVERYONE is and behind front desk. Definitely needs to be looked after more- spots on walls had too much moisture and was bubbling, mold around air vents. Bottom of pool was chipped. Not well looked after.
Went out for breakfast first morning at Melissa's that was quite good. Had buffet at our hotel last morning- not good at all, taste rubbery and like it was made the night before. Not worth $30 for two people.
Bumpers across the road was delicious- besides a couple of charred spots, best ribs I've had in a while!
Took the tour at the brewing company- owner was awesome beer was even better.
If you are wanting spa services- book AHEAD of time- tried to get couples massage ion the Saturday and everyone was booked solid. Ended up going to Canmore (10 min away so that was nice) for a last min cancellation- masseuse was ok. Cheap though so can't really complain.
Had dinner at Carlitos (I think it called at fox hotel I believe) it says it's a pizzeria. Well, pizzerias to me is suppose to be wood oven maybe, but definitely a big selection and tasty pizza. This place had none of the above. For anyone who knows and appreciates curd cheese, this place makes their poutine with and and takes pride saying its the bet poutine west of Montreal. Well it's not that good. Ontario supplies the best curds and Edmonton has a cheese factory the produces better curd then his place.
Overall, experience was good. Would go back to this hotel, probably would do different restaurants though.
Added bonus Tommy's pub had good apps mozza sticks onion rings etc for a decent price and is one of many food places that offered room delivery. Hope this was helpful to someone!!! :)
Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inns Of Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.