We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On Aug 22 my sister and I stayed at this great place. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Rooms were a great size, clean and very comfortable. The hotel offered a continental breakfast. You could not ask for a better location. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

Thank you very kindly for your positive feedback regarding our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and took advantage of the free continental breakfast provided! We hope to see you again in the near future :)

Kind regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    112
    41
    6
    7
See reviews for
60
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfree, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So we landed not just the most friendly front desk staff ever...she LOVED her job and you could tell...the honeymoon sweet was only about $250 with a huge two person jet tub....great place...great vibe...great people...would go again!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so kindly for your positive feedback about our hotel, it is very much appreciated! I am happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in our Honeymoon Suite. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future :)

Warn regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice clean hotel. The pool and hot tub were very nice, as is the continental breakfast. The staff are excellent. They are friendly and efficient. The scenery is lovely. I would recommend this hotel as the price and rooms are comparable to every other hotel in Banff. Waking up and looking out to see mountains in the morning...there is nothing that compares with that view.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback concerning our property, it is greatly appreciated! I am glad to hear you took advantage of the pool and hot tub facilities and also enjoyed our free continental breakfast. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future!

Take care,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was just fine for what we wanted for one night: good price on 2 queen room (good size rooms), easy walking to village, pool for kids. It seems friendly locally run, was clean, not totally run down, but underwhelmed on overall appearance, details, ambience, furnishings, breakfast, etc. Good enough, not terrible, but not high marks and I suppose good value for Banff (an oxymoron!). First room we were in on third floor the AC was so loud with a banging noise (and view was blocked by trees) had to switch rooms. Took backside room. As a comparison on our trip, the Best Western Plus in Revelstoke & Valemount and Ramada Inn in Drumheller were much better.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to rectify the problem of the loud AC unit and move you to a different room with a better view.

Warn regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night. Hotel staff were attentive. Parking was underground. Breakfast was continental and average, similar to other hotels in this category. I suggest they offer almond milk for lactose intolerant guests which was missing. Beds were comfortable. A nice discovery was that our two friends staying down the road at another hotel with no meal plan were able to join us for breakfast for 6$ for both of them.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for writing a review of our property, it is always appreciated! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little disappointed in this hotel. Small lobby - looks like it needs some refurbishing. Lady at reception wasn't at her desk alot and people were quite annoyed. The main reason I booked this hotel was for the a/c. But it was impossible to run because it was SO noisy. The bed was comfortable though and a nice walk to downtown. Wifi in the room a bonus. Breakfast just ok.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

I am sorry to hear you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay at our property. We are certainly looking into renovating our reception area but due to Summer time being the busiest part of the year we cannot conduct these plans until the winter season. We try our best to accommodate all guest needs and sometimes it does force the front desk agent to leave the desk at times to help guests in their rooms with TVs, cots etc. I am also sorry that the breakfast was not up to your standards, however, it is advertised as a continental breakfast and most people find this a bonus as it is all included in the room rate for free.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and fast Wifi!

Warm regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.