We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, close to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, close to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have stayed here twice. Rooms are clean, water pressure is good in the showers. Call the front desk to book and you can typically get a better rate. Close to downtown, so walking distance to the shops, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: If you can, ground level facing the street is nice, can load things from your vehicle directly into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    103
    35
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our room had a view of the Canadian Rockies off of its won balcony and it made for wonderful sitting and viewing with a glass of wine as we enjoyed the latter (restful) part of the evening. It is located just a couple of blocks walk from the primary shopping and eating areas of the town. The staff were very nice. Laundry facilities are in the basement area (convenient). I would certainly entertain staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Quiet, good breakfast room with a nice view of the mountains- although we didn't go swimming it has a nice clean looking pool.
The rooms were clean our room had a wall divider between the beds for privacy- they gave us a cot for one of the kids! The staff had great suggestions of things to do in Banff with small children.

We will likely make this our go to hotel in Banff. Thank you for the great stay!

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room had all the right features for accessibility for disabled travellers. The room was spacious, clean, great bathroom and roll in shower. Location was perfect, price was good for Banff especially since it included a decent breakfast. Would recommend this to other disabled guests looking to explore Banff National Park

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our hotel! I am glad to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Banff!

Best wishes,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all this hotel does have some good points, but we did have a few issues with it. On the plus side, it's on Banff Avenue only 5 - 10 minutes walk to the shops, bars and restaurants, so a great location. (The road can be a little noisy with traffic at times but any hotel on the street would suffer the same). Each room has a little balcony so it was nice to have the option to sit out. Our room was a generous size, bed large and very comfortable. Toiletries were provided, plus iron and ironing board. There's a swimming pool and hot tub, plus adjoining restaurant, although we didn't sample either so can't comment

Breakfast was good, despite some negative reviews, and it was certainly more than adequate considering many hotels in the area don't offer it at all and it's included in the price! It's served from 6.30, so ideal if you are leaving on a tour/daytrip. But don't be put off by the room where it is served!! It is a little institutionalised, more like a room in a community centre - no frills and fancy table cloths (and you do have to clear away your own plates etc... but it wasn't a hardship!). The food is spread out, so at first it doesn't appear that there is much on offer. However, there were several types of cereals, as well as muesli and oats, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yogurt, jams, cheese spread ,bread, bagels, cold boiled eggs, french toast, waffles and maple syrup, toast machine, and several types of juices. So it was quite a good start to the day.


The issues we had were that the majority of the reception staff rarely greeted you when you went in, or even lifted their head in acknowledgement, with the exception of one young male member who was normally quite pleasant. A nice smile or greeting would have been a bit more professional! The lobby and reception areas were quite shabby and worn in places and as this forms your first opinion on entering, I think its quite important to make a good impression, especially as the rest of the hotel was decorated ok.

The sink in our room was outside the bathroom, which was manageable, however, it was right opposite the patio doors leading out to the balcony, and as the room was quite dark, you needed a light on to see what you were doing. This meant, therefore, that you also needed to keep the heavy curtains closed every time, which was a shame as some voile at the window would have probably been adequate privacy and avoid having to shut the light out of what was already a dark room, that had a lovely view over the mountains. Housekeeping could have been better, especially as the furniture is dark and shows when it hasn't been dusted for several days!

In spite of this, I would have given a "good" rating rather than "average", based on the location, view and breakfast, but the ratings don't make provision for that - the next one is "very good" which I didn't feel the hotel warranted. (Maybe Trip Advisor could address this?!). I wouldn't be put off staying here again, but feel that with a few minor improvements, the hotel could be so much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay in our hotel! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your stay including our recently renovated rooms and the free breakfast. In regards to the comments about the housekeeping and reception staff we have addressed these issues as we feel guest satisfactory is our highest priority. We always appreciate guest feedback, whether it is positive or negative as it helps improve all areas and departments of our property.

Thank you again!

Warm regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

used the hotel as a base for exploring the area and was very pleased with our choice. it wasn't expensive but we were very happy with the accommodation and parking available. the rooms were spacious, clean and tidy. Breakfast was ok and kept us going for the day.
a nice inexpensive hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such a kind review of our property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us including the free breakfast!

Kind regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used this hotel as a base for our adventures around Banff and Lake Lousie. It was a great location, just a quick walk from the shops and restaurants downtown, but a little quieter. The rooms were sufficient. If you're a hotel nitpicker you could find a few things off in our room... but honestly, they were all minor. Everything was clean enough to feel comfortable. They have a pool and two hot tubs, which felt amazing after full days of hiking around. Breakfast is provided... it's nothing special, but it has the basics. There's cereal, fruit, bagels, toast, coffee and several juices. It wasn't amazing, but it was included and I didn't leave hungry! :) Also to note, the wifi was good for a hotel and there is an underground parking area for your car, which we appreciated. I imagine it would be great in the winter!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Laura,

Thank you kindly for such a positive review of our hotel! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and got to use the pool and hot tubs after a long day! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Lucinda Wynn
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.