We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Four of adults stayed in the 1 queen room. It was very comfortable and the wall between the two beds was nice added privacy. The room had a mini fridge, 2 cup coffee maker, microwave, 2 TV's, table/chairs, AC. The sink was seperate from the toilet/shower which was very convenient. The Complimentary breakfast was very good and satisfying. The pool/hot tub area was clean and there were a couple of hot tubs for different groups to enjoy. The staff was very friendly. The location is perfect - very easy walking to the restaurants and shopping. Definitely will be going back to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    87
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
44
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I had initially booked 2 rooms for Friday and Saturday night but had to change them to just the Saturday night. One room didn't get changed via booking.com but the Inn still changed at no charge even though was inside the deadline. There is only limited parking behind the hotel otherwise had to park on the street. Have to make sure you are not in a bus parking only area as well. The lobby of the hotel is small dark and a little shabby. The guy that checked us in was not welcoming at all. The elevator was even more shabby than the lobby and it smelled unpleasant. We were on the third floor at one end and our room doorways were inset. That gave us the option of closing the outer door so we could leave the room doors open. The room we were in (311) was a surprisingly nice room compared with the rest of the hotel. It was definitle one of the renovated tooms. LOTS of pillows (6 on each bed) and the room was very clean. There is a hottub and pool in the hotel both which are clean and maintained. The hotel was $124 per night and perfectly fine as far as I am concerned. It is a few blocks from main downtown but not a bad walk. I'd stay there again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family stayed here during our ski trip to SunShine Village. Our room is called "Superior Two Queen Beds". It is clean and spacious. Beds were firm and comfortable. The bathroom is very tight with little room to move. When we arrived, our room did not have microwave. So they bring one for us to warm up our foods. I enjoyed free breakfast which include french toasts, boiled eggs, fresh fruits, juices, cereals, waffles. It would be nice if they also serve hot breakfast for extra cost. There is a swimming pool and hot tubs. We were relaxing in the hot tubs after a long day on ski hill. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay early February. Our first night we had the boiler duct going through our room making it unbearably hot to where we needed air con on to sleep. Unfortunately there was no available room to move. The next morning we were moved to another nicely renovated and clean room with a much better temperature. The rooms were clean, spacious and hotel is in a convenient location. Staff was fabulous, friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was great, typical continental style but all we needed to start the day. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time staying here. The staff is friendly,and the location is really good. Only a couple of blocks from downtown Banff. Just a nice little walk. The continental breakfast is standard but it was just fine. There is also a nice pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice. It can get a little noisy and the breakfast is pretty lame but you can't expect much from continental. I still enjoy staying here as it is a great location and great value. Staff is friendly and rooms are always clean. It is very short walking distance from the center of Banff.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five nights at the Inn and I have nothi but praise - clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, decent breakfast, close to the main shopping strip, and its own ski shuttle stop. For a three star hotel the High Country Inn certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.