We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here twice. It can get a little noisy and the breakfast is pretty lame but you can't expect much from continental. I still enjoy staying here as it is a great location and great value. Staff is friendly and rooms are always clean. It is very short walking distance from the center of Banff.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
67
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Five nights at the Inn and I have nothi but praise - clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, decent breakfast, close to the main shopping strip, and its own ski shuttle stop. For a three star hotel the High Country Inn certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice friendly hotel. Close to all the shops and night life that Banff had to offer. Ski shuttle bus stops right outside the front door so no walking with all your ski gear. If the first bus was full a second bus arrived really quickly.Breakfast was a good standard continental style.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Banff for the week end and stayed at this hotel Rooms were clean, fair size and staff were really nice. Continental Breakfast in the morning which was good. We were on the main road with other hotels so we walked the town and had some good meals, The only set back was some of the young people were very noisy at night with loud talking and slamming of their room doors why they do that I don't know. Liked the lobby had sitting room with fire place and nice fire going. Had computer in there to use with a copier.

Room Tip: We were on second floor which over looked onto street. The view was nice as you could see the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived here on the Saturday of Labor day weekend and chose this hotel because of the price being much cheaper than all those in the proximity of it. We stayed here for 4 nights and found check in to be quick and friendly.
Didn't have any problems with car parking in the underground garage - always found a space easily.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room wasn't the most modern and was a little on the small side, but we knew that at the time of booking, plus we were in Banff to see Banff, not the inside of a hotel room.
We did have breakfast there twice and found it to acceptable for a free breakfast - good choice of Bagels, English muffins, toast, cereals and fruit but no hot items, not that that bothered us.

Staff were knowledgeable of the local area and pleased to help.

The local Roam bus stops outside the hotel as does the free Mount Norquay shuttle.
Good location, short walk to the shopping area of Banff Avenue and near a Safeway supermarket.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was a pleasure to host your stay whilst you were here in Banff. We always look forward to providing guests with an enjoyable stay and seeing them return to Banff National Park to discover even more of its hidden treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just spent three days at the High Country Inn in Banff, AB. This hotel was super clean, with a very accommodating staff, good breakfast, great location and good value. The hotel was recently renovated and our room looked brand new. Recommend this hotel to all.

Ken Franco
Winnipeg, MB

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: Quiet time of year, so we didn't have any issues with noise. Great location only minutes from the downtown area on foot. Heated indoor parking (height restrictions apply). Staff were friendly and helpful; when I asked about a place in town to buy Sunshine ski passes in advance, I was offered discounted ($80) tickets right at the hotel desk. Sunshine shuttle stop right in front (we preferred to use the shuttle instead of having to park at the hill). Nice clean room with access to balcony. Continental breakfast was as expected: nothing fancy, but we were satisfied with the selection and it was enough to get us going until lunch. Wifi worked good.

Cons: Very small bathroom, but I suppose that's to be expected from a budget hotel. Big hard pillows.

Notes: Didn't use the pool facilities.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.