We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with average service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel with average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 4 days here in October, good location just 2 blocks from the centre of the town and good size rooms. However, it appears to be run by a wide range of part time staff/students and nobody appears to be in charge. Breakfast nice but basic, cereal, bagels, cinnamon toast, fruit the biggest down side is the breakfast staff have there breakfast along with the guests so when things run out to has to wait until their breakfast is over!
Parking good, everything you need there ....... Just needs some TLC!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Merle

I'm glad to hear that you found our location so convenient during your recent stay in Banff. We are very fortunate to have such great vistas to appreciate on the short walk to the center of Banff. I'm very surprised that you saw our kitchen staff eating breakfast with the guests. Our kitchen staff work very hard to ensure that the needs of guests are met and usually don't get their first break of the day until two hours after the end of our breakfast hours. I trust that this won't occur the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only spent one night here, however has a pool, good sized rooms, and walking distance to downtown and nearby restaurants if you don't use the hotels.After our experience in Jasper a much needed boost.Breakfast was self serve but quite adequate with fruit etc.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

amazing service with the friendly staff from all around the world.
Very clean.
Hotel is loud the majority of the time as this hotel appears to cater to groups. Hallways harbour and bounce any conversations. Street rooms are loud from all the walkers at all hours of day and night (Banff has a lovely night life). We asked for a room in a quiet area and this did not happen despite booking a month in advance due to hotel being full? Bit of a disappointment as were were there for 4 days/3 nights.
Breakfast is not hot - unless you count toast or adding hot water to your oatmeal.
Excellent room sizes for families or groups. Lots of room to move around.
Updated rooms look great. We had a dated room. Not bad either. But can see the facelift adding more appeal to this well anchored hotel in Banff.
To be honest - due to the requests we had that weren't fulfilled this visit (and during the previous two visits), coupled with the high season rate that didn't leave us any reason to overlook the disappointments - I suspect we will be throwing the dice to try another one of the great hotels Banff has to offer next time we are in gorgeous Banff.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello

I'm disappointed to hear of the problems that you encountered during your recent stay.Wherever possible we will try and meet rooming requests. Sometimes it can be difficult to predict which part of the hotel will be the 'quiet' part as we welcome a range of travellers. We very much appreciate returning guests and I'm sorry that your last few visits haven't met your expectations. If you would like to give the hotel one more chance to provide you with a pleasant stay then please call the hotel and ask to speak to the front office manager about your travel arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for four nights. We were given a ground floor room 131 with two queen beds. This is a room with a parking lot view on the back of the inn. Room is big,however the bathroom is small and difficult to enter and exit. Another feature is encountering the wash basin as you enter the room. Better to avoid this room unless you love to see wash basins in your field of vision as you enter. Wi Fi extremely poor. The excuse is everyone online. The inclusive breakfast is basic. On the positive side the staff at reception were extremely helpful for all the queries. We loved the hot tub and the pool. The hotel is located on Banff Avenue the Main Street of the town away from commercial establishments and tourist traffic but within walking distance.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi

If your initial room assignment didn't meet expectations then please speak with our front desk staff allow them the opportunity to find a room more suitable to your needs. If rooming requests aren't indicated at the time of booking then it can be very difficult to meet everyone's requests when the hotel is at full occupancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location about a 6 min. walk to the Banff Visitor Center along. It's good to have a motel within walking distance of the eating establishment and visitor center as parking in that area is expensive. Price for the Inn was competitive with other motel's. All the places in Banff seem a bit high; however, it is a resort town. We were satisfied with the price we got through booking.com. Pleasant and helpful front desk folks. Large, very clean and nicely renovated room on the 3rd floor. We had 2 queen beds which were very comfy and had nice linens and good pillows. Good reading lamps for reading in bed. In fact, my husband commented on all of the lights in our room. He said he had never stayed in a room with such good lighting. The room included a coffee maker and small refrigerator. There was a round table with an overhead light and with 2 chairs. We used this to spread out our maps and plan our next day. Our little balcony overlooked the back of the property but it was too cool to use the balcony so that was OK. Nice, large flat screen t.v. which had the most pleasant channel on when we came into the room was showing all kinds of lovely scenic places around the world with relaxing music. We just left it on and enjoyed. Free wifi worked well in room. Room was quiet. Shower pressure good and plenty of hot water. Also, there is covered parking under the hotel and that's included in the room rate. That was handy since we awoke to 3 inches of snow and didn't have to clean off our car.

Breakfast buffet served on the main floor down the hall from the lobby. It had all the usually breakfast buffet items. The room is fairly large and plenty of tables. We were satisfied with what was offered.

We really enjoyed our stay, would stay here again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm really glad to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation. We are glad to hear that the adjustments we have made during recent renovations to lighting in the rooms has met such acclaim. Your stay coincided with a rather freakish snow fall and underground parking can certainly be appreciated at such times. Hopefully you enjoyed that taste of winter in mid September!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made last minute reservations and the Receptionist was very accommodating in trying to get us set for three days. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfy, price included breakfast. Pool area was very clean. Two hot tubs that were sparkling clean. Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Wi-Fi in this hotel is really fast so you can stream movies if you want.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are always happy to try and accommodate last minute bookings. I'm glad you found our front desk staff so helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the honeymoon suite which had a fireplace, oversized jacuzzi and large private balcony. My thanks to Rita for getting us into our room early! The young man at the check-in desk did not seem concerned enough to even check if our room was ready, but Rita saved the day. The other front desk staff seemed very pleasant. We chose this hotel for its free breakfast (nothing to write home about) and the free parking (really great underground parking). The proximity to shopping and restaurants is quite good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello

Rita is an extremely valuable employee who will always go the extra distance to make sure you are accommodated. Our honeymoon suites are currently being renovated which should allow for an even better experience next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.