We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but typical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricey but typical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked two nights in this hotel. The room was updated and clean. The only problem was the air conditioner. It was loud and dripped water and didn't cool. We called the desk and the man on duty agreed that it didn't work but could do nothing since the hotel was booked. He agreed to move us for the next night and gave us a 10% discount which didn't seem very fair considering sleep was difficult. Window units need to be checked and cleaned, especially when charging $200+/nite. Our second night was better in the room next door and the hotel moved all our luggage.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First off, if you want to stay in Banff, you're going to have to pay for it. I think a lot less people would be upset review-wise if they realized Banff is a spendy tourist locale. Anyways, the High Country Inn is an older but very well maintained Hotel. The rooms were modernized and nice, new air conditioner that we ran constantly, and a cute little balcony for people watching and late night drinks/morning coffee. The deluxe continental breakfast was very good- waffles, french toast, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit--- and included. I love places with free breakfast. The location is right on Banff Ave... Banff's 'Strip' to downtown, everywhere is walkable, which is great, because driving (or parking, rather) in Banff is terrible.
Although we only stayed the one night, I would for sure give the High Country Inn another go. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Hi Ashley

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay over the summer. We love taking care of our repeat guests so if you are coming to Banff over the winter please ask to speak to the Front Office Manager when making your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Although it is rather pricy, staff is helpfull, good continental breakfast included, location is an easy walk to downtown. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Not much else you can ask for a hotel room in a resort town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Location is convenient. Air conditioners were filthy and plugged. Ended up leaving @ 4am because both my child and I were so stuffed up do to the horrible dirt, dust, and circulation in both the room and "hotel" not to mention the broken Murphy bed , they should be embarrassed they took our $239 for the night. After the 2 hour drive home we could breathe again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Hi Jeff

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying with us. I can imagine it would be a very difficult decision to move you and your child at 4 AM in the morning. I would like the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable experience at our hotel. Please contact the front office manager directly and a good value stay can be arranged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

While the Inn is older, it is walkable to most everything in town. The staff was exceptional and the included breakfast had more than enough choices to make even the pickiest eater full and satisfied! The room was clean, with the exception of a couple items left under the bed, so obviously housekeeping doesn't check there often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamacita97008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We go to Banff one to two times a year and we always stay at the High Country Inn. The staff are great, the rooms are clean, the pool is nice and we get free breakfast. We can park our car underground when we arrive and then walk everywhere we need to go. Of course it is not a luxury hotel but we know that and we love it there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Leann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe suite on the 3rd floor on the Banff Avenue side and it was very roomy and comfortable. There was noise from the street but as long as the windows were closed it was no problem for us. The front desk staff was extremely helpful especially Lucinda!. We were planning to stay 4 nights but decided to stay 1 more and were fortunate to stay in our same room. The location was perfect to take a short walk downtown or a drive out of town. We were thankful for the underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 507tracya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
I'm really glad that we could provide you with such a happy vacation. This fall we plan on renovating the Deluxe Suite that you stayed in, which should make for an even better experience next time you are in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing