We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but typical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but typical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked two nights in this hotel. The room was updated and clean. The only problem was the air conditioner. It was loud and dripped water and didn't cool. We called the desk and the man on duty agreed that it didn't work but could do nothing since the hotel was booked. He agreed to move us for the next night and gave us a 10% discount which didn't seem very fair considering sleep was difficult. Window units need to be checked and cleaned, especially when charging $200+/nite. Our second night was better in the room next door and the hotel moved all our luggage.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, if you want to stay in Banff, you're going to have to pay for it. I think a lot less people would be upset review-wise if they realized Banff is a spendy tourist locale. Anyways, the High Country Inn is an older but very well maintained Hotel. The rooms were modernized and nice, new air conditioner that we ran constantly, and a cute little balcony for people watching and late night drinks/morning coffee. The deluxe continental breakfast was very good- waffles, french toast, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit--- and included. I love places with free breakfast. The location is right on Banff Ave... Banff's 'Strip' to downtown, everywhere is walkable, which is great, because driving (or parking, rather) in Banff is terrible.
Although we only stayed the one night, I would for sure give the High Country Inn another go. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although it is rather pricy, staff is helpfull, good continental breakfast included, location is an easy walk to downtown. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Not much else you can ask for a hotel room in a resort town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is convenient. Air conditioners were filthy and plugged. Ended up leaving @ 4am because both my child and I were so stuffed up do to the horrible dirt, dust, and circulation in both the room and "hotel" not to mention the broken Murphy bed , they should be embarrassed they took our $239 for the night. After the 2 hour drive home we could breathe again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the Inn is older, it is walkable to most everything in town. The staff was exceptional and the included breakfast had more than enough choices to make even the pickiest eater full and satisfied! The room was clean, with the exception of a couple items left under the bed, so obviously housekeeping doesn't check there often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We go to Banff one to two times a year and we always stay at the High Country Inn. The staff are great, the rooms are clean, the pool is nice and we get free breakfast. We can park our car underground when we arrive and then walk everywhere we need to go. Of course it is not a luxury hotel but we know that and we love it there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a deluxe suite on the 3rd floor on the Banff Avenue side and it was very roomy and comfortable. There was noise from the street but as long as the windows were closed it was no problem for us. The front desk staff was extremely helpful especially Lucinda!. We were planning to stay 4 nights but decided to stay 1 more and were fortunate to stay in our same room. The location was perfect to take a short walk downtown or a drive out of town. We were thankful for the underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.