We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean - close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean - close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our second time at the High Country...the room that we got this time was facing Banff Ave and was renovated. The bathroom area had the biggest changes and was a pleasant surprise (very bright and clean). The beds were comfortable and the balcony was nice (fresh air cooling the room off). We didn't use the pool area but the breakfast was fine (nothing to really rave about). The proximity to the shops and restaurants is the best part of this hotel. You can walk almost everywhere very easily which is nice in the busy summer months (park at the hotel and leave your vehicle there). The staff that we had to chance to interact with were friendly and helpful.

The one drawback was that when you face Banff Ave people walking past can wake you up every once in awhile till one or two in the morning. I MIGHT ask for a room facing the back for a quieter night. The view is not quite a nice though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great location close to everything and to get out for walks. No need to use your car once you've arrived. Rooms were well appointed. Comfortable bed. Seems like many rooms had balconies.

Breakfast included but could have offered more choice.
Additional charge ($3) to fund so-called offset of your emissions is probably just a money grab - have no idea if monies actually go to offset program. A better way to do it is to ASK client if he wants to participate in program rather than automatically add it to his bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive review. Guests at our hotel are able to contribute to an environmental program at a cost of $2/night. This money goes towards initiatives in Alberta, aimed at offsetting the carbon emissions of your stay whilst in the beautiful Banff National Park. The program is voluntary and after reading the literature supplied in your room you can choose to opt out of the program. We hope to do our bit to maintain the beauty of our local area for generations to come and are very thankful for our guests also contributing towards this.

We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Staff was very nice and the rooms, though a bit outdated, were clean and completely functional. Free wifi, free breakfast (though the usual free hotel breakfast fare, nothing special), free parking, and a great location within walking distance of the main shopping/dining areas of Banff. Indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna - all very nice after a long day of hiking. Our room faced Banff Ave so the street noise was quite loud with the windows opens, but earplugs solved that! Overall, the right value for the money in a tourist town like Banff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from Banff Ave would be quieter, I'd guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review Shannon. When staying with us again please request one of our recently renovated rooms as these have seen extensive updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in a honeymoon suite - fireplace had no remote or switch to turn it on so useless. Great big jacuzzi tub with shower over was great for after long days of hiking. Staff very friendly. View was epic from the balcony.
The Breakfast was a joke for what we paid per night. Nothing hot, cereal, boiled eggs, toast and some weird yogurt and fruit that appears to come from a can, which ran out 50% of the time. People with allergies to gluten or dairy would struggle.

The room also seemed to shake when trains went by?

Parking included which was great and the location was perfect. Didn't try the pool or sauna but looked underwhelming.

Would look for something else better for value next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay here. The fireplace does indeed have a switch to operate it. A quick call to the front desk at the time could have promptly cleared this up for you.

The breakfast is Continental, and is advertised as Continental. This means that you certainly won't be finding bacon and eggs on the table. However, our range of options cover much more than the standard, toast, cereal, coffee and juice which you'll find at other hotels offering included breakfast. Gluten free bread is also available to guests with intolerance's.

In terms of the room 'shaking' when trains go past, this is the first time we have had that feedback provided to us! There is indeed a train track that runs past the town, but it is nowhere near the hotel. Occasionally you will faintly hear the horn from the train to warn animals off the track as it passes through, but I am very doubtful that there would be a physical shake to the rooms.

Again, thanks for the feedback, and we hope you will give us another chance if you ever visit Banff again in the future.

Kind Regards,


Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We reserved a room with a crib as we had a baby with us. First room we checked into smelled horribly of smoke.We were then given a room at the back alley. We tried a third roomon the second floor. Unlike other places we have stayed, the crib was not set up for us. We had to go up a VERY steep makeshift platform to get to our room. With a stroller,it was very dangerous because it was so steep. NOT safe at all & should not be allowed. We lost control of the stroller on the way down! Its a good thing the baby was not in it!!!We were very disappointed and wanted to get out to enjoy Banff so did not complain but certainly will not be going back. Safety is worth the extra to stay elsewhere and I cannot understand how this passes code for a hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're sorry to hear you were not satisfied during your stay with us. It was myself who came and checked the room after you advised there was a smoke smell, and I could smell it very faintly. Most likely it had come in through the open window from someone smoking in the car parking area. The new room we gave you was just down the hall from the original, backing onto the car parking area once more (not an alley).

In regards to the ramp, these are in place so that the housekeepers can navigate their supplies sufficiently through the hotel. These are easily pulled up and fastened against the wall, so that guests can safely proceed up and down the small flights of stairs. The ramps should always be in the upright position once housekeeping has finished for the day, so our sincere apologies for the issue you experienced with this. We are now looking at taking these out and changing our procedures for the housekeepers.

Once again, we're very sorry for the issues you experienced, and hope you may give us another chance if you're ever visiting Banff in the future.

Warm Regards,


Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel with my friends on the way up the Icefields Parkway. Was close enough to walk to the main part of town for dinner and shopping. The front desk staff was very friendly during check in and instructed us on how to get to the hotel's free parking garage. The room was a little dated but was clean and comfortable. Had a nice view of the mountains from a small patio. Our room also included free breakfast which had a nice variety. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,


Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Basically we paid 189 a night for two nights.

I'll start with the pro's. Bed was comfy and it was quiet, that's about it. And they had to flat screen tv's but you are in Banff why would you watch tv.

1)Room obviously hadnt been renovated in at least 15 years. Stains on the carpet and the Blinds were falling off.
2)Breakfast was a joke coffee,cereal, OJ some yogurt hardbolied eggs
3)Housekeeping didnt show up untill mid afternoon
4)Our toilet broke just as we were getting ready to go out for the evening that took an hour to fix
5)Parking is very very tight.
6)No compensation was offered for discounts on future visits etc.

I usually dont write bad reviews, I'm just being honest. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're very sorry that you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay. I will address your concerns in order:

Rate: $189 a night during summer in Banff is a very reasonable rate. I'm not sure how much research you did into other rates at the time, but we are always priced very favorably compared to other hotels, considering all our inclusions (breakfast, wifi, underground parking, pool, hot tubs and sauna)

Room: You are correct in stating that your room was one of those which had not been renovated (FYI - this is scheduled to start in the fall of this year). However, even our older rooms are still in perfect working order, even though they may look a little dated. The curtains and stain were not reported to us until you checked out, therefore we could do nothing to fix this during your stay. A few spare curtain rings were all that was required to fix the curtain. The small stain on the carpet was also cleaned straight away.

Breakfast: Quite substantial considering it is Continental. In addition to the items you listed, we also offer tea, bagels, waffles, french toast, oats and fresh fruit. Compared to other Continental breakfasts which offer mostly carbohydrate based foods, we feel the addition of fresh fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs helps provide much more choice to our guests.

Housekeeping: Service provided for our 'staying' guests is usually completed between 12-3PM. This is the usual time frame in which most hotels perform these duties

Toilet: We apologize for the toilet issue. Just as these issues occur in the home environment, they are also sometimes going to occur in the hotel environment. Alternatives were offered to you by the Front Desk agent to cover the time in which it took him to source a new toilet handle and replace the broken one

Parking: Our underground garage can be a little tight for bigger vehicles. Clearance levels are advised at check in, and it is at the guests discretion to gauge whether or not they think their vehicle will fit comfortably

Compensation: Issues regarding curtain and stain were reported at check out only, and as they were minor issues which we could have looked at during your stay, compensation was not offered. If you are ever back in Banff, please get in contact with us and we can look at some special rates for you.

Warm Regards


Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.