We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and good rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Killarney, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“comfortable and good rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went to Banff for a wedding and wanted somewhere to stay that was comfortable, clean, and reasonable in price, because you are not in your room much. we had our daughter, son in law and two grandchildren. they loved the pool and hot tub. the breakfast was quite good. they were very friendly and where very accommodating. we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback! Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    74
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

As a young family, taking a trip is a big deal. We decided on Banff for so many reasons and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the High Country Inn. Newly renovated room along with top notch staff. It was close to everything we wanted to do, without the congestion of being right downtown. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hello, We had been to Banf during summer in 2013 and had got a chance to stay in High Country Inn in Banff. It was a very good experience to stay there, with nice comfortable big rooms, with nice views of the mountains, nice breakfast facilities and a co-operative staff. Location was also good as most of the tourist places and markets were accessible by walk of less than 60 minutes maximally. And the best thing was that it was not so that expensive as well. It was cheap as compared to the other hotels there.

Room Tip: Rooms on higer floors and towards the road can help u enjoying the scenery more and sleep well. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us here in beautiful Banff! We're glad you enjoyed your time here, and hope to see you again this year.

Best Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Family ski trip. Requested main floor which was granted. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom area newly renovated. Towels stocked. Mini fridge. No microwave. Appreciated the electric kettle. Curtains missing hooks so curtains hung shabby and difficult to pull across window. Room was not dusted when we arrived...had to complain about that...and dust bunnies behind toilet and back of bdoor. Housekeeper came to clean it up and apologized. "Housekeepers please take pride and pay attention to detail, maybe you are overworked but your job to me is the most important"!! Front desk service friendly. Pool good. Two hot tubs good. Breakfast buffet plain, no hot unless you stick a waffle in a toaster. Cold boiled eggs...If time is taken to boil the eggs, why not just scramble and keep heated? Good location to walk Banff Ave. Underground parking great for winter, but clearance is 6.1...tight. All in all if you need a place to stay for while out all day...this hotel will meet your basic needs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the High Country Inn. We appreciate your comments! We agree with you that high standards of Housekeeping are of the utmost importance, and we're continually working towards improving our procedures.

Also one thing to note, our boiled eggs are prepared externally and delivered to us to serve with the breakfast. Unfortunately without a full in-house kitchen, we do not have the facilities available to prepare and serve hot food such as scrambled eggs etc. If any guests ever desire a full hot breakfast, the El Toro restaurant two doors down within our sister property, Irwins Mountain Inn, provides a delicious hot breakfast at a reasonable cost.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay here! We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed in Ptarmigan Inn, Rocky Mountain Resort, Inns of Banff. High Country Inn has the biggest and brightest rooms for 3 days under $300 with breakfast included (midweek)! The hotel is within a walking distance to the downtown of Banff - restaurants, shops, etc.

We were in a Family suite. It has 2 comfortable queen beds + 1 pull-down queen size bed in the living room. The beds are distributed over the area of 3 rooms - huge, compared to a standard hotel room. There is one semi-private well furnished room (has 2 holes in the wall in order to distribute the heat/cold from the devices in the room) with one queen bed, big TV and a door. The family suite has a small fridge (enough to store food for 2-3 days for a family), big microwave, coffee machine and kettle, 2 big TVs. Very nice bath towels and a full set of toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and lotion). Amazing views toward the Cascade mountain and Bourgeau mountain. It was quiet, with comfortable sleep/living conditions.

The only issue with the room was that there were some electrical outlets that did not work. The hotel representative may feel free to contact me - I will point out which ones did not work. Recommendation - I would have liked if there was a small bar sink in the living room.

Breakfast: mostly carbohydrates (cereals, bread, sweet bread, waffles), protein - hard-boiled eggs, milk, fruit - "frozen" bananas (seems that they had been stored in a fridge and they have inedible look, but once you peel the brown skin they are fine), apples.

The hotel has a small pool, 2 hot tubs and a sauna. You need to ask at the desk to turn on the sauna 15min before you want to use it.

We loved it and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: For added space choose a Family suite. For quietness - facing off the street (North).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us here at the High Country Inn! We're very happy that you enjoyed all the facilities that our spacious Family Suite was able to provide for you. We agree with you regarding the convenience that a bar sink could add to the suite, and will be working towards installing these in our suites sometime next year.

We have also since repaired the inoperable electrical outlets - thanks very much for the feedback!

We're looking forward to having you back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed at the High Country Inn quite a few times with my family; however, this past stay was far superior than previous stays in the past. This hotel has really upped their game! They have newly renovated their rooms on the first and second floors and they are beautiful! Also, they have a great hot tub and pool area, which was great after a long day at the ski hill. In addition, this hotel has a free continental breakfast and cutest lobby you ever did see. It is in SUCH a great location and we just walked everywhere. Definitely will be coming back! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your positive feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms and hope to have you back to stay with us soon.

Kind Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel rooms are nice, comfortable and clean, the lobby is nice with the fireplace, etc. Upon entering the lift, it smelt of marijuana. Walking down the corridors, it smells of marijuana. The breakfast is a very basic continental breakfast. If you are traveling on a budget then this hotel is definitely worth the price, overall the experience wasn't bad. It doesn't seem the staff really cares too much if you want to smoke up in their rooms. The views are spectactular.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your past stay here at the High Country Inn. Whilst we appreciate the wit, we would like to point out that during certain periods (such as Spring Break when you stayed with us), a lot of people visiting the town are here to 'indulge' if you will, and it is unfortunate when they partake in such activities in their accommodations.

We are strictly non smoking, and this applies to all types of smoking. If we receive reports of smoke smell in the hotel, we do our best to locate the culprits as soon as we can, and evict them if need be. We always hope that guests will report smoke smells to the front desk, as otherwise it is impossible for the staff to know what is going on outside their immediate vicinity.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and we hope to see you here again soon.

Kind Regards,

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.