We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation winter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation winter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Mid week pricing @ this Inn is a good value. We always get the upgraded honeymoon suite with the fireplace, King bed, balcony and Jet tub. It is worth the extra fue dollars. The Inn was not too busy and we felt we had all facilities to ourselves. The hot tub and pool area is very clean and has been upgraded recentally. Water temps are perfect. Staff is friendly, helpful and very personable. The lobby area is tastefully decorated and a very relaxing and comfortable area. The entire Inn has seen many renovations over the past fue years since we've been going there. Every area is very clean. Rooms are cleaned and maintained very well. Quiet Inn and a great place to get away for a fue days to destress. Thge inn is dated in a fue areas but maintained well and constant upgrading will have the entire place face lifted fairly soon. The free breakfast is quite nice. Buffet self serve style but more then enough food to get you up and going. Always fresh and replenished hourly. Overall this is a good value for you're dollar and I highly recomend a stay here!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite has extra perks, jet tub, fireplace, large and sunny, worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the High Country Inn. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and good to see you are making the most of the quieter mid week getaways! Our Honeymoon Suites are perfect for couples, and we're glad to hear you made the most out of the amenities provided.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We wanted to get away for the Family Day weekend but everywhere else was booked. This place was free and the room was clean and the people were friendly. The room was clean, not ultra modern but clean and comfortable and they are currently working on upgrading rooms. The beds were very comfortable and very important for a family the sink was seperate from the toilet shower so we didn't have to wait if you just wanted access to the sink. There was a good breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, toast, juice, cereal etc.
Unfortunately the pool and hot tubs were not working but that happens sometimes, apparently a part broke and would take a couple days to get in.
It may not be a 5 star hotel with all the ammenities and services but if all you want is a place to relax after a day out this hotel will work well for you and for the price is a real gem. We will keep it in mind next time we go to Banff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in February with us here at the High Country Inn. We appreciate your feedback regarding your room and the other hotel amenities. Unfortunately our pool and hot tubs were out of order over the Family Day Break, and due to the public holiday it took a little more time to source the parts and labour required to repair the boiler system. Everything is now back up and running as per usual, and we encourage you to come back and enjoy our facilities whenever you are next in town.

Thanks and hopefully see you soon!

Laura Preston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at the High Country Inn during a trip to Banff, and was pleasantly greeted with a very modern room. The new furniture and decor made for great value for dollar.


I also enjoyed the 'mountain cabin' feel of the hotels common room. I spent some time reading by the fire in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked this hotel online (hotels.com)... We were VERY excited to be getting away just for a quick overnite stay... until we walked into this hotel. How it even has ANY positive comments is beyond my understanding. The first thing you notice is how dirty it is... especially around the "elevator" area... stairways, windows as well. Our "suite" and I use that term loosely was horrible. Ripped wallpaper, a couch from the 70's, an older coffee table. Dull, dreary, and dark. Old haggard carpeting.. And the smell... wow... This is NOT a place you want to spend time after a nice day... We lasted about 30 minutes handed in the keys and drove home. Do yourself a favor and pass by this one... I feel sorry for those who have traveled far, and spent good money to find themselves in a dive like this. There are beautiful hotels in Banff, do some searching... you can do way better than this....Oh and as for GOOD LOCATION that I've noticed in some of these comments. There aren't BAD locations in Banff!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning the High Country Inn. I would like to apologize for your discontent this past week while visiting the hotel.

I would also like to add that it was disappointing from our perspective that you didn't give us a chance to better the situation. We certainly could have offered a different room or some other way to show how much we care about our guest's satifaction.

We have been updating our rooms and therefore our common areas have been a challenge to keep completely spotless. I would like to point out that we have been cleaning these common areas in the mid to late afternoon and you happened to check in before this.

I would also like to add that this phase of our update is nearing completion and as of February 1st there will be no sign of work in our common areas.

I hope you will give us another try sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jordan Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Harbour, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rooms are very clean and the beds very comfotable! Underground parking included and is a great location on the main road in Banff! The guest services agents aren't always very helpful but never rude. Great view from the interior pool and 2 hot tubs as well!
If you want to relax in general comfort for an affordable price this is your place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Within walking distance of downtown Banff. Continental breakfast was terrible but in room coffee was surprisingly good. Rooms are average, it is an older hotel, but were very clean. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly as was housekeeping staff. Renovations were going on down the hall from us but were very quiet and did not disturb us at all. Heated underground parking was nice to have as well. Two hot tubs, one lukewarm and the other very hot, pool was warm compared to most hotel pools, area and change rooms were clean. Just had to remember to get pool towels from front desk on the way. Beds have 4 different pillows to choose from, mattress was ok.

Room Tip: west facing room had decent view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff at this hotel are delightful, the lobby and pool area are newly renovated. The underground parking was nice, but a very tight fit... no way would most Alberta trucks make it down there. The rooms were a bit dated, but nice and clean. The beds were unfortunately one of the most uncomfortable beds I have encountered in a hotel.... very hard and not much support. We both woke up quite sore. The continental breakfast wasn't that great.... basically just an assortment of toast, pre made french toast, waffles, bagels, cereal, and some hard boiled eggs. You're better off to head to Bruno's restaurant for breakfast. We were still happy with our stay there as we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our rooms, but will probably opt to spend a little more money for a nicer spot next time. This hotel is ideal for a couple or family on a budget though. The location is good too, well within walking distance of downtown Banff and all the fun shopping and bars and many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: higher floors are SO hot. We had to sleep with the window and balcony door open all night in the dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.