We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a good price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Coal Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Rooms are very clean and the beds very comfotable! Underground parking included and is a great location on the main road in Banff! The guest services agents aren't always very helpful but never rude. Great view from the interior pool and 2 hot tubs as well!
If you want to relax in general comfort for an affordable price this is your place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Within walking distance of downtown Banff. Continental breakfast was terrible but in room coffee was surprisingly good. Rooms are average, it is an older hotel, but were very clean. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly as was housekeeping staff. Renovations were going on down the hall from us but were very quiet and did not disturb us at all. Heated underground parking was nice to have as well. Two hot tubs, one lukewarm and the other very hot, pool was warm compared to most hotel pools, area and change rooms were clean. Just had to remember to get pool towels from front desk on the way. Beds have 4 different pillows to choose from, mattress was ok.

Room Tip: west facing room had decent view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The staff at this hotel are delightful, the lobby and pool area are newly renovated. The underground parking was nice, but a very tight fit... no way would most Alberta trucks make it down there. The rooms were a bit dated, but nice and clean. The beds were unfortunately one of the most uncomfortable beds I have encountered in a hotel.... very hard and not much support. We both woke up quite sore. The continental breakfast wasn't that great.... basically just an assortment of toast, pre made french toast, waffles, bagels, cereal, and some hard boiled eggs. You're better off to head to Bruno's restaurant for breakfast. We were still happy with our stay there as we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our rooms, but will probably opt to spend a little more money for a nicer spot next time. This hotel is ideal for a couple or family on a budget though. The location is good too, well within walking distance of downtown Banff and all the fun shopping and bars and many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: higher floors are SO hot. We had to sleep with the window and balcony door open all night in the dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband choose this hotel for our recent Banff trip because of it's proximity to shopping and restaurants and because of pictures he has looked at of the rooms. The room itself was nice, king size bed, and enough space for us. The bathroom came as a surprise as the picture my husband looked at showed a nice size bathroom, but I almost had to stand in the tub in order to close the door. There is a pool/hot tub area but we didn't look at it. The continental breakfast was disappointing unless all you want it bread products and over sweetened juice. The lobby is very nice and the staff friendly. There is a lot of noise from people in the hall way during the day, but not so much at night. Overall, we liked the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaW-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Three of us stayed at the High Country Inn last Friday. We had a 3yr old with us and so we made use of the pool which we enjoyed very much, it was clean and warm, lots of fun. The room was newly updated very well done. The complimentary breakfast was very good lots of choices. Great location very close to the heart of Banff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is in a good location for walking in downtown banff. The beds were excellent
We did however have bad neighbours . The rooms are not very sound proof and the hotel the night we stayed was full of young people who kept us up for a majority of the night being loud screaming swearing and threatening to fight in the hallways.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor maybe better to be closer to the front desk on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chbaldwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I and our young niece stayed over on a Friday night, It was pretty much the last room available, but it was clean, bright, and well equipped. The staff was courteous and helpful. The complimentary breakfast had a good variety of tasty food.
It is close to the downtown area, but quiet.

The room had recently been updated, with new wall coverings, fixtures, etc. It was warm and inviting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing