We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired looking hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Tired looking hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've stayed at many other hotels in Banff, but never the High Country. So over Thanksgiving, we checked into the High Country Inn.

My first impression of the hotel stayed with me throughout my stay, and that was of a property that was older, and tired looking. I could see that when it was newer and better run, it could have been a great hotel.

WIFI was included in the price of the room but apparently Banff was having issues with their reception, so the internet connection was spotty at best.

The room was average in every way from the amenities to the cleanliness.

A "deluxe" continental breakfast was provided in the morning but it was a big disappointment. It was at best, the kind of cheap "continental" breakfast that you would expect to find in a cheap motel. In my other hotel stays, when a hotel advertises "deluxe" continental breakfast, it would come with hot items eg. bacon and scrambled eggs. There were no hot items offered by the High Country, and the other continental selections were paltry. The only thing good about the breakfast, was the girl who was working in the breakfast room - she was very friendly and was very helpful when I asked for something.

Overall, this hotel does not have much going for it, especially when compared with the many other better hotels in Banff and Canmore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. In response to your comments I would like to mention that we will be updating our property in various ways over the winter. These improvements include completely redoing the bathrooms as well as upgrading the wallpaper and lighting in the rooms. I hope that you give us another chance in the future as we are working to make this property a great place to stay for everyone regardless of their expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    90
    32
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is one place that does what it says on the tin at an average price. It is situated on the main drag into town and is only a few minutes walk from the centre. On the night we stayed parking looked like it might be a problem in season as it was not full but all parking options had been taken up including the underground car park where we were. Rooms were spacious and clean and having the balcony was a nice touch, although the views onto someones back garden was not the best. Staff were not over helpful but at least did the job and although breakfast was included it was served in a type of "canteen" room with the premise it seemed to me of not lingering there.
However, at a cost of £67 for a nights stay for two inc breakfast ( continental), I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel is on the main street , great location ,walking distance to downtown.Wheelchair access to street ,underground parking and rooms very good! The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean ,with comfortable beds and a small balcony. A nice complimentary breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised to find this nice of a place in Banff for the price. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Most restaurants post menus and prices outside so you can find something suitable for your needs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I want to thank you for your kind review of our property. We have recently updated our beds for comfort and are constantly looking at ways to improve our guest's satisfaction when staying at the High Country Inn. Recently, we also decided to add some items to our breakfast to further improve our guest's experience. These improvements include, adding french toast and pancakes to our spread as well as a fruit salad and a 12 grain bagel option.

We have also decided to upgrade our television service as HD channels are in high demand. As of November 1st, we will now offer a TV viewing experience with 55 HD channels including two movie channels.

I hope these improvements add to your future enjoyment at the High Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome & consistently good service during stay. Recommendations on days out were brilliant & housekeeping staff were just lovely. Had not anticipated breakfast being included so this was a nice little bonus - it would be even better with a little imagination with table layout so it feels less hostel like. Room was lovely, large & roomy with really comfortable beds.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel could be better with stricter management.
Our "welcome" consisted of telling us to come back an hour later at 4.00pm until a more senior member of staff heard my protestations.
The room was a good size but "tired".
The bath water never rose above tepid( were they trying to save money?).
The telephone id not work and had to be replaced.
Breakfast was a depressing experience in a charmless room with very poor quality food.
Altogether a depressing place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Helpful, friendly staff. Large comfortable rooms. Easy short walk to downtown. Good bed, good pillows, clean everything, new TVs. Inside parking a plus for when it's cold, breakfast included, pool/jacuzzi indoors, Laundry room for those who travel long periods. Good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

THIS REVIEW IS PART OF A TOUR ACROSS CANADA, SO MOSTLY ONLY ONE NIGHT OR TWO NIGHT STOP OVERS.

Very comfortable hotel, Spacious rooms, and great location to walk into the town. You will not go far wrong wth this hotel.
Only minor draw back was, only one lift for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.