We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in downtown Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Juneau
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value in downtown Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Helpful, friendly staff. Large comfortable rooms. Easy short walk to downtown. Good bed, good pillows, clean everything, new TVs. Inside parking a plus for when it's cold, breakfast included, pool/jacuzzi indoors, Laundry room for those who travel long periods. Good value for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

THIS REVIEW IS PART OF A TOUR ACROSS CANADA, SO MOSTLY ONLY ONE NIGHT OR TWO NIGHT STOP OVERS.

Very comfortable hotel, Spacious rooms, and great location to walk into the town. You will not go far wrong wth this hotel.
Only minor draw back was, only one lift for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our trip started really nicely until we end up at the HCI on a last minute trip to Banff. The location was perfect, the rooms we're alright until we found a blood stain on the sheets and dirty beer cans on the balcony used as ashtrays ( found by my 3 years old). The breakfast is ok, but do not expect anything fancy. The dinning room itself was dirty and the lady wasn't cleaning the table after each guests, the cereal area was a total disaster. The front desk girl, Leean, I believe?? was by far the nicest person. Very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Banff wasn't as I had pictured it in my head. We were there on Labor Day weekend and the town was crowded. It's very walkable, with Banff Avenue being the main drag, and another parallel street and a few side streets that are FULL of stores, restaurants and tourist shops of all kinds and price ranges.
As you head out on Banff Avenue, there are bunches of hotels, side by side, very close together. The High Country Inn is definitely within walking distance to downtown shopping/eating. They have a u-shaped driveway where you can unload, but the parking is under the building.
The gentlemen at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. In fact, everyone we encountered had a great attitude. Is that just because they're in gorgeous Banff, or are trained well...I don't know!
The room itself is large, with plenty of places to put your stuff. The tub/shower and toilet are in a separate room, and the sink area is pretty small (a small shelf would be nice for toiletries).
Bed was comfortable. We used the white noise app on the phone to drown out street noise. The A/C worked well, but we had to stand on a chair to adjust it!
TV was analog and there weren't a lot of channel choices, but you should be OUTSIDE in Banff anyway, what a gorgeous place.
Breakfast is average at best. Yogurt was about the best protein source. Way too much white flour and sugary items!! 3 kinds of cereal...at least one of them should be whole grain. And aren't wheat bagels the same price as white ones? When will hotels start providing more fiber and protein.....sigh.
Overall, it was a good stay, but we paid $200/nite. I think next time I might do some more comparison shopping and end up somewhere else. But this is not a bad place by any means. Staff gets an A+!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

when learning that the last weekend of August was a long weekend in Canada, I realised that I was in trouble when it came to finding accommodation in Banff, a very popular holiday destination. Purely by chance I spotted the "vacancy" sign outside the High Country Inn hotel, and managed to book their last available room. It has been a wonderful experience all round: lovely room, comfortable bed, attentive and very friendly staff, good breakfast in a cozy breakfast room. Great working WIFI and a bathroom which allowed me to shower with a broken foot (only when one needs this extra comfort, does one appreciate it!). I couldn't have picked any better place to stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone. This is what a good hotel must be like: clean, friendly, accommodating, good quality price balance... the High Country Inn has it all. If ever I make it back to Banff, this will be my port of call!

Room Tip: had a room on the ground floor which I ticked all my boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the night prior to the GranFondo bike race. Thus a good nights sleep was needed.
Unfortunately either the ac or heat blew down on us all night long no matter where the temperature was set. The ducts are set near the ceiling but have more than enough force to keep guests uncomfortable & awake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a great spot for a family of four. Nicely maintained room, good pool with two different temp hot tubs were a nice perk for us to unwind from our drive. We liked the breakfasts in the morning-- good options and included. The biggest perks were the great underground parking and the proximity to town. We walked to town and the grocery store. No complaints!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.