We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, easy walk into town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Central location, easy walk into town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel was good value for Banff and was located a short walk into town.

The elevator is very slow and small for an inn that size but that was the only drawback.

Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold items. Did feel bad for the person working breakfast as she was having a hard time keeping up with demand for cutlery but she was trying her best!

Would recommend the Inn for those in the area!

Room Tip: Room 244 is out of the way and faces Banff Ave..didn't hear anyone around us in the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were are family of 8. we had 2 rooms. The rooms were amazing. It was so quiet. we never ever heard anyone or any noise. Very clean. Very nice. The staff was Excellant. Very helpful and very friendly. The pool and hot tubs were very nice after a long day walking. and our kids loved being able to make there own breakfast and choose what they wanted. Overall, Fantastik place to stay. Will most definatly stay here again. and will recommend to all family and friends. Very affordable also and close to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing back for the beautiful view of the mountains. but honestly any room in there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here as a family of four, the room was a good size and layout and was clean and well presented. Serve yourself breakfast included in the price which was fine. The pool and hot tubs were clean and decent temperatures. Good location with free parking so you can walk easily to all of the shops and restaurants that Banff has to offer.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size - we had a ground floor one which meant we had a small space outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brentwood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. It was clean and modern, We walked downtown a couple times. Breakfast bar was ok. I would stay there again. The ice machine was broken and we were told to go next door for ice. That was ok. We were really glad we didnt' stay next door because it smelled musty and was dirty. I do not know the name of that hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel had a lot of hallways and turns in it. i got lost a couple times but it wasn't a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is very close to downtown - 3 blocks. They offer a continental breakfast that for most people works great. The rooms are clean and ours was roomy. Our view was of 2 mountains which was a request that we asked for and they provided. The rates are better than most and affordable. The pool and 2 hot tubs were well maintained. The only concern is the underground parking - if you drive a larger vehicle you are limited to a 6' 1" restriction. Our truck made it by 2 inches - be sure to measure or know your height!
The staff were excellent and very helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and had no issues.

Room Tip: When booking ask for Cascade Mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in one queen room and 1 king room. When we arrived check in was easy, but the king rooms patio door wouldn't lock, so they were moved to another room with a fireplace a Jacuzzi. the queen room was very nice but it had an old a/c that was very loud when turned on and basically didn't work.
I did notice a few of the rooms had the sink on the outside of the bathroom and looked strange, but both our rooms had normal washrooms.
I would recommend getting a room on the backside of the hotel as you can hear every vehicle that drives by on the front (and we were on the third floor).
Breakfast was nice, but it didn't offer any hot food. Just waffles, toast, bagels and cereal. not that, that bothered any of us.
It really is in a great location, maybe a 5 minute walk to the downtown. no one in our group complained about doors slamming all night or people talking as I had previously read. My only complaint would be that we didn't seem to get very many channels on the TV. But overall it was a nice hotel, could use a few upgrades such as the carpets, but the rooms don't look old.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a lovely room with separate kitchen and dining table as well as settee. This was one of the the last rooms left when we called on on the spur of the moment and we suspected other guests had chosen the smaller and I guess cheaper. However,we were thrilled with all the space and the cleanliness as well as the fact it was a short stroll to the centre of the town. I don't think all the suites are the same standard though as were offered another next door when our door key didn't work - and that one, while purporting to be a suite, had no separate sink in the kitchen. So - a good hotel - with a very basic breakfast - but near to the town. Just double check what you are getting when you book.

Room Tip: Check what facilities you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.