We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized rooms, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good sized rooms, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here as a family of four, the room was a good size and layout and was clean and well presented. Serve yourself breakfast included in the price which was fine. The pool and hot tubs were clean and decent temperatures. Good location with free parking so you can walk easily to all of the shops and restaurants that Banff has to offer.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a good size - we had a ground floor one which meant we had a small space outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    86
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
69
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. It was clean and modern, We walked downtown a couple times. Breakfast bar was ok. I would stay there again. The ice machine was broken and we were told to go next door for ice. That was ok. We were really glad we didnt' stay next door because it smelled musty and was dirty. I do not know the name of that hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel had a lot of hallways and turns in it. i got lost a couple times but it wasn't a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is very close to downtown - 3 blocks. They offer a continental breakfast that for most people works great. The rooms are clean and ours was roomy. Our view was of 2 mountains which was a request that we asked for and they provided. The rates are better than most and affordable. The pool and 2 hot tubs were well maintained. The only concern is the underground parking - if you drive a larger vehicle you are limited to a 6' 1" restriction. Our truck made it by 2 inches - be sure to measure or know your height!
The staff were excellent and very helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and had no issues.

Room Tip: When booking ask for Cascade Mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in one queen room and 1 king room. When we arrived check in was easy, but the king rooms patio door wouldn't lock, so they were moved to another room with a fireplace a Jacuzzi. the queen room was very nice but it had an old a/c that was very loud when turned on and basically didn't work.
I did notice a few of the rooms had the sink on the outside of the bathroom and looked strange, but both our rooms had normal washrooms.
I would recommend getting a room on the backside of the hotel as you can hear every vehicle that drives by on the front (and we were on the third floor).
Breakfast was nice, but it didn't offer any hot food. Just waffles, toast, bagels and cereal. not that, that bothered any of us.
It really is in a great location, maybe a 5 minute walk to the downtown. no one in our group complained about doors slamming all night or people talking as I had previously read. My only complaint would be that we didn't seem to get very many channels on the TV. But overall it was a nice hotel, could use a few upgrades such as the carpets, but the rooms don't look old.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a lovely room with separate kitchen and dining table as well as settee. This was one of the the last rooms left when we called on on the spur of the moment and we suspected other guests had chosen the smaller and I guess cheaper. However,we were thrilled with all the space and the cleanliness as well as the fact it was a short stroll to the centre of the town. I don't think all the suites are the same standard though as were offered another next door when our door key didn't work - and that one, while purporting to be a suite, had no separate sink in the kitchen. So - a good hotel - with a very basic breakfast - but near to the town. Just double check what you are getting when you book.

Room Tip: Check what facilities you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a good value hotel, not too far to walk into town, rooms a good size, beds comfortable price fairly reasonable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Does need some TLC however, in our room the kettle was broken, the air con unbearably noisy, and the plumbing in the bathroom was temperamental. For $200 per night, I expect a bit more. It's a good hotel, but needs some investment to get up to 'great'

Room Tip: Check the air con on both low and high settings before you take the room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your great comment.
Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to all our bathrooms. We also recently completed renovations to our pool area, and changed every bed in all our rooms.
Our hotel is getting improved every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This establishment provided everything we needed on our 16 days trip to 3 US national park cabins and 2 Canadian National parks. We were excited to have some modern conveniences, a balcony facing to Banff Ave, TV, WIFI, and a king size bed. The complimentary breakfast was frill free, but okay. The underground free parking was a plus. The staff was courteous and informational.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view according to the desk attentant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the review
I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn. Our staff works very hard to ensure all our guests expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.