We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place - good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 hotels in Banff
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great place - good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a lovely room with separate kitchen and dining table as well as settee. This was one of the the last rooms left when we called on on the spur of the moment and we suspected other guests had chosen the smaller and I guess cheaper. However,we were thrilled with all the space and the cleanliness as well as the fact it was a short stroll to the centre of the town. I don't think all the suites are the same standard though as were offered another next door when our door key didn't work - and that one, while purporting to be a suite, had no separate sink in the kitchen. So - a good hotel - with a very basic breakfast - but near to the town. Just double check what you are getting when you book.

Room Tip: Check what facilities you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a good value hotel, not too far to walk into town, rooms a good size, beds comfortable price fairly reasonable, and the staff friendly and helpful. Does need some TLC however, in our room the kettle was broken, the air con unbearably noisy, and the plumbing in the bathroom was temperamental. For $200 per night, I expect a bit more. It's a good hotel, but needs some investment to get up to 'great'

Room Tip: Check the air con on both low and high settings before you take the room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your great comment.
Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to all our bathrooms. We also recently completed renovations to our pool area, and changed every bed in all our rooms.
Our hotel is getting improved every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This establishment provided everything we needed on our 16 days trip to 3 US national park cabins and 2 Canadian National parks. We were excited to have some modern conveniences, a balcony facing to Banff Ave, TV, WIFI, and a king size bed. The complimentary breakfast was frill free, but okay. The underground free parking was a plus. The staff was courteous and informational.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view according to the desk attentant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the review
I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn. Our staff works very hard to ensure all our guests expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family was originally scheduled to stay in Canmore as a base for our hiking adventure in Banff National Park, but flooding in Calgary made our hotel inaccessible by road, so we were forced to find a last minute hotel in Banff. High Country Inn was the best value we could find at the last minute and it did not disappoint.

We stayed in a suite (two queen beds and another queen murphy bed), which was spacious and gave our family some room to spread out. The room was clean and a good value compared to what else was available in Banff at the time. We also took full advantage of the pool and two hot tubs during our stay. The room and all the common areas were immaculate, and the staff was very helpful with all of our questions.

Plus, the hotel served as the perfect base to explore the area. Banff city centre is only about 3 blocks away, so it was easily accessible with a quick walk, but we did not experience the noise of being right in the centre.

I would absolutely stay here again when I return to Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review

I'm very happy to see that you had a great stay at the High Country Inn despite the unfortunate events that were happening in Alberta at the time. In times like these, it's always good to be able to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel. Upon arrival I received a really nice greeting from reception. Interest was shown in my travels. The rooms were very comfy and clean and excellent value for money. Facilities were above par. Wifi speeds were good and I had a kettle!

It is just a short walk to the centre of Banff and eating recommendations proved excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Banff for one night at the last minute and this hotel was a good find. Good size room, clean a little out of date, nice balcony over looking the mountains. Friendly staff, good value for money included breakfast and in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May, and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a good size, but rather basic - our room was on the ground floor at the front, so the small balcony overlooked the street. It would be worth requesting a quieter room at the back, although with so much to explore in Banff you won't be spending too much time there!
The free breakfasts were a real bonus and were more than adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.