We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suite was a good value in the well-located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Spacious suite was a good value in the well-located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family was originally scheduled to stay in Canmore as a base for our hiking adventure in Banff National Park, but flooding in Calgary made our hotel inaccessible by road, so we were forced to find a last minute hotel in Banff. High Country Inn was the best value we could find at the last minute and it did not disappoint.

We stayed in a suite (two queen beds and another queen murphy bed), which was spacious and gave our family some room to spread out. The room was clean and a good value compared to what else was available in Banff at the time. We also took full advantage of the pool and two hot tubs during our stay. The room and all the common areas were immaculate, and the staff was very helpful with all of our questions.

Plus, the hotel served as the perfect base to explore the area. Banff city centre is only about 3 blocks away, so it was easily accessible with a quick walk, but we did not experience the noise of being right in the centre.

I would absolutely stay here again when I return to Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review

I'm very happy to see that you had a great stay at the High Country Inn despite the unfortunate events that were happening in Alberta at the time. In times like these, it's always good to be able to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel. Upon arrival I received a really nice greeting from reception. Interest was shown in my travels. The rooms were very comfy and clean and excellent value for money. Facilities were above par. Wifi speeds were good and I had a kettle!

It is just a short walk to the centre of Banff and eating recommendations proved excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Banff for one night at the last minute and this hotel was a good find. Good size room, clean a little out of date, nice balcony over looking the mountains. Friendly staff, good value for money included breakfast and in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May, and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a good size, but rather basic - our room was on the ground floor at the front, so the small balcony overlooked the street. It would be worth requesting a quieter room at the back, although with so much to explore in Banff you won't be spending too much time there!
The free breakfasts were a real bonus and were more than adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Quick check in, comfy beds, probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! Everyone in our group experienced a great sleep. Rooms were large, a little dated, had a balcony that was small but was nice to be able to open the door and let the breeze blow in. Room was clean and staff seemed cheerful. The breakfast was descent for a free meal! Had a pool and 2 hot tubs which was nice. For the price and location I'll definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: balcony rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here on June 7 for a staff party booking 12 rooms.. Rooms were spacious & very clean. There is an indoor pool & 2 hot tubs that were very clean & great views out very large windows. We did not have any issues our entire stay. Staff were friendly & always at the desk if we had any questions. Balconies are a great bonus to sit outside & enjoy the mountain air. All 23 people in our group would stay again. Great value & location.

Room Tip: I saw 7 different rooms. All were large with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

HC Inn has one disabled accessible room. In general, furnishing met expectations and staff was friendly. The disabled room has an L-shaped entrance from the hallway which was accessible with a standard 28" wheelchair, however wider wheelchairs, powerchairs might be more challenging.

Washroom has a roll-in shower with a fold-down bench and a handheld shower head within easy reach of the sitting position.

The toilet grab bars are behind and directly beside the toilet, which is useless when one needs a forward hand hold to lift oneself up from a seated position. Overall bathroom size was small, but it does (barely) accommodate a person in a wheelchair and an assistant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.