We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel close to the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Inn to your Saves list
High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel close to the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel looked a bit used but it was very clean, the beds were comfortable. It is close to downtown to walk (5-10min) and to other activities and things to see in the area. We had some difficulties with the shower-- we always had to wait a view minutes (3-5min) until the water had heaten up. We didn´t try the pool area, but it looked very clean. The continental breakfast in the morning was tasty and good and, like the parking, included. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull- we asked for a king size bed just a day befor we arrived and it was no problam at all for them to change- even the reply via email came within 12 hours.
The only thing we had where some young people next door, who slam the doors and srceamed and where very loud way after 1am- but that was the only big noise we heard. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    74
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed for a weekend in March and found it a very nice affordable accommodation in Banff. The beds are very clean and comfortable. The rooms are a decent size as well and all had fridges which is always a plus. The one problem with the room was it was close to the stairwell in the middle of the hallway on the third floor. It was quite noisy about 2:00am when the bars closed and people came back to the hotel. You could hear everyone's conversation on all the floors. Next time I would ask for a room away from the stairs. The pool and hot tubs are nice as well. The pool is not too cold or warm for swimming and the hot tubs are very comfortable. The larger hot tub by the men's change room is warmer then the other but neither were overly warm. Those could be a bit hotter.

Breakfast is included and is great. It was more then the standard continental breakfast. There we're hot items included as well and it was served on real china plates with real cutlery. A nice touch. There's plenty of seating in the breakfast room as well as I had no problem getting in.

Overall I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the middle stairwell as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place was perfect for a weekend getaway! Clean rooms and hospitable service combined with a great continental breakfast provided a wonderful experience for us while in Banff. Walking distance to everything downtown as well!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian L, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over the St. Paddy's day weekend (March 16-17th, 2013).

It's an older hotel, but the rooms were clean and the beds were nice. The room had all expected amenities (big TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker).

The hotel pool was nice and warm, and the double hot tubs meant there was always room to warm up!

The free continental breakfast had a good variety though no hot food items. The included underground parking was handy.

The location on the main street of Banff just a couple blocks away from all the shops, bars, and restaurants was also perfect.

My only complaint would be that the hallways echo and the doors are pretty thin; there were some 3am rowdies that woke us up. On the other hand, I'm guessing that wouldn't happen on non-St. Patrick's Day-weekends!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with doors; some with sliders and screens; some have balconies that aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Michael, thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn. We like hearing positive reviews about our beds (they are all new!), and the room cleanliness; our whole team have been working very hard to achieve a high standard that guests will be happy with. It is an older building, but we are in the process of starting renovations (tackling the bathrooms first). For breakfast we do offer one hot option (waffles); at this point we do not have space in our kitchen to be able to offer other hot options (but we are always brainstorming about what else we can do to add to our breakfast experience).
We would love to have you come stay with us again and enjoy beautiful Banff!

Kind Regards,
Kelly-Ann O'Toole
Assistant GM/Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the High Country Inn on March 30, 2013 in Banff. The lobby was plain but it had some comfortable leather furniture. The hallways were dated but clean. Our hotel room was very clean with a large flat screen tv, mini fridge and coffee maker. The beds were extremely comfortable with duvets. The bathroom looked like it had been partially renovated but the taps were reversed with the H tap being cold water and the C tap being hot water. The pool was okay and there were two hot tubs. There was a continental breakfast but we didn't try it. This is a good hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian L, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the High Country Inn. We just changed all our beds to brand new ones, They are indeed very comfortable! We also just started renovations of all our bathrooms. I hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and that you'll enjoy our rejuvenated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I will start off by saying the only positive thing we experienced, was the location of the room.

I had bought a team buy deal for 79 dollars for the night, thought it was a good deal and why not try it out. I called in January to book our night in March. In February I called again to see if we could upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. I was told by the guy on the phone that he couldn't locate my reservation and looks like it never was booked, he then booked me in, and said it would be 50 bucks extra for the honeymoon suite. I jumped on it and said yes please book me in, he even sent me email confirmaiton stating I was confirmed. I show up at the hotel to check in, and was told they overbooked the honeymoon suite and I couldn't have the room, even though I was booked into it long before. I was then told by a staff member they only had standard rooms, so we had to go into a standard.. I wouldn't have even booked this hotel for this weekend if I knew I wasn't going to be getting a Jacuzzi. When I explained my frustrations, I was told they had 2 hot tubs in the building not to worry.. great.. except I didn't bring a bathing suite because I expected a jacuzzi in my room. Nothing was done to rectify the sitation.

When we got to the room, I was still angry, but the room looked nice... until the partying started at night, and people were smoking pot in the hotel building, and slamming doors and coming in and out of rooms all night. You can hear everything at night, so it was very hard to sleep. Then in the morning we noticed blood on the bottom of the duvet cover.. gross!!! I also found a womans old sports bra lying around beside one of the chairs.

I would only recommend this hotel for a younger crowd, definitely don't stay here with a family or for a romantic weekend.

I also won't be coming to this hotel.. the purpose of offering team buys is to catch new business, and to keep people coming back. A lot of business forget this, and fail completely on the entire purpose of why you put a team buy up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.