We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Girls go Wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Old Girls go Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

For five years 7 of my childhood friends and I travel to Banff and stay at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. There staff are all wonderful from the greeting at the desk to the housekeeping & maintenance staff. The Managers are always happy to help us out. The new family suite is absolutely wonderful and we highly recommend spending the extra. Booked our 4 days for 2011 before we left. They get 5 stars from 8 of us!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
We are so happy that you and your friends continue to choose the Douglas Fir Resort for your girls getaway. Thank you so much for the great feedback. Our New Family Suites have been very popular for occasions such as yours! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    301
    102
    34
    17
See reviews for
459
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband, ten year old boy and myself just spent the weekend at the Douglas Fir. To tell you the truth we like our luxury when it comes to trips and I was pretty scared about staying at the resort but just put it down to our kind of "camping". The pictures on the website DO NOT do this place justice. Our room was so clean (and I'm travelling with 2 germaphobes!!) and it was a pet friendly room. The kitchen had everything you could want for a couple of nights and we enjoyed making breakfast in the morning. My son really enjoyed the video games room and the air hockey table and pool table. We will certainly return to this resort either as a couple or with our son as it fits both lifestyles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
We are so glad that you decided to give our Resort a try! It is great to hear that our standards of cleanliness are noticed and that your son enjoyed the extra activities on site. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to be your hosts again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010 via mobile

Douglas Fir Resort is the gem of the Rockies. It is small enough and rustic enough to give you a cabin feel however the resort is full of amenities that your family will love. The kids love the watersides and the playcentre is huge and loads of fun and after all the fun is over the rooms have the coziness of a wood burning fireplace along with easy hookups to kids gaming system' a DVD player or hookup to your computer or iPod for movies. This is our favorite place in Banff as it really does have it all.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
It sounds like you had a fantastic stay! Thank you so much for your great comments. The "plug and play panels" in all of our rooms are new and it is great to hear that they came in handy for your family to enjoy. We hope to be your hosts again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We had two nights at Douglas Fir and wish we could have stayed longer. We had booked a Loft in lodge room, but were upgraded at no extra cost to a One Bedroom Condo (giving us two separate bedrooms -kids upstairs, adults downstairs) with goodies in the fridge for breakfast! What a nice surprise. The kids loved the Waterslide (I see it is about to have some renovations - I was a little concerned about the slippery tiles and wet concrete on stairs). They also liked the Playzone (with nice touches like the newspaper placed down there by 8am for parents!) We have paid similiar amounts in other cities for much smaller spaces without the added bonuses like elk and deer at the doorstep, a kitchen, coat hanging area, one and a half bathrooms etc etc. My only criticism of the room would be the fireplace which we used -it didn't draw very well and we managed to set off the smoke detector!! Fantastic place to stay for a week to make good use of all the facilities without missing all the beauty of Banff and surrounds!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We chose the Douglas Fir based on what I'd read here and we were steered right! Our room was great - we got a good deal on a one bedroom condo. It was great for the kitchen and because my husband and I could hang out after the baby went to sleep. Everything was clean, everything worked, the kitchen was well equipped. The small grocery store at the resort was well stocked and we got most of what we needed there for the weekend. We didn't make it into the swimming pool that weekend, but we went to the indoor playground every day which my 2 year old son adored. We even enjoyed climbing around in it!

The location was great. Across one street is a hostel which has a nice little restaurant. We had dinner and breakfast there and the staff were very sweet and friendly and the food was good. Across the other street is another resort with a high end restaurant. It was beautiful and the food was outstanding. And it was easy to take the bus into town as the stop was right in front of the resort.

This resort would be perfect for any length stay for any age group.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed from Oct. 8-11! It was a perfect family Thanksgiving getaway. We travelled with 2 children, 1 teen, Grandma, Grandpa, and Uncle. There was more then enough room for all of us in the Mt. Rundle Lodge.

The customer service was outstanding and so were all the facilities! I would go back :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed with my family in this hotel based on a recommendation of one of my colleagues. Honestly, I liked it. The kids enjoyed the indoor waterslides and playground zone. The condo we rented had everything we wanted. The front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.