We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While this "resort" is in a central location, it is in dire need of an update. The "fully stocked kitchen" had several plates and bowls but only bare minimum cutlery, a couple of small glasses, knives that wouldn't cut butter, no pan to cook anything in the oven and a cracked kettle. Cupboard door hanging off the hinges, burns and damage to the counter, and a bed in need of a new mattress. The free wifi lasted for maybe two minutes at a time, when it actually came in. Two days in a row our room got missed by housekeeping, despite having the Please Clean Room sign on the door. Front desk staff was neither welcoming or friendly. We would not stay there again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    334
    120
    52
    25
See reviews for
517
116
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WETASKIWIN
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this resort many times and are happy with the rustic cozy accommodations that are a little overdue for a renovation. During this visit we experienced sporadic maid service - we had to call one day in the later afternoon (5:00 p.m.) to get supplies replenished but no cleaning was done. On our last night a rowdy group of partiers were rented a chalet 2 doors down. At 3:00 a.m. we called to have the situation dealt with which took security over an hour. When we checked out in the morning there was no interest in how our stay was and no offer of restitution for a sleepless night was offered. We understand that things happen but the staff acted like that was what we should expect during the busy season. We have traditionally enjoyed the Douglas Fir for all the amenities it has for our young daughter but the service was so lacking that we may consider a hotel in town next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort in August. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was not fancy, but the room was very comfy and we had a large TV and a gas fireplace which was nice on a cold rainy day. We used the breakfast deal which was fantastic! We cooked breakfast three days, one dinner and had cereal for another hotel later. The hotel was within walking distance from downtown and there was a shuttle as well.

One thing to note is that the hotel says that check in is at 4:00. They mean it.

We would definitely stay there again!

Bruce and Janet B.

Room Tip: Plan on checking in at 4:00.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was quite dated with a noisy refrigerator and a full size bed, but the location was good. Nice views and, if you have kids, they will probably LOVE the indoor pool and slide! If you are in town to hike and spend the day outdoors and are only at Douglas Fir for sleeping, this place is just right.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fun for a rocky mountain visit. Two water slides for the kids and a hot tub for the adults. A play area for little tikes too. Rooms are very nice with a stove dish washer with the dishes. Comfy beds and all. All close to downtown fun and the gondola. Loved it! :)

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the suites really charming. We stayed for 2 nights and got the breakfast package included. It was enough for 2 breakfasts. We found the on-site water attractions and indoor play area to be awesome and extremely useful to keep our young one happy and contented.
Overall, the price per room is on the higher side, but with the awesome amenities and charming place, we would most certainly recommend this to anyone going to Banff.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I love Banff and have stayed at Douglas Fir before and will stay there again. Yes the suites are very much dated and pricey but for us, it was the peace and quiet we wanted. Away from the crowds. One thing is nice is the bus that you can grab to head to downtown and back. Our suite was ground level and looking into the trees and mountains behind. Wonderful to just walk out the door and on the hiking trails. One comment made by another person was the WiFi was on and off. However, we went there to get away from the electronics and just enjoy the great outdoors the area has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for suites along the tree line. That way you can sit outside on the patio and just look into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#14 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.