We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for families with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here once or twice a year for the last few years. We live in Calgary, so it's a nice getaway that's not too far away.
The staff are friendly, but not overly helpful. We often have a lot of stuff and no one ever offers to help us or go grab a trolley to make things easier.
The place is rustic, which we like, but last time we had a mouse in our room. After we complained, they moved us to another room, but offered little in the way of apologies. It's a rustic hotel out in the mountains. We get it and frankly, the charm of it outweights any uncomfortableness we may experience from little furry critters in our room. It's nice that we can bring and cook our own food and that there is plenty for our kids to do. The water slides and playplace are great for kids 8 and under.
It can get a little noisy with kids and I wish they were better able to separate those guests who are there to enjoy peace and quiet from those of us that are constantly coming and going with kids. Last time we ran into a couple who was not happy that there were kids on the room next door. This has happened a few times. Perhaps my kids, and the families we usually travel with are just noisier than average.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    325
    111
    42
    25
See reviews for
492
111
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is a run down hotel with overpriced room cost. We arrived on a relatively warm day for the area and when we checked in the temperature inside was 84 degrees. Luckily we left on a trip and came back after 5 hours. And even at that point the temperature could not go below 77 degrees. The maintenance team indicated that it will not get better and suggested go turn off the lights. On top of this the bedroom fan was not working and we had the option to get if working only when the light is on meaning cannot get it to run at night. I would expect it from a low level motel not from a $360 a night resort. My bad on making the mistake to stay in this hotel. Adding to that a very unpleasant front desk team with lack any knowledge of the local attractions and was not even aware of some of the locations we visited or even the weather forecast for the next day. And to top it all the "free WiFi" constantly disconnects so assume NO WiFi. Highly recommend to stay away from this hotel, I know I will.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We took advantage of the promotion of the two mean deal which included a
$40 restaurant food voucher good for a number of restaurants on Banff. Breakfast food items were supplied as the unit came with a fully equipped kitchen. These grocery items included: 1 doz eggs, 340 grams of bacon, 2 litres of milk, cream for coffee, loaf of bread, stick of butter, 8 pack of variety mini cereals. We had a very enjoyable stay in Banff and the unit was clean and well equipped with dvd player, hdmi cable to hook up a computer or iPad to view netflix, Would highly recommend this resort. Front desk personnel could have been a bit friendlier.

Room Tip: requested a room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort in Banff. The functionality of the Loft suite was wonderful, but once you are trying to sleep you hear ABSOLUTELY everything from your neighbours, across the hall, 2 doors down, next door - EVERYONE! We had a wake up from screaming kids at 6:30am from across the hall even!! Then the next night a family checked in at 11:30PM and we were awoken by a crying baby until approximately 12:30am. We have a little girl ourselves and understand that it is hard to travel with a young one, but to be able to hear a full conversation is ridiculous. It was not worth half of the cost they are charging for the Loft Suites. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the lofts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall good experience, the place needs a little love, care and cleaning. Staff was friendly and helpful but I don't think it measures up to what a place in Banff national park should be like. I'd give it a half a star more if Trip Advisor allowed that option.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel section, though chalets are available. We found the room a good size, small kitchenette area included. Easy to get into Banff with a bus ride or a very short ( less than 5 minute) drive. There is a small grocery store, liquor store, and pool onsite. Beautiful carvings are everywhere onsite as well. Very enjoyable. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I found our stay to be over priced!!! Our loft was not clean at all. We found dead flies all over our windows. The beds had huge dents in them. The rugs were very dirty. It was great to have a pool and water slide however you had to travel through the parkade to get any where in the hotel. Very out dated. The staff were not helpful. Our loft wasn't cleaned the whole time we stayed. (Four days) upon speaking with the supervisor about the issues we had her response was that we are a hotel for the amendes? We had a baby with us? My thoughts would be that you should at least have clean rooms! I was given no discount or apology for my stay! I will not be returning! What a waste of our money. If you are thinking of stay at this hotel DON'T!!

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate the feedback it is very helpful in helping me to improve or services and training. I apologize to you for the treatment you received while you were a guest and I will definitely be talking the my staff to ensure this does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.