We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is kept up nicely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Everything is kept up nicely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Although I stayed in the same chalet 20 years ago, the room is in as good a shape as back then. Had the "make your own breakfast" package and the eggs, bacon, juice, bread, and milk was nice to have already in the room at check in. They have added a large outdoor hot tub with lots of seating room. Great place for kids. It is within hiking distance of the downtown core and it is downhill. Bus or taxi (less than $10) back is not a problem. It remains a favorite place to stay and is among the lowest cost (despite the comforts) especially if you have more than 2 adults in a room. Wifi was painfully slow at a number of different times (early morning, evening, afternoon).

Room Tip: The chalets are nice and I have never heard neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    321
    110
    41
    23
See reviews for
487
109
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It had been years since we stayed at this well known resort and were disappointed in its run down state. While the water-slide and children's play areas are nice features, they failed to compensate for the dilapidated yet expensive accommodations. We purposely booked months ago for our large family group of 24 ages 1 to 88 years specifying the need to be conveniently close together yet found our 8 units scattered throughout the large complex. We booked the Executive Suite at a cost of $457/night!! as a gathering place. To our surprise, it is on the 2nd floor up 2 flights of stairs above the lobby...with no lift...challenging for young and old alike!! The staff called to see if everything met with our approval but I'm not sure why?? He did not want to hear our concerns and assured us there was nothing he could do about it. Despite the dismal accommodations, the company was great and beauty of Banff spectacular as always!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the second time we stayed here, once as a family and once as a couple. Both times were great. There is beautiful scenery, as well as wildlife roaming through the resort. Very much a nice cabin feel, wood fire place, everything you need to stay for night, week, or month. I don't think you will be disappointed with your stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in a one bedroom chalet. Loved it!!! It was quaint and perfect for us. Had a wood burning fireplace, a balcony, and a kitchen with all the needed equipment, utensils and such. The bedroom had a queen size bed and we were able to fit our playpen in it. The living room had a fair sized couch and a double sized Murphy bed. There were 2 TVs. The main TV had a DVD player, and a set up for games, laptop or other things. The indoor playground was big and awesome for the kids. There was a nice swimming pool with a whirlpool. Two water slides with an indoor and outdoor hot tub and a toddler pool. Towels were available at the slides and pool. We had the breakfast deal which included eggs, milk, juice, bacon, coffee, bread and cereal in the room. Was nice to have a full kitchen as we had breakfast there every morning. There is a small general store that also serves great ice cream. Location to all the shops is great as it is minutes away by car (or use public transit - passes provided). The view is excellent as the mountains are all around you. Would definitely stay there again without any hesitation. The only complaint was slow internet connection.

Room Tip: choose the chalets away from the front and away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review we are so happy that you Loved the Douglas Fir and had a great time.
We are working on a solution for our WiFi and hope to have better internet service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was there for a leg of honeymoon. Absolutely loved our stay. Our own fireplace was a key with kitchenette as well. Staff were super helpful. Was really nice to see families to other honeymooners. Never had a single issue! Definitely worth every penny. We had an issue with a blizzard and possibly having a cancelled flight due to it and the resort offered a room to us for no extra due to the complication of airline travels and if the flight would have been cancelled, we would have jumped at another night. Lots of activities around for kids and near by the village for other things to do. Very clean in the facilities and smelt great. Can't beat the fresh fireplace kind of smell

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We are happy that we could be a part of your honeymoon experience.We look forward to your next visit (maybe on your anniversary).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Winton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During our recent stay at the Douglas Fir in Banff, Alberta, Canada we enjoyed a very good stay at the hotel. It started off rough with a glitch in the room's safe; however; it was corrected by staff. Our reception was quick and our room was available and ready as ordered. Staff were very friendly and the room and amenities were very good. Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a chalet and a taste of the rockies while visiting Banff, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am glad that our staff were able to correct all your issues quickly and that you enjoyed your stay.Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Still has wood burning rooms available. Water slide park and interior playground are great for the kids. Outdoor hot tub is a nice new addition. Not too mention location on Tunnel mountain has beautiful views. Been going for years frequently.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms, 1 bedroom and 1 bedroom lofts are highly recommended. If you want wood burning fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasFir007, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your children had fun on the water slides and in the play zone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.