We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Group” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Fort Saskatchewan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for a Group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good place for families/groups but pricey if you're just a couple. It's away from the downtown action but they do provide complimentary bus passes. The water slides are a hit for the kids. Plan on doing your own cooking as there is no restaurant on site.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    308
    109
    39
    23
See reviews for
473
107
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I dont know where to begin with my disappointment with this place. From the low ceiling rooms to the funky smell when i walked in to our 1 bedroom suite to the freezing cold bedroom and cooking hot living area this place just showed one disappointment after another. And i wont get started with the lack of parking and the fact they called me 3 times at night 10pm to move my truck forcing me to park on the street a block away...ridiculous! Punish the paying customers who pay for their room and stall and let others just park where they want. They obviously think they can make up for it with a water slide luring the sicker hockey families in for 250 night. Other families with ours complained about their rooms not being cleaned and even dirty things being left behind in their rooms.

As I said before never again. Save yourself the money and pay the 10 bucks entry for the water slide without having to pay the 250 bucks for the pain of everything else.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a kid I always stayed at this hotel and it's just not as great as it used to be. We stayed in a studio room that I didn't realize at booking meant it was not the cabin like rooms and being that I paid around $200 a night I was disappointed. The bed was absolutely terrible one of the worse sleeps I've had in a hotel room. The Internet is slow and the pool is usually overflowing with people. The rooms do have a decent view, but the sliding doors do not lock and when we were out one night someone came into our room through the doors, we noticed when we got back our curtains and door was left open and we had left our room around 10pm and returned after midnight and it was like this. Luckily they didn't take anything, I'm thinking they just thought it was their room and realized it wasn't and left. Not somewhere is will stay again unfortunately.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good place to take the family. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The decor is rustic with wood paneled walls and stone-face fireplaces. Nice view of the mountains. Lots for the family to do at the hotel and around town. The in-room DVD player and connections for game consoles is a good idea.

The indoor playground is awesome! The kids had fun.

There were some little problems that stacked-up to drop our rating of this hotel:
- The wi-fi is brutally slow and drops out often. It's hard to watch kids movies online with a connection that is worse than dial-up.
- No towels in the pool (there is supposed to be). All the towel racks were bare. We had to go to the lobby to ask for towels after we were already changed.
- There was paper, matches and firewood in the room for us. Very nice!...but no kindling. It's tough to start a fire with no kindling. Do it right or don't do it at all.
- The clock radio in the bedroom didn't work.
- They changed all the water in the waterpark hot tubs on the same day. There was no warning that the hot tubs would be ICE cold! It's a good thing nobody jumped in.

A good place but be prepared for some annoying little problems.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta,canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Chose this place on the basis that we were traveling with kids and the waterslides on site. They really are the perk to this property and included with your stay. The outdoor hot tub needed the water temp turned up, the hot tubs inside were much hotter. We had a one bedroom condo that had a full kitchen, separate bedroom and murphy bed in the living room. This bed was not the easiest to use as you had to move the couch to get at it which is not ideal. On request there was a playpen in our room when we arrived.The wood burning fire place is a nice cozy touch and the room we had looked over a forested area. The place itself is in need of some reno's, stuff is old and a bit battered up but it was clean (mostly except the couch cushions were not!) The size of this place is nice because with a family of four we were not all crammed like in your typical hotel room. Added bonus of this location is the fact there is a small general store on site, a liquor store and a bank machine. I would say this is a good place to stay with kids but not a place to go for a romantic getaway. The cost for one night was a bit extreme but it is Banff after all!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We spent our tenth anniversary here in one of the Jacuzzi suites. With the wood-burning fireplace, it was a quiet, romantic stay. We went back to Banff with my parents and stayed here again. The free bus to and from downtown is a life saver. No driving required after you check in. Ask for a mountain view, you won't be disappointed. The rooms are rustic and charming and there is a convenience store on site for things you forgot. It's expensive though. I would also recommend going to town to eat (Magpie and Stump is my favorite) because the closest restaurant is in a neighbouring resort and is not that good. Finally, there are numerous hiking trails around the resort, but be aware of wildlife signage as bears are frequently sighted.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We had a one bedroom loft townhome type accomodation. The kitchen was well equipped and we all found the beds comfortable. Appreciated the fireplace and the space to spread out. It was really cold while we were there so we noticed it chilly by the large patio doors. We had to wrap up in blankets if we were sitting on the couch. The other spaces in the apartment though were fine. I thought the bus passes were very helpful and made it easy to get into town. The space was clean and housekeeping was very attentive. For a group, this is a good place to stay. I would though figure out how to get a unit in the main building because the main building has heated parking. The townhouses/chalets are just outside parking. Note that the wifi was poor.

Room Tip: Heated parking only available in main building units. Doubt there is a poor room/unit anywhere here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.