We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Banff Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Banff Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent our tenth anniversary here in one of the Jacuzzi suites. With the wood-burning fireplace, it was a quiet, romantic stay. We went back to Banff with my parents and stayed here again. The free bus to and from downtown is a life saver. No driving required after you check in. Ask for a mountain view, you won't be disappointed. The rooms are rustic and charming and there is a convenience store on site for things you forgot. It's expensive though. I would also recommend going to town to eat (Magpie and Stump is my favorite) because the closest restaurant is in a neighbouring resort and is not that good. Finally, there are numerous hiking trails around the resort, but be aware of wildlife signage as bears are frequently sighted.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    308
    106
    38
    22
See reviews for
470
107
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a one bedroom loft townhome type accomodation. The kitchen was well equipped and we all found the beds comfortable. Appreciated the fireplace and the space to spread out. It was really cold while we were there so we noticed it chilly by the large patio doors. We had to wrap up in blankets if we were sitting on the couch. The other spaces in the apartment though were fine. I thought the bus passes were very helpful and made it easy to get into town. The space was clean and housekeeping was very attentive. For a group, this is a good place to stay. I would though figure out how to get a unit in the main building because the main building has heated parking. The townhouses/chalets are just outside parking. Note that the wifi was poor.

Room Tip: Heated parking only available in main building units. Doubt there is a poor room/unit anywhere here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location and price point. The wood burning fireplaces are a nice touch. Kitchens are small and the rooms could use some upkeep/renovations. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is a problem, especially if somebody parks in your spot. WiFi is spotty if that is something you need.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three days and did enjoy our stay. Banff is so beautiful. Unfortunately when we checked out one of our daughters forgot to pack her moccasins. Upon contacting the establishment I was told they couldn't find them. This was very disappointing and will definitely impact where we stay next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where can beat Tunnel Mountain views? That was wonderful. As was the wood-burning fireplace in our one-bed condo. However, our experience was not all great. We rented a one bed condo with a bed in the living room in case family or friends wanted to join us for any of the 3 nights we were there. They only came for meals and that was good, because the bed was a murphy bed that you had to move the couch and coffee table to open and there was no room to move them! The room with the kitchenette was nice, but will need updating soon. The fireplace was great but smoke backed up a bit which usually means it needs cleaning. We booked for the outdoor hottub, but it was only accessible through the waterslide area and the changing rooms. The changing rooms were like human petri dishes - disgusting! The waterslide area was super noisy and was open to the games area with a pool table, air hockey and foosball. We thought if they had a separate games area, it would be much more enjoyable. We tried the waterslides, but given the hygiene in the changerooms, questioned the bacteria levels in the pool. Staff were very friendly, but wonder if management is cheaping out on cleaning staff and maintenance. We'll go back to Tunnel Mountain, but another property.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property look onto the forest and we saw deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Their sign, website and front desk all say the waterslides are open until 10 on Saturdays - we showed up at 8:30 and was asked if we were "public" when we said yes we were told they were closed. When I pointed out the sign, the other swimmers I was told sorry we've done our cash out - very disappointed childen. We visit Banff several times a year - won't be staying here

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Douglas Fir Resort on several occasions over the past 25 years. This was our first return with daughter’s family and grandchildren.

The resort is very child friendly with an indoor waterside, a pool with hot-tub as well as an outdoor heated pool. There is also a very large child activity area with padded Jungle Jim that is quite new.

The condo units have never been renovated since they were built. furniture is basic and Ikea quality and the kitchen is small but they provided basic pans and utensils and a dishwasher. I think we had a new dishwasher as they had forgotten to install the retaining screws and the whole unit fell over when the door was opened. This was a low end unit as it was so noisy when operating that normal conversation was impossible. The beds are comfortable with pillow top mattresses.

The front desk was very accommodating and had the dishwasher fixed promptly.

There ware 3 flat screens in the 1 bedroom loft unit with an extensive selection of cable channels. The internet was totally inadequate with very slow speed and narrow band width, It would take 5 minutes to open a webpage or just have it time out.. Daily maid service is provided but one they arrived at 5 pm to clean the unit just as we were making supper.

The units are very drafty in winter as the heating system is poorly designed with all the vents on the inner walls so the cold seeps in from all the windows and doors.

The units are adequate for families with younger children as base for exploring the region but there are many more comfortable but similarly priced options for couples or families with teenage children in the Banff and Canmore area

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newest portion of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.