We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Black Diamond, Canada
1 review
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family was in Banff for my sons wedding and we stayed in one of the family suites. It easily accommodated 10 people with out feeling like you are on top of each other! I recommend it for anyone for a weekend get away so you can all stay together! The staff is great and very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    300
    102
    34
    17
See reviews for
458
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To start off this review, this hotel is a great place for families with kids... We were not a family with kids, we rented an "A" frame chalet, it was quite expensive but a neat experience and lots of room. The hot tub in the evening was too full of children to enjoy as a group of young adults but the free bus pass allowed us to leave and go down town.


Overall a nice older hotel with fun water slides and big rooms... For families.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like many of the lodges in Jasper, this place is dated. The decor, and especially the kitchen, were a blast from the past. That being said, WHO CARES! We stayed in a studio condo. Even though there is some sort of store on the campus, these people actually stocked the kitchen with breakfast staple foods! The room was huuuge, and had a fairly private patio (a fenced in place to go outside and watch stars). Waking up to that mountain view is heaven!
Of note, when arriving, we saw 5 kids going into the room next to us, and didn't hear a thing once they got in the door. Peace!
We had fun in the little waterpark and enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. Super short drive to town, but they also offer free bus passes and the stop's directly across the street.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having the little Kitchenette was nice because or daughter likes to wake up slowly and the usual trick of cooking bacon to get everybody's taste buds going worked like a charm. Much better than getting ready to head to a resaurant for breakfast.
We also had a small herd of caribou right outside our balcony one day eating grass which was fun for us but really exciting for our daughter. The crackling fireplace really added to the mountain experience.

One negative: the hot tub wasn't hot enough

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in bachelor's suite in August 2014. It is one big room which is comfortable for a couple. It comes with a fully-furnished kitchen which was very convenient to use and a private bathroom. We had everything we needed and a helpful staff. The room was clean and the furnishing were basic. The bed was OK and the linens were not very thick. The lighting in the room was not very good. There is a grocery store (not the same owners) right next to the resort which is very convenient as well as laundry facilities. There is also free WIFI.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect place if you're staying with small children. We stay here every time we go to Banff for our Snowboarding trips and recently a stagette!
Rooms are a bit dated but it suits the rustic/cabin-like feel for the presence of the hotel.
Inside the lodge, we've stayed in the loft rooms where all the action is downstairs and the sleeping area is upstairs. The outdoor cabins are same idea just without stairs. We like them both, but prefer the outdoor rooms as it adds to the experience.
Waterslides and hot tubs with hotel access makes a great wind down or start up your day for our family, especially on the cold winter days. Kids Play zone is a great place as well where kids can go nuts and parents can relax for a bit.
The free WiFi doesn't work all that well in any room we've stayed in.
Will stay here again and again and again until the kids get bored of it. :)
Highly recommended for families with young ones.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yuck so disappointed after riding seven hours in the rain on a motorcycle...Craving a steam shower as advertised sauna and hot tub...no steam shower..sauna was room trip and hot tub full of children and so tepid and had no jets. Mildew carpet..double ugh.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.