We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Banff
Jerusalem
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in bachelor's suite in August 2014. It is one big room which is comfortable for a couple. It comes with a fully-furnished kitchen which was very convenient to use and a private bathroom. We had everything we needed and a helpful staff. The room was clean and the furnishing were basic. The bed was OK and the linens were not very thick. The lighting in the room was not very good. There is a grocery store (not the same owners) right next to the resort which is very convenient as well as laundry facilities. There is also free WIFI.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    298
    102
    34
    17
See reviews for
456
102
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Perfect place if you're staying with small children. We stay here every time we go to Banff for our Snowboarding trips and recently a stagette!
Rooms are a bit dated but it suits the rustic/cabin-like feel for the presence of the hotel.
Inside the lodge, we've stayed in the loft rooms where all the action is downstairs and the sleeping area is upstairs. The outdoor cabins are same idea just without stairs. We like them both, but prefer the outdoor rooms as it adds to the experience.
Waterslides and hot tubs with hotel access makes a great wind down or start up your day for our family, especially on the cold winter days. Kids Play zone is a great place as well where kids can go nuts and parents can relax for a bit.
The free WiFi doesn't work all that well in any room we've stayed in.
Will stay here again and again and again until the kids get bored of it. :)
Highly recommended for families with young ones.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Yuck so disappointed after riding seven hours in the rain on a motorcycle...Craving a steam shower as advertised sauna and hot tub...no steam shower..sauna was room trip and hot tub full of children and so tepid and had no jets. Mildew carpet..double ugh.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We (spouse and 2 kids and family) stayed at DFR for 6 nights in early August. We stayed in the executive suite in the older main building. As some have noted furnishings are older and scraped a bit, but we quickly accepted this as the spaces and recreational facilities (which grandkids loved!) met so well our needs. The dining area table expanded easily to seat 9 of us, LR adequate. The AC was minimal in the LR and non-existant in the BR but the overhead fan made us comfortable enough. Deck for this unit has a busy street and mountain view. Staff great. Kids each stayed in loft condos and were quite pleased too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort was nice. Te waterslides were conveniently located by the cabins. They had lots of firewood and were never low. The pool was great. I loved how they had a waterslide and hot tub, and a seperate pool and hot tub. The place was quiet, and the kitchens were nice. It was very cozy. I would reccomend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here MANY times in almost all of the different condo/room types. This last trip was made better by a few improvements that the hotel is making.
They have added a new, large outdoor hot tub area to the water park, which is awesome because the temperature in the hot tub inside the water park was always lukewarm at best. This also gets you away from the screaming of kids on the water slides if you came to relax.
They have FINALLY replaced the mattresses on the Murphy beds, so no more springs sticking into your back. The mattresses are still very firm, but at least they are new.
The condo this time was exceptionally clean, and the front desk called me to make sure it was up to my standards, which scored big brownie points for customer service in my eyes.
The change rooms to the guest pools have also been re-tiled and painted nicely.
Overall, I feel like the Douglas Fir is listening to their customers and is working hard to improve.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second time staying at the Douglas fir. Although the 'resort' was fantastic, awesome indoor park, waterslides' kitchenette our room was directly over the parkade door (rm 303). It did wake our baby a few times arms the constant headlights in our room also kept us awake. Too bad it really is a great hotel, just room location was not so great.

Room Tip: Ask to not be over the garage door to the parkade, it is VERY loud. Especially if you are travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.