We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Banff
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Took the kids on a week long trip through Alberta and started with Banff.

Douglas Fir offers a nice locale, comfortable room / suite for our family and the water slides were a huge hit, as was the outside hot tub. Nothing excessive but good value for money. Think the kids would love to go back and waterside again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    294
    100
    34
    16
See reviews for
451
101
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Procrastinated making reservations for our one night stay in Banff and found this as one of the few places to accommodate our 5 person family in one room/suite. The rooms were fairly dated, but clean and we slept comfortably. I was a bit concerned about noise while observing some of the younger local crowd arriving with cases of beer, but really didn't hear anything. The second bathroom and loft for the kids were nice. The kids had a lot of fun in the indoor water park. The hotel is on a bus route to town and passes are provided, but we ended up walking into town, which is a bit of a hike, but not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've stayed at the Douglas Fir before, and what we remembered was the same - comfortable, relatively spacious room w/ the best-stocked kitchen anywhere, and away from the insanity that is known as the Banff townsite (we didn't come here to eat out or shop! We came here to hike & explore). Whether or not the furnishings are "dated" is of little importance to us. We just want a quiet place to stay & to be able to do our own meal prep. The kitchen was awesome. Here are some issues:
* We had a mouse.
* Never could figure out a/c
* Employees smoking on ground floor under our window (we like to keep the windows open, especially w/ weird a/c)

Staff did place a mousetrap, but I would have preferred a no-kill option. Mouse never came back; trap never triggered (thankfully).
When asked if there was another room, staff advised us that this was a really good room (it was at the end of the hall!). No offer to help move us to the other room (after unpacking 2 coolers & 3 grocery bags).
When asked how everything was at check-out, I told them about the mouse, & was advised that this is a national park & we're in the forest. No compensation offered. Honestly, we've stayed in nat'l park concessions for over 10 years and have never had a mouse problem. It's not a nat'l park issue, it's a hotel issue. And, isn't killing wildlife in a nat'l park illegal? (upon which I was advised that mice aren't wildlife. I'm sorry, but if they were outside, they would be)
I would like to say that I would stay here again, but unless they resolve the mouse issue, I'm just not sure... Overall, it was a good enough stay, but enough to prompt me to write my first Trip Advisor review.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for 3 nights. The facilities are old and somewhat dirty. Housekeeping service was poor. At 5 p.m. both days, the chalet was still not cleaned up and we have to call the reception to request for the housekeeping service. The quality of the service and the chalet condition don't worth for the price paid for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Though I've been to Banff many times, this is the first time we've stayed at the Douglas Fir. We had a one bedroom condo with loft suite with the 'make your own breakfast' package (included bacon, eggs, bread, milk, butter - all waiting for us in the fridge at our suite upon our arrival.) The hotel staff were very friendly and polite upon check in and check out; the suite was very spacious (the kids loved the loft with their own tv!) and very clean. Highlight of the hotel was the waterslides and pool! Fantastic facilities and again, very well operated and clean.
The hotel is situated on beautiful Tunnel Mountain surrounded by lush trees and walking paths. I liked the fact that it was not on the main drag - the location of this hotel is so quiet and tranquil. We are already planning our next stay in Banff and it will definately be at the Douglas Fir Resort!

Room Tip: If you have kids old enough that would appreciate their own space, the rooms with the lofts are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family has stayed here numerous times since the early 80s. It's a great location, with tons to do if you have kids. We stayed in one of the cabin units, with the loft. They are dated, but clean, except the carpet - our socks were dirty after walking on it. The kitchen was well stocked. The waterslide area has been nicely updated, with the added outdoor hot tub area. The hot tub was nice, but the water wasn't hot and the jets were terrible, with barely any pressure. The indoor pool area could use an reno, especially the hot tub. Overall, still a very nice place to stay if you have kids. For adults, I'd pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been here a few times. We try to come here every winter with the family. We always rent a cabin and love it. The cabins are a short walk to the pool with slides. They have plenty of complimentary firewood so you're never need to worry about running out or paying.

They are located basically in walking distance to downtown. Slight uphill walk back but the scenery is worth it. Deer and moose are natural sighting, even up to the front door of the cabin. Parking is free. The cabin is well equipped and our family never complains while there.

It truly is a relaxing and wonderful place to stay. Prices are ok. Reserve ahead of time and see if there are deals for renting a cabin because they are more expensive than the usual rooms.

We have absolutely no issues or complaints at all. We love it here and wouldn't consider any other place while staying in Banff. Great staff, good rates, amazing accommodations, makes us loyal travelers.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.