We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We are a family of 5 and with 3 boys this place was amazing. Fun water park which we spent most of our time at and a great play area while looking at an amazing view of mountains all around! A nice old school fire place in the room was terrific. Had a great weekend. Breakfast package was the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    304
    104
    36
    20
See reviews for
464
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Yes the rooms are outdated but it was clean. The kitchen had all the tools you need to make simple meal, I like that we had a fool fridge and stove I have two teenagers (4 kids) they eat a lot! We had a room for 6 but if you count the sofa bead there is room for 8 so a lot of space. We loved the fire place the hotel provides the wood. There is also two watersides, two hot tubs, a pool, game room and a grocery store right in the resort! Well go back the kids had a grate time and for us it was what mater the most.

Room Tip: Don't look at the decor it is fun with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Douglas Fir for 3 nights in December 2013. We enjoyed our stay. Very peaceful and quiet. Loved the fireplace. We sat in front of the fire every evening. The resort supplies all the firewood you need.
The rooms are somewhat dated but too badly. Its nice to have a kitchen to make some of our own meals. The hotel supplied some breakfast food which was nice.
Its nice to have a pool and hot tub to use at the hotel.
Our room backed onto the woods and could often see wildlife wandering by.
All in all, it's a good hotel and will be returning at least once a year

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Last saturday we had a break in into our room from a staff member. He treat us very bad and threat us with the police. I called today to complain, but the lady wasn't very nice either. She just protect her staff and she believed in his version. Don't go there, for that price you can get a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Fit 7 people comfortably, had wifi and cable, a little shop, water slide, fitness centre, barbecue . Furniture was quite outdated and wasn't in the best shape. Otherwise didn't matter too much since we were in town most of the time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta ca or london uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I have had two stays at the Douglas Fir chalets and the second time round in winter with young under fives. I think that the indoor playpen is great, a brilliant facility that the kids enjoy. The pools are good too. Tunnel mountain is a wonderful location and the huge side wall of Mt Rundle is incredible.
the downside to this is the accommodation. it is really over priced for what you get. In dire need of renovation, really shabby and spartan, not attractive even in color scheme which would be easy to change. Te kitchen is not stocked with very much, no wooden spoons, rubbish cheese grater, we bought all our own knives after our last visit. No room in kitchen except just one person, very cramped. Also, we had two bedrooms upstairs with single beds and our double bed downstairs. Needlessly to say the kids woke up a lot so we needed up Having to sleep up stairs in single beds!

Another aesthetic nightmare is the labyrinth inside the main building, it's horrible!

They should close one winter and really update, refresh and open up the buildings.

Overall, great facilties available but they are resting their laurels on that. I have stayed over the road at the Hidden Ridge twice and the accommodation is incredible. I chose this because of energetic toddlers but may next consider going back to the hidden ridge for the lovely apartments and space indoors and using Banffs facilities more instead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Waterpark:
The Resort has an indoor waterpark with two giant waterslides, a hot tub and kiddie pool. The waterpark is free for registered guests and at $20 per person to drop in for the day, you definitely want to be a hotel guest! There's also a separate swimming pool for those staying at the hotel that is not open to the public. We had an awesome time in the waterpark after playing outside in the snow and found it to be a great way to finish off the day.

The waterpark provides life jackets for kids as well so no need to bring one from home.

Indoor Playzone:
The Resort also offers a giant indoor play park exclusive for their registered guests and it opens at 8am! If you know the mountains, you know it's way too cold to go outside with kids that early. We were even able to get some play time in before checking out the next day.

Rooms:
Nothing fancy and could be refurbished but they are comfortable and offer a kitchen so you can cook your own meals and save money on eating out. Wood burning fireplace is a nice touch and we loved our loft suite with separate bedroom for mom and dad.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.