We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for large families, a bit out dated.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for large families, a bit out dated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Fit 7 people comfortably, had wifi and cable, a little shop, water slide, fitness centre, barbecue . Furniture was quite outdated and wasn't in the best shape. Otherwise didn't matter too much since we were in town most of the time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    303
    103
    36
    20
See reviews for
463
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
alberta ca or london uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I have had two stays at the Douglas Fir chalets and the second time round in winter with young under fives. I think that the indoor playpen is great, a brilliant facility that the kids enjoy. The pools are good too. Tunnel mountain is a wonderful location and the huge side wall of Mt Rundle is incredible.
the downside to this is the accommodation. it is really over priced for what you get. In dire need of renovation, really shabby and spartan, not attractive even in color scheme which would be easy to change. Te kitchen is not stocked with very much, no wooden spoons, rubbish cheese grater, we bought all our own knives after our last visit. No room in kitchen except just one person, very cramped. Also, we had two bedrooms upstairs with single beds and our double bed downstairs. Needlessly to say the kids woke up a lot so we needed up Having to sleep up stairs in single beds!

Another aesthetic nightmare is the labyrinth inside the main building, it's horrible!

They should close one winter and really update, refresh and open up the buildings.

Overall, great facilties available but they are resting their laurels on that. I have stayed over the road at the Hidden Ridge twice and the accommodation is incredible. I chose this because of energetic toddlers but may next consider going back to the hidden ridge for the lovely apartments and space indoors and using Banffs facilities more instead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Waterpark:
The Resort has an indoor waterpark with two giant waterslides, a hot tub and kiddie pool. The waterpark is free for registered guests and at $20 per person to drop in for the day, you definitely want to be a hotel guest! There's also a separate swimming pool for those staying at the hotel that is not open to the public. We had an awesome time in the waterpark after playing outside in the snow and found it to be a great way to finish off the day.

The waterpark provides life jackets for kids as well so no need to bring one from home.

Indoor Playzone:
The Resort also offers a giant indoor play park exclusive for their registered guests and it opens at 8am! If you know the mountains, you know it's way too cold to go outside with kids that early. We were even able to get some play time in before checking out the next day.

Rooms:
Nothing fancy and could be refurbished but they are comfortable and offer a kitchen so you can cook your own meals and save money on eating out. Wood burning fireplace is a nice touch and we loved our loft suite with separate bedroom for mom and dad.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in Banff last week. We booked chalet #116 and it was awesome! Very small, but cozy, warm and fun with the deer coming right up to the door. It's not a 4 Star resort and I guess it's all a result of your expectations. The cleanliness of the chalet depends on your level of cleanliness. To me, it was fine (and I am a germ-a-phobe). The corners of the rooms could be a little cleaner, but it didn't bother me. Very small rooms but lots of places to put your things. It is an A-frame so that limits the amount of space. Two twin beds each in separate bedrooms upstairs and a main bedroom downstairs. I won't call it a master-bedroom because you had very little room to walk in there. However small it was, it was tidy, cute and cozy. I could have stayed longer, but that's just me. The rest of our family of 4 agreed. The only downfall is that they open the water-park to the public and even for the guests of the resort, not until 4PM. It was VERY crowded. I would hope that for the amount of money spent to stay, they could give the guests of the resort an earlier time to enjoy it without all of the people. Our kids spent about half an hour and then wanted to leave because of the crowd. All-in-all it was a good stay though. Just don't set your standards too high and you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family and I have been coming here for a couple of years. When we went in the beginning of December the temperature was -45*C . That didn't matter much. We had all kinds of activities to keep our 4 and 6 year old happy and burning energy all day long. Indoors was the place to be and that is where we stayed but were able to do so very easily here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Kids had fun at the water slides and indoor playground. Free bus passes were convenient. Front staff was friendly
However, does not make up for how dirty and run down the place is. Outlets were loose, thought the lamp was unplugged and when I went to plug it in behind the bed was met by a large amount of nasty filth on the carpet.
Beds are old and uncomfortable. Bedding is also old and tattered and questioned whether the extra blanket had ever been washed.
Pretty sure the mouthwash was diluted soap, so gross.
Carpets are in need of an update.
Dried urine between toilet seat and tank.
Kitchen floor was sticky.
Pool area and change rooms were dirty.
Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here previously, however this particular time, the room was outdated.
Mattress and sofa was very old.
Am a fit, healthy 30 something and left with a sore back.
Would NOT recommend or consider going back unless it was remodelled and refurnished top to bottom.
Kitchen was also outdated. No decent cooking utensils.
Dish soap was watered down.
Mouthwash appeared to be a refilled bottle with chunks floating in it...disgusting! Casts further doubt over the cleanliness of this place.
Management insisted on a 3 night minimum over the long weekend with no exceptions. Just horrible!
Much nicer places to stay in banff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.