We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family and I have been coming here for a couple of years. When we went in the beginning of December the temperature was -45*C . That didn't matter much. We had all kinds of activities to keep our 4 and 6 year old happy and burning energy all day long. Indoors was the place to be and that is where we stayed but were able to do so very easily here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    328
    118
    45
    25
See reviews for
504
112
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Kids had fun at the water slides and indoor playground. Free bus passes were convenient. Front staff was friendly
However, does not make up for how dirty and run down the place is. Outlets were loose, thought the lamp was unplugged and when I went to plug it in behind the bed was met by a large amount of nasty filth on the carpet.
Beds are old and uncomfortable. Bedding is also old and tattered and questioned whether the extra blanket had ever been washed.
Pretty sure the mouthwash was diluted soap, so gross.
Carpets are in need of an update.
Dried urine between toilet seat and tank.
Kitchen floor was sticky.
Pool area and change rooms were dirty.
Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have stayed here previously, however this particular time, the room was outdated.
Mattress and sofa was very old.
Am a fit, healthy 30 something and left with a sore back.
Would NOT recommend or consider going back unless it was remodelled and refurnished top to bottom.
Kitchen was also outdated. No decent cooking utensils.
Dish soap was watered down.
Mouthwash appeared to be a refilled bottle with chunks floating in it...disgusting! Casts further doubt over the cleanliness of this place.
Management insisted on a 3 night minimum over the long weekend with no exceptions. Just horrible!
Much nicer places to stay in banff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed November 2013 in a 2 bedroom chalet. Lovely view of Mount Rundle, free parking, quiet chalet. Fireplace was a nice touch. Only one water slide was working and they need to enforce that parents needs to take their shoes off on deck. We ended up trying to avoid the dirt and mud people were tracking.
Overall we would stay again. The staff were quite nice. BUT the hotel NEEDS to update the suites - the wear & tear shows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Honestly the front manager was so rude when we asked to speak to her, Almost like she was angry because she had to deal with us. Every other staff member was amazing and tried to do anything you ask.
My child came home the next day with bed bugs. tired to contact the manager again and she wouldn't talk to us.
rooms are extremely dated and way over priced.
water slide staff are a bit lazy, housekeepers and maintenance were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The good news is that Douglas Fir have pet friendly rooms. The bad news the rooms are tired. Main bedroom mattress is terribly uncomfortable tried the fold away wall bed the following night turned out as uncomfortable, the kitchen doesn't have any oven proof glass dishes or salad bowls it has the bare essentials. Also don't count on the free Wi fi we weren't able to connect the entire weekend. For the money you pay I am pretty sure they can afford to upgrade the units.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The facilities at the Dougal Fir are so much fun for families, it's too bad that they haven't put anything back into the rooms. They are in need of some refreshing. Our door was broken, thankfully we figured it out, but it's too bad that the staff didn't notice and we came back from the pool to find our door wide open. The wood burning fireplace is nice to have in the room, it is too bad something was wrong with ours, it probably needed cleaning as we left the room for a couple of minutes to put our PJs on and came back to find the room filled with smoke and ashes. We also had an issue with our oven, I turned it on to preheat and opened it when it beeped to put our meal in and a huge puff of smoke set off the fire alarms and the smell was awful. We'd like to come back, for the playplace and pools, but I will probably research other options until I hear that they've clean this place up a bit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#21 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.