We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, quite, nice place to stay in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple, quite, nice place to stay in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Located a bit away from the main street, so it's quite there. Will be good fit for people looking for some simple yet nice place to stay. We stayed in one bedroom suite, enough room for 2 kids and 2 adults there. Indoor playground and couple of water slides is really great addition for the rainy days if you are staying with kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    318
    110
    40
    23
See reviews for
486
107
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was a good stay check in was quick and staff was helpful
We order the breakfast at the room was great lots of stuff
One of the lights at the loft didn't work, location is good quiet and pool is great for kids to have fun
They could use better parking since spaces are small
Overall is a good place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A friend and myself decided to stay at the Douglas fir and booked a loft room in the main lodge building.......very roomy.......yes, it may be a little dated, but its clean and well kept.......2 queen beds in loft with a bathroom as well..........downstairs has a sofa and chair combo with a coffee table and TV......also a wood burning fireplace and full kitchen with kitchen table and chairs.......also on main floor, there is a full bathroom....so you're getting 2 bathrooms.......also has a balcony with resin chairs.......try to request a room NOT facing the main road.....lots of traffic early in the morning.....there is a wonderful waterslide complex , free of charge for guests......underground parking.......located up on picturesque tunnel mountain.....also on site is a convenience store and a liquor store as well as a Laundromat.....a great place to stay......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for a girls weekend trip for two nights. Overall great. Location is more secluded and our backyard was a view of forest and mountain, very cabin like and cute. A little farther from town, but a cab is only $7 or so or you can take the bus, drive etc. Could even walk if you wanted! The chalet we rented was cute, very cabin-like so lots of wood and older qualities. A little dirty: giant hole in sheet, splashes on some walls, found one beetle in the bed. Could probably use a good wipe down from the housekeeping! What's nice is that outside you have a bbq, picnic bench so it feels like you are really almost cabin camping. Staff seemed pleasant, but were a little sticky when we asked for a late checkout. Would stay again though, the chalet's perfect for a bigger group or family! We didn't use the waterslide or pool, but it looked very good for families with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet near the exterior so you have an open field behind your chalet/room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We first stayed at the Douglas Fir resort in 2004 whilst visiting banff for a ski trip. We returned this July for a three night stay over Canada Day weekend. Having enjoyed our previous stay I gave little thought to reading other reviews prior to booking.
The place remains functional and adequate but has seen disappointingly little modernisation. My biggest surprise was how much light the decor sucks out of the accommodation, making the units seem pretty dark (even on the suuniest of days). The fixtures and fittings are showing their age and the air conditioning might as well be driven by a small asthmatic man for all it's cooling ability. Additionally the smell of woodsmoke permeates everything, presumably following the winter season, and this followed us on our departure.
The positives are that the staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is great (far enough out to be quiet and yet easily accessible back into town), pricing is reasonable (although refurbishment is overdue), the swimming pool and gym are good and the atmosphere around the site is pleasant.
However, based on my other Canadian experiences, I can only rate the facility at 3* due to the lack of improvements/upgrades over the last 9 years. Whilst I wouldn't dismiss a future stay I will certainly do more research before rebooking. Hopefully a refurb is just around the corner>

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at a loft unit, size is good. It has all the things we expected but we are disappointed at the state of the room though.
Everything look old and worn out. We dare not sit on the sofa at all during our 5 days stay. I bet the carpet is cleaner than the sofa because at least the floor gets vacuum cleaned.
We saw a couple of bugs too so don't leave food lying around.
Location is good if you have a car. Each unit has an assigned parking spot right outside your unit, but if your spot was taken by some idiot neighbors, the hotel cant do much about it, so why bother assign parking.
It not exactly a cheap place to stay, I will look somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited in late May, site was quiet which was nice (might be a bit busy in high season if full), and we liked the one bedroom condo layout - the kitchen was a nice size and reasonably well equipped with a good size fridge. Main drawback was the light level which was generally poor given the condo was on the forest side. Saw some good wildlife though to compensate and maintenace team were very quick in response to a broken cooker hob. Condo was reasonably clean, and our (nearly) 2 year old loved the water slides.

Overall, would recommend staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.