We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“families yes but don't use the phone!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Clearwater, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“families yes but don't use the phone!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked into the resort during the recent rain and floods. It worked out very well for us as we were traveling with young children. The desk staff were fabulous in giving us information on highway conditions and allowing us to book in early due to the road closures. They also allowed us to park our RV at the back of the resort. The rooms and facilities were just fine. It's really hard to find your way around the resort and some of the hallways are musty and at that time even wet! The children loved the playground and the water slides and of course, we did too!
I have downgraded my review for one reason, my phone bill. I used the room phone 3 times using my calling card. I just received my phone bill and Douglas Fir Resorts has charged me $22.00 for 11 minutes. Shame on them! Really that is gouging beyond necessity.
While our stay was fine I do feel ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    308
    106
    38
    22
See reviews for
470
107
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked a bachelor studio and when we checked in we were allocated a room directly above the grocery store, laundry, water slides and liquore store with parking allocated next to the store parking. There was no lift, so getting our luggage to the room was not easy up 2 flights of stairs and we were concerned about the noise from the stores and the busy main road. Just along the road is a large park for RVs (mobile homes) so the shops and other facilities are pretty busy. We asked for another room and were given another room at the back. The room was OK but not as clean as it could be particularly the cigarette ash on the balcony. We were short of a potato peeler and two of the glasses were cracked - these were removed by housekeeping but not replaced. The frying pan was fairly disgusting and even a clean in the dishwasher didn't help. The room was fairly large with a sitting area, a dining table and chairs, and a full kitchen with a small dishwasher. The bathroom was on the small side but OK. There were no stands to put our cases on and limited hanging space with only 10 hangers. Parking was in a large underground car park reasonably close to the room and on the same level. Housekeeping seemed to make the bed and replenish toiletries and towels but don't vacuum. There was a smell of smoke or soot in room at times although it is supposed to be a smoke free hotel. The balcony was covered in ash from previous smokers as smoking seems to be permitted on the balcony as it has a large ash tray on the wall. We asked housekeeping to clean it but they gave it a quick brush and that was it. We washed it down with pans of water and it was much better. We did have a rather tatty stained ironing board - but no iron!!! There was no duvet on the bed only a sheet and blanket and a rather dirty and stained bed cover. There was a second blanket in the coffee table which we had to use. The housekeeping was carried out mainly by students and was very variable. Sometimes toiletries were replenished and sometimes not. We had some fairly anti social neighbours who made a lot of noise and came in late and banged the door and had loud conversations in the hall. Unfortunately this place seems to attract the younger noisy people. On our 3rd night a loud buzzing noise started in our room and seemed to be coming through the walls. It got so loud by 21.30 that I had to call reception. They sent a maintenance man within 10 minutes who knew what the problem was immediately as it had happened before. Apparently the fan for the elevator shaft was vibrating and this was reverberating through the walls. He fixed it in 5 minutes by stopping the fan but why didn't they fix it before if it is a known problem?? I am afraid I can’t recommend this hotel as we wouldn’t return there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had the chance to stay at this resort again last month (june2013) and had stayed perviously in Dec 2012.
The rooms are dated but clean and perfect for families with little ones. We've stayed in both the lofts and one bedroom lofts. I prefer the set up of the loft better then the one bedroom. The kitchen is open in the loft with much more counter and cupboard space if you choose to cook and bring snacks and groceries.
We used the play area several times and it was clean and the enjoyable. The pool is another great addition to the resort. Our kids loved the pools and watersides. If you're traveling with infants, don't forget their swim diapers -they charges $2 per swim diaper.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here once or twice a year for 5 years now. We love staying here with our two kids because there is so much for them to do! We only have a few complaints- the playzone always seems to stink of B.O!. They REALLY need to update the rooms too- the couches are very uncomfortable and so are the beds. The service is awesome, everyone is so friendly and quick to help you out with anything you need.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent studio accommodation. Rather dark rooms, but very well planned with all facilities that 2 people would need. Lovely views from balcony. Unable to get full benefit of resort due to a recent injury, atrocious weather, and power cuts. Obviously no ones fault, just think we were jinxed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed for three nights here with my brothers - a bachelors weekend for a bike race. We had the one bedroom with a loft so we all had our own queen bed. there is even an extra pull out if you need another. We had a wood burning fireplace a small kitchen and three flat screen TVs. It was spacious and clean. there is a washroom up in the loft and a 5 piece downstairs. We had room 122 right on the end and were happy. I stayed a fourth night with my family (3 kids ages 2, 4 and 5). We took advantage of the water park. It is geared for a slightly older family than ours. Their two slides are good slides and you can get going really fast if you want on them, but it is slide one at a time. After working up to it, even our two year old went by herself with a life jacket (that they provide) as long as my wife was at the top and I was at the bottom. Teenagers were having a blast on them as you can really get going. They also have a games room, a steam room a large hot tub and then in a separate area another decent size swimming pool with a smaller hot tub. THere is also a 3 story indoor playground with some cool slides and mazes. And you are at the top of Tunnel Mountain, in the Banff wilderness, but only 2km down the road into the heart of downtown. Fantastic location without having to fight the Banff parking - and they have a free shuttle running into banff and back all the time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great place to stay with kids. We used the indoor playground three times. I like the wood burning fireplaces. I think the kitchens are adequate. We had a loft with another TV which was great for the kids. It is a great facility.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.