We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Banff
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

It is a place for families. My kids loved the play zone and the water slides. The hotel is in a beautiful location with many access points to trails. The town us close and you could walk there. It's really close to a great hike up Tunnel Mountain. Only two complaints, first the hotel needs some investment to modernize. Though clean, it is dated. Second, pets are permitted, which is fine unless you have yappy dogs beneath you.

Last but not least I will say their service was excellent. My wife and I realized we made a mistake on our reservation. We booked Thursday/Friday but meant to book Friday/Saturday. We realized this on Friday and they had us as a no show. However, without question they moved our reservation and did not charge us an extra day nor any fees. I'm sure the big chains would not have extended that kind of understanding and service. Well done Douglas Fir!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    294
    101
    34
    16
See reviews for
452
101
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
world
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Once you got to this place it was amazing the address on the paper confirmation does not work right in your GPS i suggest calling and asking . They were awesome when we called lost they talked us through on how to get there. We booked the 1 room loft it was amazing for the 4 of us room 184 has an amazing view of the mountain even saw deer walking through the woods .
We loved that the fire wood was free so made fire in fire place every night and cooked out on there grill for dinners. Everyone there was supper helpful even the guy working the store gave us some short cuts if didn't want to drive through town again. Went to the water slides and tried o go to steam room but to many kids running in and out the steam room slides were fun . So ended up going to the pool and hot tub for guests only was very nice the only ones there and could relax. Would stay here again and telling friends about this place.

Room Tip: room 184 looks out through the trees and yo can see the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in the family suite and found it to have plenty of rooms and bathrooms for 5 sisters. We loved sitting at the large kitchen table and catching up. The view was incredible and we found hiking trails right outside of the resort. We will make this resort our go to resort for our annual sister's weekend!

Room Tip: For 5 or more people the Family Suite is the way to go. There is no restaurant on site but they do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ålesund
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Studio, with underground parking. We stayed here with our 7 months old son, extra bed/crib for no extra charge. Our son also had his first swimming experience in the pool, we think he liked it.

Nice location in Banff, some old but still nice studios, you will find what you need for cooking, free bus to the town center.

Recommended for families.

Room Tip: Studios (rooms) from 300-311 sure has a nice view to the mountains, do also have underground parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chalets nice and quiet...and the kids loved the slides

Would go back there.....good for families

Only complaint was that the chalet looked like it needed to be refurbished....and the lightining was so dim it wsd a joke

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a chalet (which is really a small cabin) but it had everything you would need, a full kitchen, little eating area, living room with wood burning fireplace and TV, full bathroom, two bedrooms with a little loft area to sleep a toddler if needed. The decor is outdated but it didn't really seem to matter as it was such a cozy space and the view was wonderful. We all had a wonderful time and my 3 year old son thought it was the coolest place he'd ever been. The resort had indoor watersides, hot tub and a small kids pool area which was perfect for us. There was also another small pool in the hotel area. We had to walk to the hotel area from our chalet but luckily it wasn't freesing outside so it was bare able. There is also a huge indoor playground which was awesome. The bed's aren't the most comfortable but definitely not even close to horrible. Overall it was a great place to stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since our kids could walk we've been going to the Douglas Fir Resort. The waterslides, hot tub, play area, kitchen, fireplace are all wonderful. My only complaint (which made for a rather horrible sleep) is the poor poor quality in bedding provided. The comfort of the bed was fine however I would never dream of providing only a top sheet, thin blanket and horribly misshaped pillows to my family. This appears to be perfectly adequate for a family resort brimming with families and small children.

Aside from this we love the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.