We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Save Saved
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Ålesund
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Studio, with underground parking. We stayed here with our 7 months old son, extra bed/crib for no extra charge. Our son also had his first swimming experience in the pool, we think he liked it.

Nice location in Banff, some old but still nice studios, you will find what you need for cooking, free bus to the town center.

Recommended for families.

Room Tip: Studios (rooms) from 300-311 sure has a nice view to the mountains, do also have underground parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    301
    102
    34
    17
See reviews for
459
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chalets nice and quiet...and the kids loved the slides

Would go back there.....good for families

Only complaint was that the chalet looked like it needed to be refurbished....and the lightining was so dim it wsd a joke

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a chalet (which is really a small cabin) but it had everything you would need, a full kitchen, little eating area, living room with wood burning fireplace and TV, full bathroom, two bedrooms with a little loft area to sleep a toddler if needed. The decor is outdated but it didn't really seem to matter as it was such a cozy space and the view was wonderful. We all had a wonderful time and my 3 year old son thought it was the coolest place he'd ever been. The resort had indoor watersides, hot tub and a small kids pool area which was perfect for us. There was also another small pool in the hotel area. We had to walk to the hotel area from our chalet but luckily it wasn't freesing outside so it was bare able. There is also a huge indoor playground which was awesome. The bed's aren't the most comfortable but definitely not even close to horrible. Overall it was a great place to stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since our kids could walk we've been going to the Douglas Fir Resort. The waterslides, hot tub, play area, kitchen, fireplace are all wonderful. My only complaint (which made for a rather horrible sleep) is the poor poor quality in bedding provided. The comfort of the bed was fine however I would never dream of providing only a top sheet, thin blanket and horribly misshaped pillows to my family. This appears to be perfectly adequate for a family resort brimming with families and small children.

Aside from this we love the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We loved staying here, it was rustic and homey. Our kids loved playing in the pools and water slides. Our chalet had everything we needed in it. Thoroughly enjoyed having a fire going during breakfast and evenings. Easy access to the town of Banff and staff was excellent and friendly.
Cheers :)

Room Tip: We personally loved the freedom of staying in the chalet because it was so private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Left our suite at 10.30am....returned at 5:15pm to a room that had not been touched yet. called front desk and was told they were probably here before we left in the morning, but since the door was locked and no one answered, they left. it's a small suite with three of us staying, and no one heard the knock???
Front desk said that they have to look after the new incoming guests as well, so they would probably get to our room around 6:00.....most likely just as we're sitting down for supper! NICE,!!!! We arrived yesterday, and are planning to stay five nights, $900ish, so I guess once they have you here already, the new incoming guests are more important.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been going to Douglas Fir since I was a teen with my family. Now we regularly book twice a year with our boys (ages 6 and 4). Excellent service and very kid friendly. Beautiful location up on Tunnel Mountain with an outdoor cooking area and a watermark and indoor playground for the kids. Our boys beg to go back every summer! Excellent value and a rustic feel that is true to it's mountain surroundings. Babysitting is available and the Fir has great family packages to choose from.

Room Tip: The one bedroom condos are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.