We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun For All!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
St Albert, Ab
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Fun For All!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just had the pleasure of spending 4 days at Douglas Fir. This was our first visit here but will definitely not be our last!! If you are looking for an upscale modern resort with all of the new fancy bells and whistles, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a very comfortable place to stay with almost everything you would need then this is the place for you. Douglas Fir is without a doubt one of the most family orientated resorts we have ever been to!! If the Mountain weather is not cooperating you have more than enough stuff to do at the resort with the kids. Pictures of the playroom do not do it justice!! The place is massive and a great workout for the kids. Between the mountain air, play gym and water slides your kids will sleep the night away!!
We rented one of the 2 bedroom (1 bedroom with loft) chalets. It was just right for the 4 of us. The kitchen was basic but had almost everything we needed. It was nice to enjoy a morning coffee on the deck while watching the wildlife mingle around the property. It was very quiet and peaceful here during the week but I imagine it gets much busier on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    303
    103
    36
    19
See reviews for
462
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is an old property. But the rooms were ok, and the kitchen was fine - just a bit short of utensils. Normal. The bathroom was quite modern, but a little small. The pool was great, and we spent a lot of time on the water slides. We stayed twice, a week apart, and we had no problems going back a second time. There is even a tiny store on site where you can feed yourself.

My only worry was that something made a meal out of me on our last night. My hip was quite extensively chewed and itchy. Not good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is awesome. If u are looking for a top of the line fancy room then go somewhere else. We reserved a one bedroom condo that had a pull down double Murphy bed in the living room. Our two kids slept on it and the mattress was great! Way better than a sofa bed which was also in the living room but there wouldn't have been any room for it for be opened up. So it was nice to have a couch to sit on while the bed was down. The room also had a small round table for four, and a full kitchen-with a dishwasher and soap tabs for it! The kitchen came fully complete with everything from frying pans to wine glasses to kettle to boil water for tea-which was also in the room. The was a toaster and coffee maker. We received coffee packets each day. The room was very clean considering there are wood panels on the walls so I thought maybe there would be spider webs but I didn't find one anywhere! Was very pleased. Our queen bed in our bedroom was very comfortable and there were two flat screen tv's-1 in living room and one in bedroom. Full bathroom had a huge deep tub and the shower had lots of pressure. It really feels as if this was your own homey condo. I would next time ask to get the upper floor instead of being in the lower part of the condo. Internet was iffy due to being on the bottom. There is a liquor store and a mini grocery convenience store near the lobby. Our kids LOVED the ginormous indoor tree play structure!!! There is also a simple pool and little hottub for hotel guests only. The water slides are open to the public. We have young kids (7 and 5) so much preferred the regular pool since there are two watersides but not really a pool to swim in(it is separate from the hotel pool). We loved being able to make our own full breakfasts and have a fridge and freezer in our room. We will also be staying here again-anytime we are back in banff for another quick weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Get a upper level condo if possible-better Internet service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We rented this resort because we had three young children; 5 and 3 year old twins. It turned out to be wonderful for the twins. They had a great play area, a water slide with warming pools and another pool with a hot tub and sauna. The little ones spent their day going from one activity to another. The older boy was skiing at Sunshine and Lake Louise before enjoying his swimming.
We had the loft which was an upstairs bedroom with 2 queen beds and the main floor which held the kitchen and sitting area with a fireplace. The view was beautiful.
The room was kept very clean and each day the staff would check on what we wanted done.
My daughter had the Cascade room which contained a large bedroom with two queen beds and two full bathrooms. Either place was great.
People have said it needs updating but it is a rustic area and the walls and furniture reflect that.
Overall, a wonderful place to stay with a young family.

Room Tip: Cascade Room for 4 people is lovely but their is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want a 5* hotel, with Laura Ashley wallpaper, Axminster carpets then this is not the place for you. If however you want a comfortable, warm, clean, welcoming holiday chalets then this should be right up your street. The chalets were everything we expected and more. Lovely and clean, spacious.
We had a big fridge/freezer, cooker with 4 burner hob, toaster, microwave, kettle and dishwasher in our room. Lovely open woodburning fire.
The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, not that we really needed to ask them to do much for us, as everything was just as it should be.
The guest pool, hot tub was great and we made full use of this.
I can't comment on the Waterslides as we didn't use these, but they seemed to be very popular, we didn't use the gym, but did take a look at it, and it looked just fine, couldn't see any problems with it.
There is a grocery store/laundry and liquor store on the complex as well.
The Douglas Fir issues you with free bus passes, so you can get into town and back free of charge. These were very useful and we made full use of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went an annual trip and stayed in an A-Frame Chalet. During the night we heard scurrying--being from the farm and a mouse or two isnt a big deal so we let it be...next morning we awoke to our apples chewed on and dried food ripped into by mice. I opened the cupboard under the sink to throw out the chewed food and there was a mouse caught in the extra tall recycle bin hiding within the empty yogurt cup we had tossed before bed. That was the first...we called and asked for a trap. Housekeeping set them and by morning we had caught 7 mice with no sign of slowing down!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We talked to the manager upon checkout and we were led to believe that we would be looked after given the next chance....WELL they DIDNT come through when I just tried to reserve...won't be going back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The accommodation was everything you need - kitchen with large fridge and very comfy bed with an open wood fireplace (you don't see many of those anymore!).

Facilities also have a water slide and pool which is great for the kids. Good access to Banff and nice views from the balcony.

Would definately recommend for a few nights in and around Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.