We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We rented this resort because we had three young children; 5 and 3 year old twins. It turned out to be wonderful for the twins. They had a great play area, a water slide with warming pools and another pool with a hot tub and sauna. The little ones spent their day going from one activity to another. The older boy was skiing at Sunshine and Lake Louise before enjoying his swimming.
We had the loft which was an upstairs bedroom with 2 queen beds and the main floor which held the kitchen and sitting area with a fireplace. The view was beautiful.
The room was kept very clean and each day the staff would check on what we wanted done.
My daughter had the Cascade room which contained a large bedroom with two queen beds and two full bathrooms. Either place was great.
People have said it needs updating but it is a rustic area and the walls and furniture reflect that.
Overall, a wonderful place to stay with a young family.

Room Tip: Cascade Room for 4 people is lovely but their is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    305
    104
    37
    20
See reviews for
465
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want a 5* hotel, with Laura Ashley wallpaper, Axminster carpets then this is not the place for you. If however you want a comfortable, warm, clean, welcoming holiday chalets then this should be right up your street. The chalets were everything we expected and more. Lovely and clean, spacious.
We had a big fridge/freezer, cooker with 4 burner hob, toaster, microwave, kettle and dishwasher in our room. Lovely open woodburning fire.
The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, not that we really needed to ask them to do much for us, as everything was just as it should be.
The guest pool, hot tub was great and we made full use of this.
I can't comment on the Waterslides as we didn't use these, but they seemed to be very popular, we didn't use the gym, but did take a look at it, and it looked just fine, couldn't see any problems with it.
There is a grocery store/laundry and liquor store on the complex as well.
The Douglas Fir issues you with free bus passes, so you can get into town and back free of charge. These were very useful and we made full use of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went an annual trip and stayed in an A-Frame Chalet. During the night we heard scurrying--being from the farm and a mouse or two isnt a big deal so we let it be...next morning we awoke to our apples chewed on and dried food ripped into by mice. I opened the cupboard under the sink to throw out the chewed food and there was a mouse caught in the extra tall recycle bin hiding within the empty yogurt cup we had tossed before bed. That was the first...we called and asked for a trap. Housekeeping set them and by morning we had caught 7 mice with no sign of slowing down!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We talked to the manager upon checkout and we were led to believe that we would be looked after given the next chance....WELL they DIDNT come through when I just tried to reserve...won't be going back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The accommodation was everything you need - kitchen with large fridge and very comfy bed with an open wood fireplace (you don't see many of those anymore!).

Facilities also have a water slide and pool which is great for the kids. Good access to Banff and nice views from the balcony.

Would definately recommend for a few nights in and around Banff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom loft condo - the title is misleading, because the loft has a big 2nd bedroom and half bathroom. It worked quite well for 4 adults, and represents value for money in a town that can be pricey. It is quite comfortable, offers cleaning service daily, and is quiet and private.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and it is a great advantage to be out of town, as it can be quite rowdy on NYE etc. If you don't have a car, the hotel provides free bus passes to go to and from the town.
There is a laundromat, grocery store and wine store on site, so if you foget anything, it is easy to "run to the store." The kitchen facilites are good and it is possible to cook easily. Also, all town restaurants deliver free of charge.
We would definitley consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a two bed chalet. It cost us about $350 a night. For this price, i expect more.

Don't get me wrong, there are positives:
- the chalet was private. we had our own parking. there was no-one in the chalet below us so it was quiet
- the beds were comfy
- we had a balcony looking out over a forest area. nice to sit outside and relax.
- hotel guests can use the local bus service for free which takes you from the hotel into town (a good 2km away)

The not so good:
- the kitchen was a little small - it had what you needed but it did feel like a tight squeeze. OK to cook breakfast, dinner would be a struggle.
- the chalet was very dark. not much natural light. you needed the lights on downstairs all day
- the swimming pool and the slides are good however they are not linked together. If you want to go from the slides to the pool you need to walk through the hotel in your swimming stuff!
- it is a good 30minute walk into and out of town. The walk home is totally uphill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife, and 2 year old son stayed here for 6 nights in January 2013. The hotel came highly recommended by our travel agent in Australia and for family comfort and kids amenities, it would be the best option in town for sure. However, when I do say in town, it's actually on the ring road about, 20 mins walk, 3 mins drive or 5 mins on the bus that runs non stop every 40 mins and is on time.
Don't be fooled by the external appearance as the hotels rooms, kitchens and living areas were solid and comfortable. We had no issues at all the kids facilities such as the absolutely magnificent "Playzone" was heaven for my man to play in, even me. Pool and spa all good also as they are indoor. The small supermarket and bottleshop are located on the front of building and very helpful. Staff were terrific and helpful also in the hotel.
We are avid skiers and during our stay, we didn't have car hire as we gave that back post Fernie etc, so in order to get on the buses to the resorts required a little bit of scheduling and hassle to be fair, such as I had to get 7am bus into town to get the 7.40 bus to Lake Louise Resort, which was a long day by the time I got back form a big ski. Also, when we used the day care in town, this provided more logistical challenges. So, I guess the next time we come, my boy will be skiing in 2 years, so we would probably stay in town directly, or stay at Douglas Fir but with a hire car definitely.
Overall, really good stay, even though it was a -20 cold snap for 3 or so days. Finally, one of the highlights was as we drove into the hotel there was about 10 big stags walking around unfussed and this was amazing to see for our son and us, and later in the week we have a small one walk past our room and followed us back to the bus stop out front. This is one advantage of the location on town fringe.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.