We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Whitefish, Montana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stay at the Dougals Fir every year for the American Thanksgiving week. They give us a great rate for an older super clean room with a kitchen. We save lots of money by cooking some of our own meals. The pools and water slides are fun for all. I will return for the great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    304
    104
    36
    20
See reviews for
463
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We found the resort to be very fun and family friendly. We have a 19 month old and found the kitchen very helpful and the amenities (waterpark & kidzone) excellent. They were able to provided a playpen, highchair, and baby gate, no problem. The room was great and the wood fireplace cozy. We were very pleased with Douglas Fir. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our most recent trip to Douglas Fir didn't go exactly as planned. It is our family tradition to spend a weekend here every Fall. This year was no exception. We booked our two night stay and were excited for a fun family weekend. We checked in at 8:00 p.m. on Friday night and by 10:00 that same evening my youngest son and I were vomitting uncontrollably. We both had Norovirus and were quite sick. Needless to say we needed to go home and checked out by 12:00 p.m. Saturday. Douglas Fir did not charge us for the second night although they had every right to and they supplied us with extra towels and blankets during our difficult night. They have always had my business but they now have my gratitude and respect.

Room Tip: One bedroom condos are great for families of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the resort. Well equipped rooms with a kitchen. Had good variety of cooking utensils and dishes. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning everyday, once even cleaned our breakfast stuff- totally unexpected!!! Clean but slightly dated decor. Great service and service staff. Had assigned parking which was really convenient. Kids loved the indoor water park. Would highly recommend it. conveniently located.

Room Tip: Any room is a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

great place to stay. has full kitchen, fireplace. our back view opened into the forest. just a short drive into downtown banff. had daily cleaning if you wanted it the full kitchen was good for just cooking some meals, eating breakfast etc, without having to go to a restaurant. units a grouped into 4 apartments so pretty quiet. They have free public bus around town which comes by about every 45 minutes if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a loft room with two double beds in the loft area. Lower, living area had a very well equipped kitchen - good variety of dishes and cooking utensils, full stove, microwave, toaster. Living area also had a dining table, tv with DVD player, sofa, fold-down bed (which we didn't use), balcony with a great view, and a fireplace with free wood.

Room was wonderfully spacious, comfortable, quiet. We picked up some easy-to-cook dinners at the grocery store in town to save some money for a couple of evenings and then splurged on a nice dinner out at one of the local restaurants on our last night.

Good base for travelling around the area. Local hiking trails.

Great for kids - water slide, indoor play area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We read others reviews and couple that with a great AMA deal we set off on the snowy 5hr trip and we were greeted with big smiles. Shown to our room (large aprtmt) the kids checked out the room, we crashed on the sofa and lit the fire. After checking out that all the wallpaper in the aprtmt would make your granny shiver, we saw that this place is well used. But in a nice way, very clean, loads of linen, quiet and warm. Comfy beds, lots of hot water, great pool and kidslay area. You could quickly relax, check the deer crossing the road and look up and snow capped mountains with a glass of vine on the balcony and forget the long trip. The staff were very helpful, cheery and keen to ensure you had a good time. At some point someone will have to say, closed for renovations but even if the place was upgraded its the people and the feeling that your are welcome and nothing is any trouble that make this a venue for family to return to.

Room Tip: Large apartment above reception with ensuite x2 and one with jacuzzi, room 101 with its own dedicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.