We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets to your Saves list
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great option for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Chose to stay here based on the great reviews. Am glad we did. We had a 1 bedroom with a well-equipped kitchenette. Friendly and helpful staff. It is a quiet and yet only 5 minutes away from the city center. We got a slight discount in rates when we booked the rooms through the resort's website four months early.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that you took advantage of our Early Bird booking option. For all of our latest information on prices stay connected via our Facebook and Twitter pages. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    304
    104
    36
    20
See reviews for
463
106
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had chosen to stay on Tunnel Mountain in a chalet for 5 nights as we wanted a more 'rustic' experience than staying in a hotel room in the centre of Banff. On arrival I was disappointed as it didn't look very rustic at all. Peach coloured ugly-looking units and chalets around the edges of a large car park - not at all like the the rustic cabin that we had just enjoyed in Jasper. Our chalet was pretty private, being on the edge of the property. The front had a large balcony overlooking the surrounding woods, although unfortunately the five or so chalets are too low down to see the fantastic mountain views seen from some of the other units and the main building. The back of the chalet overlooks the car park so it wasn't exactly wilderness! The unit itself was very dark - drop something on the floor and you'll need a torch to find it, but otherwise okay.

The chalet was a little dated, but functional. We were slightly perturbed that the door from our balcony to our lounge didn't have a lock on it, but the balcony was several feet off the ground so it would have been difficult, but not impossible to get into the chalet. There was a safe deposit box though which was great. The balcony was large, but they had only provided 2 chairs and a tiny table so our family of 4 were unable to sit together / eat outside, which was a shame and because the balcony was encased in wood, once you were sitting down you couldn't see through it to look at the view! The kitchen was well equipped; one of the rings on our cooker didn't work on arrival, but was swiftly repaired when we mentioned it. Free firewood was a nice touch and we had a fire one evening, but the whole chalet then smelt strongly of smoke.

The downstairs twin bedroom didn't have any drawers, just some hanging space, so I was at a loss as to where to put underwear etc and all the kids' clothes that didn't hang up. I mentioned this on the first day and although she said she would make a note of it, she said there was nothing she could do about it (there was space in the room for a small chest of drawers so I don't know wht there wasn't one in there)- we hung the children's clothes in carrier bags in the end; fine for the odd night, but a pain for 5 nights.

Free bus into Banff (5 minute journey) was every 40 minutes and was great. Reception staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Recreational facilities were great. Found it odd that if you weren't staying in the main building, everything had to be accessed via the indoor car park, but the play zone was great for under 9s. There is a smallish pool and hot tub (mainly aimed at grown ups) which is open all day and was great - we had it to ourselves. There is also a completely separate complex, which has a pool with 2 waterslides and the best bit is there a very large hot tub right next to it so you can sit in it and stay warm whilst your kids use the slides. There is also a little pool for younger kids next to it too, so families with children of a range of ages are well catered for.

Used the shop on site on the evening of our arrival but it was incredibly expensive so stop off at Safeway on Marten St if you can before arriving.

Generally a nice location and all in all we had a good time and I'm sure the rooms in the main building provided a very different experience, but would consider other places if we returned to Banff and were looking for a rural retreat.

Room Tip: The chalets are on the far edge of the property, bordering the woods. This is as quiet as you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Exceptional staff in this comfortable condo-hotel.
Comfortable facilities, covered parking, and terrific staff.
I am in the hospitality industry and very much appreciated the ability of the staff to anticipate our needs and make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your stay. Our staff work hard to ensure every guest who stays at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets has a memorable vacation and I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights during May first week and had booked online with reviews seen from trip advisor.It was exactly as per the review.It is a family friendly hotel with rooms having kitchen & microwave .There is an indoor water park & a hot pool very good for the childrens...The views we got was just opposite the Tunnel mountain which was very tranquil..Some wild life like the Deers & the ground squirrel can be seen from the room itself...There is a walking trek going from the hotel to nearby sites like the Hoodoos & Bay valley..Being around 3 km away from the maintown you can have the feeling of the Rockies...The staff was friendly & helpfull...They have a fireplace in the room itself and the staff helped us to light the fire which was a first time experience for us...They have complimentary WIFI in the hotel...Bow river is just 3 km from the hotel...A small but important point is the parking of cars was in such a way that there was minimum headache to transfer the baggage.....We definately recommend this hotel for a very reasonable price they offer.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain facing room rather then the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I’m pleased to hear you thought the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets lived up to expectations from our previous, positive Trip Advisor reviews. It seems you and your family had a great trip all-round and even got to experience our resident deer family making their morning rounds. I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Amazing location and great accommodations. Friendly staff who acknowledged and smiled at you in the public areas. Decor dated but clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Amazing location, great accommodation, friendly staff and clean; a great summary. We are continually updating the resort, mostly recently with new gas fireplaces and lighting in some of our One Bedroom condos, sofa beds in some of our Studio’s and our two brand new waterslides! I hope we are your Banff hotel of choice again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

First and foremost, the front desk staff was attentive and proactive with regard to our needs. We had a bag that was delayed by the airline. We advised the front desk of the issue. Later in the evening when the bag had not arrived, the front desk clerk called to inquire how late could they call us and deliver the bag. That is service!!!!!

The hotel is an older property. It was built over 60 years ago, or so. It is relatively well maintained. We stayed in the main building in a king studio. We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 15 year old and 12 year old) and we fit just fine. The kitchen is awesome, so long as you are going to use it. It has a large refrigerator and freezer, dishwasher, oven and stove top (4 burner), microwave oven, toaster, coffee pot, tea kettle, pans, pots, etc. The kitchen enabled us to eat breakfast before going on adventures and to prepare lunches to take on our hikes. There is a Safeway in town or a mini mart on property where you can stock up on whatever you need.

The beds and linens are a high quality. Nice flat screen television. The wireless is not super dependable. Do not count on in room wi-fi service. The room has a nice wood buring fireplace. The decor is dated, but comfortable.

There are two pool areas. The adult pool area has a spa and pool. Neither pool is good for swimming laps, as the deck juts over the tile, so flip turns are out, in the adult pool, and the kid's swimming area is a waterslide landing pit. I could not figure out the jets in the adult area spa. Not sure if they are out of order, or if I am simply technically challenged. In the kid's waterslide area, there is also a spa which is great to use when the kids are on the waterslides. The jets and temperature in this spa were great. Admission to the waterslides is free, if you are a hotel guest, otherwise its $20 a person.

If you are looking for a nice place to stay with your family or friends, this is the place. You can avoid the crowds in Banff, as you are up on Tunnel Mountain. There is a bus stop right across the street, if you do not want to deal with parking in downtown.

If you are looking for the Fairmont type of amenities and experience this is not the place for you. If you are more laid back, this is definitely a great option to consider in Banff.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, you will have enclosed parking and easy access to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for a great review. Your comments are extremely useful in providing feedback we can work with to continually improve the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets for all of our guests in the future. I’m thrilled to hear our staff went above and beyond to provide exceptional service when you needed it most. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed staying in our Studio and found our complimentary passes to bus service convenient. Thank you also for highlighting areas for improvement, your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments. I hope we can once again be your hosts on your next Banff vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and found it quite nice. It is a little bit out of town but if you show the bus driver your room key you can ride for free, and with stops right outside the resort it's pretty convenient. The room was basic and a bit dated, but the bed was comfortable. The waterslides were really good fun too - the yellow one is a bit crazier than the other! The staff were really friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our stay and would probably return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your review on your stay at the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I’m happy that our staff we’re friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Our peaceful location and amazing views on Tunnel Mt. are definitely worth the 3 minute drive from downtown Banff and the complimentary bus service makes for a quick and easy ride into town, as you mentioned. We look forward to welcoming to back to the Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 BRAND NEW giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Free WiFi and internet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.